We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistent Courthouse Cafe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courthouse Cafe

Courthouse Cafe
1425 Lincoln Way #200, Auburn, CA
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 143 Restaurants in Auburn
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Simi Valley, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Consistent Courthouse Cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

This is a smallish establishment near the courthouse in old town Auburn, however, it has an oversize impact. The coffee is fresh and delicious as are the pastries and other food items. At times, the number of people waiting to order, as well as the wait to get your food can be like a jury trial: slow. The wait is worth it and as your on-line pseudo attorney, I advise you to stop at this establishment and sample the evidence, then arrive at your own verdict.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    2
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Ramon, California
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Food in the Sierra foothills tend to be large portions, greasy and chalk-full of things you can't eat too much of. After a couple of days of eating this kind of food, you need to eat something healthy and tasty. In Auburn, Courthouse cafe is the place to go. The coffee is great. The food is very tasty and the homemade desserts were awesome. The place is kid friendly. The service is great.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great find!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

His is a cute little coffee spot in the across the street from the courthouse. The coffees are delicious & the light fare tasty. My only complaint is the sloooowwww service. Although ordering is done at the counter, it seems to take forever to get coffee &/or hot food. But give it a try as long as you be got some time.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, California, United States
1 review
“Love, love, love this little home away from home.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Courthouse Coffee is the most perfect spot to come for a truly special cup of coffee, and either breakfast or lunch. Mike and Jackie are the wonderful couple who owns it and makes everyone feel at home. I know one guy who makes Courthouse Coffee his office most mornings where he wheels and deals, and drinks coffee of course! Mike gets up early and bakes...scones, muffins, cookies, and more. They make everything from scratch, right in their little kitchen, and serve creative, yummy and healthy sandwiches and soups. Mike is great about walking around and offering samples of whatever just came out of the oven. Give it a try when you're nearby...you will give up Starbucks.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Little oasis in the midst of Auburn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We needed lunch but did not want to stop in a restaurant that served only large portions of unhealthy foods. We also did not want to spend too much time as we were traveling. We read a review of the Courthouse Coffee shop on some other website and - since we couldn't find anything else that sounded the slightest bit promising - we decided to give it a try.

That was the best decision we have made in the 30+ years we have been making this drive (although they have only been open three years.) There are many options for salads, sandwiches, homemade soups, and desserts. Since we came for lunch I didn't focus on the breakfast options but I did notice they serve steel cut oatmeal and bagels. Mike, the owner, also has specials everyday. Many of the sandwiches are vegetarian options. The coffee is organic free trade and there are many specialies - you won't need Starbuck's. They also have desserts but we were too full to try any.

I ordered the Red Turkey which came on delicious slices of whole grain bread (you have a choice of breads) and was filled with real turkey slices, roasted red pepper, tomato, and chipotle mayo. There was a little too much mayo for my taste so I will ask for light next time. I also ordered a cup of the split pea soup. It was made in-house and was NOT salty but did include pieces of potatoe and the peas were mostly whole. Absolutely delicious and served in a coffee mug. My husband ordered the vegetarian special which was hummus, olive tapanade, and other fillings which he enjoyed.

The shop is very nice and comfy. It offers free fast WiFi and, had it not been raining, plenty of outdoor seating that is to the side of the building and also in a raised and fenced garden area. None of it is right on the street so it is pleasant. We plan to stop here again any time we are in the area.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Courthouse Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Courthouse Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courthouse Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.