We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Power's Mansion Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Power's Mansion Inn to your Saves list
Power's Mansion Inn
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   195 Harrison Ave, Auburn, CA 95603   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$99 Summer Special!!
Ranked #1 of 2 Auburn B&B and Inns
nevada city
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Pleasant Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

We live 45 minutes from our house in Nevada City, CA to Auburn, CA and booked a room at Powers Mansion Inn to celebrate my birthday and to explore Old Town Auburn as well as the downtown area. I booked the room but my wife wanted better outside access to take our dog out.
Management was very happy to accommodate our needs. The mansion was built in the end of the 1800's so the rooms are individually different so if the one you booked is not for you just ask for a change if available. We were happy with our room and slept well. The Inn has an Irish pub next door and it offers 110 different hand crafted beers brewed in the pub building. We tried several and they were wonderful.
Alfred, the owner personally cooked a wonderful breakfast for the guests at 9AM. Alfred is a very friendly and personable fellow with a very interesting background. We enjoyed talking to him and to Allen, his brother-in-law. The interesting downtown area is just one block away and has several good restaurants. Old Town is an easy 1 mile walk or an easy drive. We had a good time at breakfast talking to other guests and they were all very interesting.
We had such a good time we look forward to retuning. The Mansion reminded us of B&Bs we visited in England.

Room Tip: Check several rooms to suit your needs and desires. Call and ask questions about room features.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    60
    11
    18
    29
See reviews for
71
207
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Had our office Christmas Party hosted by Alfred. This was our second year. The first was great but this surpassed it. Alfred arranged the food to our specifications and it was delicious and plentiful served buffet style per our request.
He and his staff were very attentive though not intrusive. We even had a lovely area arranged for our gift exchange. Overall excellent. We'll be back for our next office party!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
86 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Stay here and you will find out that this place is not reported as advertised on ANY web site controlled by Powers Mansion of Auburn, California and by some of the reported top notch reviews. We have stayed in hotels and motels across this country and NEVER experienced such blatant misrepresentation of the facts concerning the accommodations or services offered. The worst reviews you come across concerning this place are extremely accurate and spot on. I wanted to keep this review short and warn others to stay away until Alfred gets things in order and repairs the obvious broken window latches, dirty carpets, dirty arm pads on the lobby sofas, etc. Not to mention the lousy guest services...just too much to list. The food served was NOT at the B&B, but at the bar around the corner. It was not gourmet food, but tasted like fast food, and we had to help ourselves to food served at a buffet, like you find at Hometown Buffet. After arriving at this place we were stunned! We arrived on Sunday and left on Tuesday this past weekend. My wife and I agreed to be positive and hope for the best, though our gut feelings told us to take the financial loss and run from this place (we aren't rich so the money needed to stay elsewhere was not there). We drove 3 hours to get to this place and it was already early evening. But against all better judgment, we stayed and tried to make it fun, light, and romantic. I am still reeling from anger as to how I let myself be bamboozled to stay the entire 3 days and 2 nights at this place. I wish I had left and just drove back home. I am still disgusted by my experience, holding back to say what I really want to. STAY AWAY from this place until Alfred cleans up the place and fixes things up. Alfred was nice if you asked the right questions and snapped back rudely if we asked him something he did not like, making us feel like we were idiots. My wife and I are easy going and are not the confrontational type. And we never let on to Alfred as to how disgusted we were. Yeah, good beer, BUT beware of this DIRTY and DISGUSTING place. Wow! I can't believe myself. In all my 38 years of staying at places while traveling, I thought I would never give such a negative review. Just typing this out is causing me the deep anxiety and stress i felt staying there. YUCK!

Room Tip: Stay out the HONEYMOON suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

This place is a huge disappointment. When going to a B&B, you pay for the little extras. This place has zero. Its a dump. The room was filthy. Run down, nothing nice at all. Broken lamp, saggy bed, dirty walls. Had a fireplace but had to ask for logs. Bathroom disgusting with holes in linoleum. I won't even get into the bathtub situation. The gourmet breakfast was a joke at the owners bar/restaurant around the corner. We had drunks sreaming the f word until 1:30. Six car alarms went off that same night. No rest or relaxation on this trip. My wife had never been to a B&B and I had told her how wonderful they are. I have never had a bad experience with one until now. They have a nice tea room and a kitchen but they do nothing with it for it's guest. Just another way for them to make money and neglect their guests. The grass there is bad astrturf. No coffee in the kitchen, no service, the owner/mgr was never around. Don't waste your money at this place. I regret I did.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tahoe Vista
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

My wife and I had the misfortune to book this place without seeing any of the "bad" reviews. We returned to our home last night exhausted because of the loss of sleep from the previous night in this piece of crap. Please, do yourself a favor and read the other "one star" reviews and save yourself from the same grief. In a word, Powers Mansion B&B is FILTHY! We have stayed in places much older than this one and none of them were dirty. It has nothing to do with the age of the property, it has to do with care and maintenance. We regret that we didn't just walk out of the place, but we had already paid and justified the sense of discomfort. We got up the next morning and left in the same clothes that we came in because we didn't even open our bags for fear of contaminants, the smells everywhere in the room were disgusting. The thought of breakfast from these same hosts was revolting, and now having read some of the low star reviews, feel that we made the right choice.

Room Tip: A park bench would be a better choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

What a wonderful place to stay, the rooms will take you back in time. The owners are such sweethearts, Alfred is one of a kind. Wait until ypu try his breakfast. I have never had a better breakfast that this in a bed and breakfast. And the rooms are adorable and make you feel like your in another world. What a lovely place. I will return and if I ever get married, this is my place. I loved it and you will too.

Room Tip: the honeymoon suite was so beautiful, fireplace, Jacuzzi tub, oh how romantic
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

The two nights I spent in this Bed & Breakfast while in the area for the wedding of a friend were very pleasant. The 1880's Victorian house is very charming and comfortably furnished for guests. Despite the age of the house, it was so quiet that I wondered if I were the only guest, but saw plenty of other cars in the parking lot and met other guests coming and going. I stayed in The Power Room, and loved reading in the cozy bay window. Remember, this is not a spa resort, so don't come looking for fancy modern amenities, but, if you enjoy quirky, historic and fun, you should enjoy your stay here as much as I did. The adjacent Irish pub has good food, and is convenient for the complimentary breakfast as well as dinner without driving. The location of the inn is in a quiet neighborhood, and close to lots of great shopping in the old town district of Auburn.

Room Tip: Check out the description of each room on the Power's Mansion Inn website and choose the one tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auburn
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Auburn
Holiday Inn Auburn
#2 of 7 in Auburn
4.5 of 5 stars 126 reviews
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Golden Key
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Central
Comfort Inn Central
#6 of 7 in Auburn
3.0 of 5 stars 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn Auburn
Quality Inn Auburn
#3 of 7 in Auburn
3.5 of 5 stars 72 reviews
1.5 mi away
Motel 6 Auburn
Motel 6 Auburn
#5 of 7 in Auburn
3.0 of 5 stars 39 reviews
1.7 mi away
Super 8 Auburn
Super 8 Auburn
#4 of 7 in Auburn
3.0 of 5 stars 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Power's Mansion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Power's Mansion Inn

Address: 195 Harrison Ave, Auburn, CA 95603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Auburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Auburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Power's Mansion Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Power's Mansion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Power`s Mansion Hotel Auburn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Power's Mansion Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.