We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“happy dogs” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Golden Key

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Golden Key to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Golden Key
13450 Lincoln Way, Auburn, CA 95603   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Auburn
Reno, United States
1 review
“happy dogs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

the staff was very dog friendly and the room was very quiet we sleep very well we would like a larger selection of protein at breakfast in all a very pleasant 2 night stay with easy access to the highway

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Key, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. I am so glad that you and your dogs enjoyed yourselves when you stayed with us and we hope to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    91
    21
    5
    6
See reviews for
87
65
23
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Central Coast, CA, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stayed one night (2/23) and found it on a GPS/Phone search. It was a very pleasant surprise as everything went so smoothly. It was an easy check in with friendly staff. I asked about the restaurant next door - Lou La Bontes - and they said it was a nice place, Italian/American. After settling into our room, which was clean, efficient and had everything we needed, we walked over to the restaurant (which looks like it is attached to the hotel but really isn't just very close.) The meal was delicious and reasonably priced and a live Irish Band was playing just for the fun of it. We enjoyed it very much and highly recommend anyone staying at this BW to give it a try. In fact I'd recommend choosing this BW just for the proximity to the restaurant.

The bed was great, the room quiet and the TV got all the channels we liked.
The convenience of the included breakfast is always appreciated and it does seem that the B.W. chain has steadily improved the quality of all the independent franchises in recent years. Including this stay we have used a B.W. 5 times in the past 3 months and never been disappointed. We are planning to check them out first when in a new area as we believe the reliability is worth it.

Room Tip: We were upstairs and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Key, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. I am so glad to read that you enjoyed your meal and experience at Lou La Bonte's and at our hotel and we look forward to your staying with us soon in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara On The Lake
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed 2 nights at Auburn Golden Key and we would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area. It is clean, nice size rooms with very comfortable beds and good Internet service. Typical B.W. breakfast but nicely laid out in a room with large windows! Beautifully landscaped. This hotel should be a B.W. Plus.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Key, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. I am so glad to see that everything was to your satisfaction and we look forward to your return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlingame, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Trip Advisor said this was the best place in Auburn, and we can confirm that it was. We've stayed at several different Auburn places; this was the first time at the Best Western. It was clean, had those few little conveniences that surprise you (toothpaste!), and friendly. The only issue was the people above us were jumping around (it sounded like) and woke us up - need better sound insulation between the first and second floors!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Key, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel when you stayed with us. I am so glad to see that my staff took care of you in the way you deserved and that you appreciated the amenities we offer. I researched and found that you stayed in one of our Double Queen Rooms. The subflooring in that building is only plywood, unlike one of our King Room buildings that has concrete subflooring that seems to dissipate the noise a little better, but if you are not used to having someone above you, the noise made by the other guests on the upper level always seems to be a lot noisier. If the other guests in the unit above you were unreasonably loud, a call to our front desk to alert them of this problem would have had my staff to take appropriate action to ensure all of our guests were enjoying their stay. I hope we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I recently stayed at the Best Western Golden Key in Auburn, Ca and found it to be very clean, comfortable and friendly. I really liked the "green" energy savings features and they are extremely pet friendly and very helpful. I will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Key, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel and I am glad to see that you appreciated the energy-efficient system we have installed in our rooms. So happy that you and your pet had a good time and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

The room was very clean and very presentable. There seemed to be great care in the quality of the room. Towels were changed daily and the general appearance from one day of stay to the next was very good. Staff were courteous and friendly. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Key, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel and I am glad to see that my staff took good care of you and we look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanford, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

I am currently remodeling a home close by and this motel is within my budget and it helps that they serve breakfast, which helps cut my cost of long periods of stay. Front Desk staff is always pleasant and willing to help. I will stay here again

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Key, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. I am happy to read that you are enjoying your stay while your house is being remodeled and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Golden Key? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Golden Key

Address: 13450 Lincoln Way, Auburn, CA 95603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Auburn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Auburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this pet-friendly Auburn, California hotel located near Historic Old Town Auburn, the American River Nature Recreation Area and the Marshall Gold Discovery State Park. Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Golden Key, located in the heart of Auburn, California. Guests will be close to a variety of outdoor activities including the Raspberry Hill Black Oaks golf course, Turkey Creek golf course, the American River Nature Recreation Area and Squaw Valley Ski Resort. The BEST WESTERN Golden Key features 68 spaciously-appointed guest rooms each complete with a microwave, refrigerator, cable television and high-speed Internet access. Guests will wake each morning to a complimentary continental breakfast featuring freshly made waffles. Additional amenities include a year round heated swimming pool and hot tub, a beautiful garden and lawn area perfect for barbeques, a putting green and meeting facilities. Pets are welcome. This Auburn hotel is close to a variety of area attractions including wine tasting, local museums, the American River, the Empire Mine and Sacramento, the state's capital. Guests will find great white water rafting, horseback riding and biking trails nearby. The BEST WESTERN Golden Key is also close to local events such as antique street fairs, the Mandarin Orange Festival and the Christmas Festival of Lights Parade. For superior customer service and a convenient Auburn, California location make a reservation at the BEST WESTERN Golden Key today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Golden Key reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Golden Key Hotel Auburn
Best Western Auburn
Best Western Hotel Auburn
Auburn Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Golden Key, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.