We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Strings of Auburn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Strings of Auburn
2501 Bell Rd, Auburn, CA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #74 of 127 Restaurants in Auburn
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Auburn
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good Food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Really?

Clam Chowder - Excellent. First serving of bread - Excellent. Entree - Excellent.

When asked for a 2nd basket of bread we were told they were a little backed up and slow on getting it out of the oven. NO PROBLEM. Who can resist waiting for HOT, OUT OF THE OVEN, BREAD!!!!!

Our bread got to the table in a basket, with a green cloth.... ridden with someone else's buttered gross cloth... the cloth had been USED AT SOMEONE ELSES TABLE!!!! AND BROUGHT TO OUR TABLE!!!!!! Are you kidding me?! WHAT else has been used and reUSED at another table.

We will NOT be going back JUST BECAUSE OF THIS!

TOO GROSS!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    5
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pasta- COLD pasta”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The dishes offered are nearly all pasta and my dish was cold in the center. The service was good and the price, for the product, a little high. Would not plan on returning

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
270 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Typical Strings Restaurant, Good Service, Friendly Smile and You Leave With a Full Belly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We have been to Strings several times over the years since they opened and have always had a good meal; nothing outstanding but basic pasta dishes. There is usually a wait, especially on the weekends but there is a small area where you can stand or sit while waiting to be seated. The wait staff has always been friendly and the wait for food is adequate. We don’t like sitting in the back room as it’s noisy and dark and seems to be where they put the dinners that are celebrating parties. They serve wines by the glass from some of the local vintners and most of the wines run between seven and nine dollars for a six once standard pour. All of their pasta, fish, poultry and meat entrees come with café salads and garlic bread which is very good. The salad comes out in a large plastic bowl and they tell you it’s an endless salad; more if you want it. It’s made up of Iceberg lettuce, some red cabbage, a few shreds of carrots, two cherry tomatoes, lots of raisins and sunflower seeds tossed in and if you don’t request that the red onions be omitted, there are several placed on top all mixed in with a yummy homemade Italian creamy dressing. Sometimes I make a meal on the salad, bread and a bowl of their homemade soup. I think the total cost is around nine dollars. Parking is plentiful as Strings is located within the K-Mart , Petco and Best Buy Shopping Center off of HWY 49.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, California, United States
Level Contributor
68 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“good food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

If you like garlic this is the place for you. The pizza is great and the staff is friendly. I really like the side salad it has nuts and raisins. The inside is nice and clean . Not fond of the location ( in the kmart shopping center) but they are cleaning up the area. I wouldn't want to sit outside.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Strings of Auburn also viewed

 

Been to Strings of Auburn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Strings of Auburn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.