We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Omeletts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sweetpea's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sweetpea's
13498 Luther Rd, Auburn, CA 95603-3117
530-823-1818
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 127 Restaurants in Auburn
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Auburn, CA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Omeletts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Sweetpeas is a great little resturant just off the Foresthill exit of Interstate 80. Great food, super service and a very friendly atmosphere. I hate to post it on Tripadvisor, becasue its our little secret in Auburn. However if you want to experience a locally owned resturant with great food, check out Sweetpea's.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    14
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Meadow Vista, California
Level Contributor
140 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great Place For A Good Breakfast Or Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Open early, stays open through lunch. Extensive menu lots of omelets, over 25 to choose from. Traditional breakfast, Mexican food choices, Oatmeal, it's all there. Sandwiches, hamburgers, salads, if it's coffee shop food you'll find it here. Very friendly enthusiastic staff. reasonable prices.. What more can you ask.. Convenient to I80 in East Auburn, good parking.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
231 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Best Chicken Fried Steak Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

A friend told us we should check this cafe out the next time we're in Auburn. Coming home from Sacramento today we hadn't had breakfast. There was Sweetpeas just off the I80. Let's check it out. What a treat. Service. Food. Awesome. It's a cafe. Not fancy. Family owned and ran with pride. The fellow busing tables hustled like he really cared. He had a table for us cleared in a flash. He asked if we wanted coffee and had cups on the table in an instant along with our menus. Next came the gentleman with the coffee pot. He picked up each cup, flipped it in the air, caught it about 2 feet from the floor, held the coffee pot up near his head, and poured the coffee perfectly into the cup without spilling a drop. Bravo! The waitress appeared as we finished deciding what we wanted. My wife asked her about the pictures on the wall above our table. The waitress, Sarah, sat down at our table and explained how this is a family run business. She pointed out who the people were in the photos and the family members, including herself, who were working in the restaurant today.

Next came our food. We love chicken fried steak and have had it at restaurants and cafes all over the country. My wife and I agreed that this was the best chicken fried steak and biscuits and gravy we've ever had. If you don't like chicken fried steak there's plenty of other items to choose from on the menu - probably one of the largest selection of omelets we've seen.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn,CA
Level Contributor
78 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“GREAT PLACE TO STOP ON THE WAY TO THE MOUNTAINS!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

Variety is the name of the game at this longtime favorite breakfast and lunch place in Auburn. My favorites are the omelets (just think of a favorite food and they have already thought of a delicious combination). Their Oatmeal Raisin Pancake is more like a huge soft cookie. I like it without adding butter or syrup. Recently I’ve been enjoying some of their Mexican choices. Whatever your choice, it will be hot, fresh, and delicious.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cool, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Always Good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

Where the "locals" eat. You know it's got to be good food at reasonable prices. Not fancy but clean and comfortable with great service from an attentive staff.

Very extensive menu with breakfast served until closing time at 3 P.M. Wonderful huge omelettes with "country" potatoes, pancakes, and an incredible selection of sandwiches and burgers at affordable prices.

Easy on and off I-80.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweetpea's also viewed

 

Been to Sweetpea's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sweetpea's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.