We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good staff at the front desk” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Golden Key

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Golden Key to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Golden Key
13450 Lincoln Way, Auburn, CA 95603   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Auburn
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
305 reviews 305 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
“Good staff at the front desk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Auburn is a good location for touring the old gold-mining towns along the Mother Lode. The hotel is also beside the main route to Lake Tahoe, which is a nice loop drive for a day. We spent two nights here, and were very comfortable. The rooms are quite good. The hotel is an L-shaped two-story structure. It has a nice pool that was used a lot by the young families using the hotel. The Wi-Fi worked very well.

Breakfast was good in a good-sized room.

A thank you to the front desk staff who patiently sorted out a complex payment scheme using our BW cash cards.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    91
    21
    5
    6
See reviews for
88
65
23
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mililani, Hawaii
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

This was our second stay at this hotel and it's still really good. The rooms are clean (check out their shiny basins) and the location is great. The breakfast if sufficient. That's my only complaint. The counter staff is the most welcoming and friendliest we've ever encountered at a Best Western.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Key, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I am glad to see that our hotel lived up to your expectations. We are actually a 2.5 star property because we do not have an exercise room or conference room and do not have elevators. In most of the other catagories that Triple AAA rates each property we rate 3 diamonds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

The staff is friendly and the grounds are clean. The rugs are old and disgusting and there are soap dispensers in the shower that are very unsanitary. The pillows are like bags of rocks and my wife and I both had bad head aches from them. They seem to use the cheapest products they can find for the breakfast they serve. The eggs made us very nervous about salmonella and we both got stomach issues from them. That is when we could actually spend the ten minutes getting one open. They need to revamp the whole place. The staff is very good though. Try a different hotel first.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Key, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
I am very sorry you were not pleased with our hotel when you stayed with us and I would like to take this opportunity to apologize for any inconvenience. We are replacing our old carpets as quickly as we can and have just purchased a new Rug Doctor to shampoo all of our rooms on a more regular schedule. The amenities dispensers that we use in our showers eliminate the waste and inconvenience of the smaller individual bottles and are cleaned and refilled daily by the housekeeping staff. We also provide the individual bottles if you would rather not use the dispensers. We hard boil our eggs and sometimes they do go beyond the cooking time and are hard to peel, but it isn't discovered until that egg is peeled, but I assure you we cook them and clean them under the strictest hygiene standards. I appreciate your taking the time to let me know how we might be able to improve and of your concerns and I hope I have explained to your satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We (me, my wife and our adult daughter) stayed here in unit 171 for one night in mid-September. We were in a double queen room where the beds were comfy, the towels white and fluffy and the internet was fast access via a wired connection. We had a memorable stay for all the right reasons - this is a traditional style motel and was clean and comfortable and the staff, particularly Jennifer on the front desk, were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast of the usual continental type but was perfectly fine and welcome after a good nights sleep. Unfortunately we didn't have time to use the very clean looking pool. The hotel is in a really ez-off, ez-on location right by the Freeway, but we experienced no traffic noise. We recommend staying here for a night or two

Room Tip: Plenty of food outlets nearby, either by foot or a short drive. make sure to visit the historic dow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The friendly, helpful staff and the many breakfast options earn a Very Good for this basic hotel. We had problems connecting with the internet. Not only did they fix the problem, but deducted $25 from the bill. We could hear parking lot car noise from in our room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Bernardino
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

This motel is convenient to the freeway. It was very clean and comfortable, with a friendly staff. The price was quite reasonable. Nothing fancy, but we would stay here again. Go for a real breakfast in old town if you have time.

Room Tip: Our room faced the road, but it was far enough away that we didn't hear anything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, Washington
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Pretty standard Best Western with clean room, not large but comfortable. Rates are a steal, pool on site and clean with a average breakfast. Friendly front desk staff can give you some pointers on what to see and where to eat

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Golden Key? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Golden Key

Address: 13450 Lincoln Way, Auburn, CA 95603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Auburn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Auburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this pet-friendly Auburn, California hotel located near Historic Old Town Auburn, the American River Nature Recreation Area and the Marshall Gold Discovery State Park. Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Golden Key, located in the heart of Auburn, California. Guests will be close to a variety of outdoor activities including the Raspberry Hill Black Oaks golf course, Turkey Creek golf course, the American River Nature Recreation Area and Squaw Valley Ski Resort. The BEST WESTERN Golden Key features 68 spaciously-appointed guest rooms each complete with a microwave, refrigerator, cable television and high-speed Internet access. Guests will wake each morning to a complimentary continental breakfast featuring freshly made waffles. Additional amenities include a year round heated swimming pool and hot tub, a beautiful garden and lawn area perfect for barbeques, a putting green and meeting facilities. Pets are welcome. This Auburn hotel is close to a variety of area attractions including wine tasting, local museums, the American River, the Empire Mine and Sacramento, the state's capital. Guests will find great white water rafting, horseback riding and biking trails nearby. The BEST WESTERN Golden Key is also close to local events such as antique street fairs, the Mandarin Orange Festival and the Christmas Festival of Lights Parade. For superior customer service and a convenient Auburn, California location make a reservation at the BEST WESTERN Golden Key today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Golden Key reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Golden Key Hotel Auburn
Best Western Auburn
Best Western Hotel Auburn
Auburn Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Golden Key, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.