We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so comfortable....” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Central

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Central to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Central
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1875 Auburn Ravine Road, Auburn, CA 95603   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Auburn
Minot, North Dakota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not so comfortable....”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This Comfort Inn was the first stop on our five day road trip. We're traveling with two small children and a dog so finding a pet friendly hotel was a must. Parking was wonderful-we had our suv and a large trailer on the back. Unfortunately our room was awful. I totally understand that not all pet owners are responsible, but wow. Our room wreaked of animal urine. If I hadn't been driving literately all day and some kind of energy left, I would've tried to find another hotel. I'm sure it was nice for those traveling without pets, but those with a pet in tow beware...unless the smell of urine doesn't bother you...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorie G, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Central, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
We do apologize for any inconvenience to you and your family on your stay with us. I do want to let you know that we are taking action to correct this problem in our pet rooms as they are desined for pets, i do wanna apologize for the smell as we do use room cleaners for our pet rooms to get rid of the oders that come with other guest pets, Your willingness to share your recent experience is very genuinely appreciated, And once again i apologize and look foward to seeing you again in the future.

Sincerely, Lorie Gregory Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    17
    15
    14
    11
See reviews for
22
19
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kimberly
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Have you ever indulged in a banana/strawberry smoothie at your local Denney's?There is one located right across the street from your hotel.If your day is going bad,life will be good once again.Or if you feel like taco"s.Taco bell is right next door.Oh yes,the hotel.I stayed in room 141.The shower is knockout good..I deliver new firetrucks around the country and normally drive 600 or 700 miles a day.I know good showers and good smoothies.Not much else.The bed is comfortable.Slept 9 hours.That's a long time for me.Cost of room about $80 bucks.Clean and great rolling chair at desk for paperwork.Quiet too.Flight delayed next day out of Modesto.Only hotel that offered shuttle was something tree.Nice people,great chocolate chip cookies.Huge.There was 15 stories,but I could hear the guy next to me passing gas.I always stay in Auburn at this Comfort Inn,coming out of the Sierra's.I-80 west bound,take exit 121.Turn right off exit,go through light.Stop if it's red.On the right.Enjoy your stay,Smoothie sounds good about right now.

Room Tip: Room 141 for sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorie G, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Central, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank You for your comments, we truly love hearing that our guest's enjoyed their stay here at the Comfort Inn. I want you to know that the comments and suggestions we receive from our guest are taken seriously. They tell us what were doing right, what were doing wrong and how we can improve. Thank You once again.

We look forward to serving your future travel needs, hoping to see you again in the near future.

Thank You Lorie Gregory Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stayed at the Comfort Inn in Auburn. The instant I walked in to the lobby,I felt as if I were at home. It was cozy and comfortable. The rooms were so quite and clean. The staff was very friendly and patient. They also had a really tasty breakfast. Loved the stay, it was perfect for a family. I will be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorie G, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Central, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for your comments, we truly love hearing that our guest enjoyed their stay here at the comfort inn. We look forward to serving your future travel needs,hoping to see you again in the near future, Thank you


Thanks, Lorie Gregory Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queen Creek, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Decent enough place - as others have mentions - a bit dated.
WE will stay there again!
Wonderful staff (great attidutes, friendly greeting, etc), clean & comfortable room, very tasty breakfast
(note - dice up a couple sausage links and drop them in the waffle batter)...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, CA
Top Contributor
247 reviews 247 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
1,011 helpful votes 1,011 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed at the Comfort Inn Central off of Auburn Ravine Road Nov 22-24, 2012. We have stayed here at least half a dozen visits in the past three years.

LOCATION: This hotel is located along the Auburn Ravine Road, and about 200 yards from Foresthill entrance to highway 80, in the extreme eastern section of Auburn, about 3 miles east of downtown Auburn. It is on the northern side of the highway, the opposite side of the old town Auburn. This is the newer part of Auburn, and home of countless fast food outlets and new shopping malls. This is not the place to stay if you want to enjoy the charms of old town Auburn.

BASE FOR SKIING: We don't use this hotel primarily to visit Auburn. We use the hotel as a jump off place to go skiing in Sugar Bowl, 57 miles to the east, about 1 hours drive. This year Sugar Bowl opened up 1 week before Thanksgiving. I drove to Sugar Bowl in the early morning, and returned in the late afternoon. Auburn is far cheaper to stay than Truckee, and you can reserve the hotels at the last moment, whereas Truckee hotels require an advance reservation during the winter ski season. If a snow storm comes, we aren't stuck in a hotel behind chain controls over the Donner Pass.

THE BUILDING: The hotel is structured like a semi-hexagon, a long two story building with three wings, partially encircling the main parking lot to the east. The corridors accessing the rooms are on the inside of the building. The lobby is in the section of the building closest to the road. The swimming pool and jacuzzi are located in the main parking lot, farthest from the road. The six rooms farthest from the road are the smoking section, and the nonsmoking rooms in this section also smell of smoke, as they were converted from smoking rooms not too long ago. The ice machine and soda machine are located about two thirds of the way down away from the road.

WHICH FLOOR? The first floor faces the parking lot, with the main parking lot on the east side, and the secondary parking lot on the west side. There are electronically monitored entrances in the middle of the building, and on the far side of the building -the latter with a closed circuit camera. There are no elevators, so if you choose the second floor, you'll have to lug your luggage up a two flights of stairs, from the parking lot. I prefer the second floor, simply because there is less noise from the parking lot. Of the second story rooms, I like those facing the west, as there are fewer cars on that side, and you get the afternoon sun -a benefit in the winter, and probably a drawback in the hot summer.

OUR ROOM: We stayed in room 201, a second floor room, closest to the lobby, above the exercise room, and closest to the road. The room was spacious with two queen beds, and an almost new carpet. The bedding, spreads, sheets, blankets, and pillows were immaculately clean. The pillows could have been larger -they were tiny, less than 1 foot square. Good blackout curtains, along with sheer curtains.

OLD FURNITURE: The TV was a 23 inch CRT, a relic from the last century. Good sized refrigerator, with plenty of room for our thanksgiving leftovers. Coffee-Maker, and a modern microwave with a rotating interior plate. Wifi access, and a PC with an old ink jet printer in the lobby for guests to use. Bathroom had a separate bath and toilet area, with the sink and bathroom mirror outside the bathroom door. The bathroom switch also turned on the ventilator, which was old style and gave off a loud noise. 4 bath towels. Soap, shampoo and conditioner provided. Modern bathroom looks like it was remodeled not too long ago, with modern tile and no signs of mold or dirt on the grout.

NOISE: the railroad runs about a block west of the hotel. However I only heard them once, and that was during the middle of the day. No problems with noise from the freeway or nearby road at night, despite being in the room closest to the road. The heater and air conditioner were old style and made a lot of noise, but also muffled all outside sounds, and sounds from other rooms. If I had to do it again, I would have picked a room a little farther from the downstairs lobby, as voices resonated off the lobby counter area. However they had a full house on Thanksgiving. (The quality inn on the other side of the freeway had a lot of vacancies, but then it isn't as good.) Relatively new carpeted rugs in the corridors to dampen foot noise from guests passing by.

BREAKFAST: mammoth sized breakfast room, with seven square wooden tables, each seating 4. The breakfast room was about the same size as two hotel rooms put together -the biggest I have ever seen at a Comfort Inn in this region. Hot breakfast with scrambled eggs, sausage, three types of waffle mix: regular, chocolate and cinnamon, besides the usual pastries, cold cereal, hard boiled eggs and oatmeal. The staff refilled the breakfast coffee brewers at regular intervals. My only complaint is that they could have wiped down the chairs and tables better -my chair back was sticky.

NEAR BY PLACES TO EAT: across the street from Dennys, and adjacent to Der Wienersnitzel, with a Jimbo Tacos adjoining. Ikeda (hamburgers) and Lou Lou Bambas (prime rib) right across the freeway, easily accessible through the overpass .

FINALLY: We use our credit card with Comfort Inn to accumulate points for usage to obtain free nights. We have been coming back to this hotel for years.

Room Tip: The rooms farthest from the road are smoking rooms, and nearby rooms are former smoking rooms, which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

The hotel is nicely located between Tahoe and Sacramento and has pricing comparable to other facilities in the area. The staff were very friendly and helpful upon checkin making it quick and easy to get from the front desk to your room.

However, the rooms themselves need some face lifts. The facility has made great progress with respect to technology. Upgraded internet and power on the desk make it easy to sit at the "desk" and work without looking for a plug or trying to get the internet to work. The TV is still an old CRT type TV. Desks and tables are worn and the rooms smell of the time when people were allowed to smoke in the rooms.

Despite this the room was still comfortable despite probably being on the low end of value compared to other Comfort Inn hotels I have stayed in.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

From the outside, this hotel has a very pleasant appearance, but the hotel is an older property and has not been updated. However, the rooms were clean and had refrigerators and microwaves. The staff works hard and were helpful and friendly. The breakfast had hot entrees as well as the usual breakfast fare.

This hotel is fine for a brief stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Central

Address: 1875 Auburn Ravine Road, Auburn, CA 95603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Auburn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Auburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Central 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn Central® is ideally located just 30 miles from Sacramento with easy access to and from local freeways. The Auburn, Comfort Inn is close to area attractions like local area Restaurants the Thunder Valley Casino, the American River Canyon, the Sierra Nevada’s and the Auburn State Recreation Area. The Sacramento International Airport is just 35 miles away.Auburn is one of California's earliest mining towns, situated in the heart of the Gold Country. Visitors will enjoy shopping at the nearby Galleria Mall and Sutter Mall. Additional area attractions include Old Town Auburn, The Ridge Golf Club and Events Center and Placer County Dewitt Center and the Placer County Courthouse. Amenities include: Free Your Morning Breakfast, free parking, a fitness center, an outdoor pool and hot tub. Business travelers will appreciate conveniences like free wireless and wired high-speed Internet access in all rooms and access to copy and fax services. We have a guest computer located in the lobby.Your morning breakfast includes: Flavored waffles, hard boiled eggs, folded eggs, sausage Links, bagels, muffins, Danishes, cold cereal, hot cereal, fresh fruit, yogurt, milk, coffee, and hot chocolate. In-room amenities include: coffee makers, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. Every room also has refrigerators and microwaves and our new flat screen tv's. Coin-operated guest laundry facilities are located on the property. The hotel features a charming interior décor, friendly front desk staff and immaculate housekeeping. Whether traveling to California for business or pleasure, the Comfort Inn Central will meet all your travel needs when in the Auburn area.Thank you for choosing the Auburn Comfort Inn for your travel needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Choice Hotels and Hotels.com so you can book your Comfort Inn Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Auburn
Auburn Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.