We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Golden Key

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Golden Key
13450 Lincoln Way, Auburn, CA 95603   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2 & Earn a Reward
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Auburn
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mission Viejo
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“good location friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Arrived after midnight, check in was smooth. Slept well both nights but would expect a little noise next to freeway. Standard BW breakfast in a clean room. Auburn has several really nice breakfast places a short drive away. Will certainly return on my next trip to Auburn.

Room Tip: Try and get a room in back
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Key, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete one of these surveys about your stay with us. We enjoy hearing that our staff was very friendly and professional. We are very lucky to be located so close to so many stores and restaurants and I am happy to hear you were able to take advantage of that. We look forward to your return next time you come to Auburn.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    94
    23
    5
    6
See reviews for
96
68
24
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Milpitas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This Best Western was old school looking in appearance but it was very clean and comfortable and had many restaurants and stores within walking distance. The pool was clean and the breakfast area was very clean and accomodating.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

The hotel is not much to look at, although it was clean and the pool area was nice. But the people who work here are wonderful. They are friendly, helpful, and polite. Qualities that are uncommon these days. It was a great experience and I would definitely come back the next time I'm in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
No. CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This was OK for a quick sleep over but the street noise was high for me. It's an older building but upgraded and kept clean. Standard BW free breakfast. It's a bit far from downtown Auburn and not in a nice area of town. If you called early they might put you in the back building which should be quieter. They said they were booked up but I checked in early and there weren't many cars around.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Key, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete one of our surveys when you stayed with us last. We do have double pane glass on the front windows of our rooms. We have been considering replacing the bathroom windows with double pane to cut down on the traffic noise. The rear building you are referring to is our Double Queen Rooms. Since they are in higher demand they have the higher rate and are the most popular of our room types. When we are sold out, the reservations for the guests are guaranteed until 7 am the next morning with a credit card to hold the room. It is hard to estimate how full we are by the cars in the parking lot when checking in early as the majority of our guests check in between 3-8 pm. I am sorry that we were not able to honor your room preference. We try our best to accommodate all room requests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan Hill, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Great for all folks business, pleasure, passing through. Top notch high speed internet service with plenty of outlets for all equipment with comfortable desk. Everything worked. Very clean with good parking. Nest to freeway, however rooms are quiet. Lots of good places to eat near by. Hotel is what a Best Western should be.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I have a bad back and the woman who checked me in came to the room to help me get my things in. This was a lovely thing to do and was unnecessary. That kind of service deserves rewards. The room was nice. It had a clean remote which is a good idea but it needs more buttons. There was no info button so you couldn't get information about a show or movie. Also one of the regular network channels didn't come up. So good staff, nice room but not great tv.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Key, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to reply to this survey. I am so glad my staff were able to assist you. We have recently been channel mapping with all of our flat screen T.V.s and had to download the setup on a thumb drive that had to be downloaded to each individual T.V. Our channel 10 was not included and we had to reinstate that channel to each room and I apologize for the inconvenience during this transition. The high occupancy levels did not allow us to proceed as quickly as we expected to be able to complete this endevor.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casper
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I stayed here this summer. My room was very clean and quiet and cool! I was glad about the cool part because it was very hot outside. The beds were very comfortable and the room's decor was cheery. When I asked for extra pillows the staff were quick to deliver them to my room. The staff was very friendly and helpful. When I needed suggestions for places to eat at, I was given many great ideas. Really enjoyed the pool and hot tub.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Golden Key? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Golden Key

Address: 13450 Lincoln Way, Auburn, CA 95603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Auburn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Auburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this pet-friendly Auburn, California hotel located near Historic Old Town Auburn, the American River Nature Recreation Area and the Marshall Gold Discovery State Park. Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Golden Key, located in the heart of Auburn, California. Guests will be close to a variety of outdoor activities including the Raspberry Hill Black Oaks golf course, Turkey Creek golf course, the American River Nature Recreation Area and Squaw Valley Ski Resort. The BEST WESTERN Golden Key features 68 spaciously-appointed guest rooms each complete with a microwave, refrigerator, cable television and high-speed Internet access. Guests will wake each morning to a complimentary continental breakfast featuring freshly made waffles. Additional amenities include a year round heated swimming pool and hot tub, a beautiful garden and lawn area perfect for barbeques, a putting green and meeting facilities. Pets are welcome. This Auburn hotel is close to a variety of area attractions including wine tasting, local museums, the American River, the Empire Mine and Sacramento, the state's capital. Guests will find great white water rafting, horseback riding and biking trails nearby. The BEST WESTERN Golden Key is also close to local events such as antique street fairs, the Mandarin Orange Festival and the Christmas Festival of Lights Parade. For superior customer service and a convenient Auburn, California location make a reservation at the BEST WESTERN Golden Key today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Best Western, Travelocity, Despegar.com and getaroom.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Golden Key reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Golden Key Hotel Auburn
Best Western Auburn
Best Western Hotel Auburn
Auburn Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Golden Key, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.