We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful bit of Mexico in Auburn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Agave Taqueria

El Agave Taqueria
1285 Grass Valley Hwy, Auburn, CA
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 127 Restaurants in Auburn
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Auburn, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Wonderful bit of Mexico in Auburn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My husband and I took a detour from our local favorites to try the newest Mexican restaurant in town. What a pleasant surprise it was! I had delicious grilled fish tacos - gluten & dairy free and my husband enjoyed a super burrito. I must say that I have fish tacos whenever I'm given an opportunity and these were delicious to overflowing, filled with flavor and hot! We will definitely be going back again soon.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    3
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colfax, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellant food, excellant service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

10 to 12 of us come here semi-regularly as a group on Tuesdays for tacos. Actually the owner/manager Selena started a "taco Tuesday" special for us! Choose from about 8 different kinds of meat. From the scrumptious standards; chile verde, or carne asada to cabeza and lengua, which as of yet, just can't bring myself to try. Everyone that has though say's they're good! The flavors here are bold and very authentic. You will love trying out the huge menu. A few of our group invariably will cheat and order combos and burritos, etc. Selena and her sister will always take the time out to explain ingredients and how the dishes are made. The hand made (wine based?) margaritas are a huge hit with our group as is the selection of beers on tap (which are pints). All in all, the best Mexican food in the area with a very attentive and caring staff. What more can you ask for?

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penryn, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Authentic food, friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I have eaten at this restaurant several times in the past year. The food is very good, not just the typical dishes that you find everywhere, but much more authentic and some original dishes too. They even have horchata! The Mexican-style shrimp cocktail is delicious, the burritos are good size and full of very fresh ingredients, and the spice level is perfect. Waitress was very friendly and helpful. Decor is a bit sparse but still gives a friendly & casual vibe. You should go here!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nampa, Idaho
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good Original Mexican Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Friendly folks in a down to earth little cafe. Waitress was friendly and helpful. Very reasonably price for the area. It's always a good sign when you pass local Hispanics on the way out with smiles on their faces. Fish tacos looked good. My"wet" burrito was great with a special hot sauce on it

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“New Mexican Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The food here is very good. I have found the service to be great as well. The food tastes fresh and the owners are usually on site and want to make sure you are happy with what you get. Great chili rellenos, fish tacos, chili verde and soup!!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Agave Taqueria also viewed

 

Been to El Agave Taqueria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Agave Taqueria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.