We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Thai for Gold country” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Auburn Thai Garden

Auburn Thai Garden
175 Palm Ave, Auburn, CA
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 127 Restaurants in Auburn
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Opened a few months ago
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Good Thai for Gold country”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

Hard to get fresh and good Thai in the Auburn area. I have found this is the best. The papaya salad was excellent and you can order as spicy as you'd like.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    18
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Truckee, CA
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Excellent service, good Thai food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

We had lunch here on a Saturday so only dinner portions to chose from. They weren't very busy, service was excellent. We happen to be in Auburn for lunch and chose this restaurant due to its location and trip advisor reviews. If you've read any of my other reviews you'd notice we love Thai food, so on that note this was good Thai food. We would definatly eat here again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rocklin
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Tasty Thai and good beer!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

It is always a treat to enjoy lunch or dinner. My boyfriend and I enjoy the food, as it's one of the best Thai places I've experienced. They have quite a beer selection and it's one if my favorite places in auburn. Mmmmmmm!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada City
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Meh.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Friends think this is the best Thai place they've ever been to. When we went with them, we enjoyed it, but it was by no means the best Thai food we'd ever had. We went back a few days ago and this visit confirmed our suspicion: This place is OK, at best. It's a good location, on a busy street, with limited parking out front. The inside is nicely decorated.

We stood at the desk for about seven minutes while the two women took care of business but totally ignored us. No greeting, no nothing. Never a good idea.

When we were seated, we waited ten minutes - ignored again - before we got a menu and water.

The food was adequate. I had the green papaya salad, which was nice, and the pad thai, ditto, but soggy, with not enough bean sprouts to give it any life, and no limes to squeeze over it. I asked for them but they never arrived.

My husband ordered something reputed to be the most popular dish inThailand. It had one red pepper next to it in the menu. When it came, there was no spice at all. None. And no flavor. Nothing blended. We asked the server and she said that the pepper icon was their recommendation, but it isn't seasoned unless you ask for that. Totally a waste of money and hunger.

We have some nice Thai restaurants in our community, so we won't be back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NO CALIF
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“The Garden Revisited”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

One of the most amazing things about this restaurant is that their food is always delicious! When ever I bring a new guest to the Thai Garden, my guests are always pleased. I have taken friends who have never tasted Thai Food and they are pleasantly surprised. Nu Bookman always surprises me with some new dishes. The prices are always reasonable. His desserts will surprise you especially the fried bananas and coconut ice cream. Exquisite!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Auburn Thai Garden also viewed

 

Been to Auburn Thai Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auburn Thai Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.