We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value in a Charming Town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Golden Key

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Golden Key to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Golden Key
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13450 Lincoln Way, Auburn, CA 95603   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Auburn
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Rosa, CA
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good Value in a Charming Town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Auburn is a charming, interesting town at the intersection of historic Hiway 49 and busy Interstate 80. In fact, it is two towns—a well preserved old town and an appealing newer downtown. Breakfasts on the weekend are huge with six to eight restaurants, all with their own individual specialties, and all packed with locals, tourists, and commuters. It makes a nice stop, either travelling north/south (on 49) or east/west on 80. The Best Western is clean, functional, and a typical Best Western. Good value for the money.

Room Tip: The back rooms are well-removed from Interestate 80.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Key, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
I am so glad you found our town of Auburn as charming as we think it is, and I appreciate your taking the time to write a review for your fellow travelers. I am happy that you found our hotel to be what you expected and hope you will return in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    114
    29
    7
    7
See reviews for
126
84
27
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tigard, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

This hotel was about 35 minutes away from where I needed to be for business but could not find a place closer due to seasonal and forest fire demands on area lodging. I selected it based on high tripadvisor reviews. I found it to be as others have said - very clean, friendly staff, good breakfast and convenient to restaurants and groceries.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Key, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
I really appreciate your taking the time to write a review about our hotel for your fellow travelers and I am so glad we were able to accommodate you during the recent unexpected local fire emergency. We try to provide the safe and clean environment you deserve and I hope you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Stayed at the Best Western golden Key on 6/21 & 6/22. Not only were the rates good BUT the place was CLEAN, well cared for, secure, and the staff were really super nice!!! They totally deserve 5+ stars- Very impressed :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Key, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
I am so glad that you found our hotel to be as friendly and clean as you expected and I really appreciate your taking the time to write a review for your fellow travelers. We know how much cleanliness and security matter when you are making your travel plans and so we try to excel in our efforts to provide that "home away from home" experience to ensure your enjoyment and loyalty to return to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel. It buy far was one of the cleaniest and most friendly places I've stayed in for a long time. The grounds were beautiful with a huge spray of many different flowers and plants. The staff....Karen, Denise.Chuck and Cindy went above and beyond to make my stay enjoyable.If your going to stay in Auburn, this is the place to stay!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Key, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel during your last stay. We try to provide a clean and safe environment for our guests and appreciate your acknowledgement of our efforts. I am very privileged to have such a great staff and I will be sure to give them your compliments and let them know how much you appreciated their hard work.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, CA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012 via mobile

Choose this location due to number of positive reviews, and we had a nice stay. Great for families. Motel features mid-size, clean pool, picnic tables and even tiny putting green. Quaint breakfast room. Attentive staff. Long pool hours and noon checkout meant we didn't feel rushed. Staff encouraged us to enjoy the amenities

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Key, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at our hotel. I am so glad that you and your family enjoyed our pool, picnic table and putting green. It is reviews like yours that let other travelers know what our hotel has to offer and my staff is always happy to go out of their way to make our hotel the "home away from home" the weary traveler is in search of.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here one night for business.
Front desk is very friendly and check in was quick. Room was decent, nice tv and bed was actually very comfy (king). Everything was clean and orderly.
Breakfast was good, had a lot of selections.
My only complaint was the road noise from the freeway. Overall nice place for the money.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Key, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on my hotel. I am pleased that you were impressed with the cleanliness due to the new required use of the blacklights and UV Wands by all Best Western Hotels. An ultra clean and safe hotel is what we are always striving for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Chose it for a one-night stay on a holiday family visit. At a glance, the Best Western Golden Key seems a typical American motel. Good first impression made by reception staff – fast, efficient, courteous, even on a busy holiday. Got the exact room I asked for at the promised price (a special discount price at that). The room was good sized and CLEAN, right down to the TV remote. (Tons of free channels btw.) Decor is simple and pleasant. Bathroom is spacious with decent towels. The usual shampoos, but toothpaste? Just ask at the desk for that or other forgotten basics, all for free. They even have a "useful" binder of community information, best I've seen. Nice sized swimming pool and hot tub, which in most places get covered and shut by the October. Here, they have an inflated dome for enjoying a nice winter swim. For sleep, the king-size bed was welcoming and little noise from the near-by interstate intruded. (The farther away from it the better, of course.) The stay ended with breakfast. The selection was what you would expect with fresh made waffles the winner. Check out was smooth and quick, and off we went. A lot of little things to like, and not a single off note. A very well run motel. We will be back on the next holiday visit.

Room Tip: Best Western web site had best rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Golden Key, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated our newly adopted use of the "clean remote" which is part of our Ultra Clean Housekeeping Regiment. We have just removed the pool's inflated dome for the season so now our guests can enjoy the fun of sunbathing on the lounges.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auburn
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Auburn
Holiday Inn Auburn
#2 of 7 in Auburn
4.5 of 5 stars 126 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Central
Comfort Inn Central
#6 of 7 in Auburn
3.0 of 5 stars 66 reviews
21.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn
BEST WESTERN Gold Country Inn
#4 of 10 in Grass Valley
3.5 of 5 stars 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Gold Miners Inn-Grass Valley
20.4 mi away
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
Grass Valley Courtyard Suites
#1 of 10 in Grass Valley
4.5 of 5 stars 158 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Auburn
Quality Inn Auburn
#3 of 7 in Auburn
3.5 of 5 stars 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Golden Key? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Golden Key

Address: 13450 Lincoln Way, Auburn, CA 95603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Auburn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Auburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Golden Key 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this pet-friendly Auburn, California hotel located near Historic Old Town Auburn, the American River Nature Recreation Area and the Marshall Gold Discovery State Park. Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Golden Key, located in the heart of Auburn, California. Guests will be close to a variety of outdoor activities including the Raspberry Hill Black Oaks golf course, Turkey Creek golf course, the American River Nature Recreation Area and Squaw Valley Ski Resort. The BEST WESTERN Golden Key features 68 spaciously-appointed guest rooms each complete with a microwave, refrigerator, cable television and high-speed Internet access. Guests will wake each morning to a complimentary continental breakfast featuring freshly made waffles. Additional amenities include a year round heated swimming pool and hot tub, a beautiful garden and lawn area perfect for barbeques, a putting green and meeting facilities. Pets are welcome. This Auburn hotel is close to a variety of area attractions including wine tasting, local museums, the American River, the Empire Mine and Sacramento, the state's capital. Guests will find great white water rafting, horseback riding and biking trails nearby. The BEST WESTERN Golden Key is also close to local events such as antique street fairs, the Mandarin Orange Festival and the Christmas Festival of Lights Parade. For superior customer service and a convenient Auburn, California location make a reservation at the BEST WESTERN Golden Key today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Golden Key reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Golden Key Hotel Auburn
Best Western Auburn
Best Western Hotel Auburn
Auburn Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Golden Key, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.