We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Thai !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Thai Restaurant

Royal Thai Restaurant
891 Lincoln Way, Auburn, CA 95603-4826
530-888-8086
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 127 Restaurants in Auburn
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Grass valley
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Thai !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

The Thai food is very good here! I also love the service and the specials. Lunch specials include salad, appetizer and the main course!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    6
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan, Kansas
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Good, but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

It is hard to understand all these reviews for this restaurant. It IS good. But just good. Not great.

Pluses: Best of all is the wait staff. The try hard to help. They know the menu well. And they are very willing to help you customize or make changes so that you get what you want.

Minuses: this is a small place, and don't expect dazzling interior decor. The wine list is limited. The vegetables don't seem as fresh as most, and the fried tofu appeared to be old or leftover. Meat was uninspiring. Curiously, some at our table had some parts of their meal as very hot and some parts of the same dish as barely warm

We had a pretty good sized group when we are there, so we tested the kitchen's abilities, I am sure. But the plates came out generally at the same time. This group size issue may explain the various temperature differences of food delivered to our table.

So please go and try it out. I'll be surprised if you agree with all these other reviews. You'll most likely leave the place like me: that was an okay meal. Not great. But okay.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Seafood Thai Fried Rice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

This was my first visit to this restaurant. I love Thai food and have traveled around the world more than once so cuisine is a big deal to me. This is a small place in the shopping area of Old Town Auburn. I found the food outstanding, the service even better, and the presentation excellent. I had the seafood Thai fried rice, which was pricier than the other forms of the same. It had shrimp, calamari, mussels, fish, and more. I enjoyed a very relaxing lunch in a clean comfortable restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great find in Auburn!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We were looking for a good place to eat for lunch when we stumbled across this place! Glad we did. The service was excellent and the food matched. We had the Chicken Pad Thai, Chicken Salad, and Basil Eggplant with tofu. All the dishes met the expecations. Flavorful and fresh. Will eat here again when in town.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathedral City, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

While in Auburn we chose to eat at the Royal Thai restaurant for 2 reasons. My friend likes Thai food and they are gluten-free friendly, a necessity for me. They are most receptive to those with special needs like me, and my stirfry was delicious. Prices are very resonable, a worthwhile stop.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Thai Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Royal Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Thai Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.