We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best experience I've ever had!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Power's Mansion Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Power's Mansion Inn to your Saves list
Power's Mansion Inn
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   195 Harrison Ave, Auburn, CA 95603   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$99 Summer Special!!
Ranked #1 of 2 Auburn B&B and Inns
1 review
“Best experience I've ever had!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

My best friend and I stayed at the mansion for two nights. It was wonderful. We were the only guests at the time which was fortunate for us because we were treated like family instead of guests.
Alfred is the friendliest man we have ever met. He gave us one on one attention and I feel like we have made a wonderful friend. The quaint little town is full of friendly people as well!!
The mansion is beautiful and you can feel the live that Alfred and his wife have restored this place. We will be visiting it often and hope to have the same experience.
Thank you Alfred for your unique hospitality!

Julie Zaro

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    60
    11
    18
    29
See reviews for
71
207
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hayward, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

DIAMOND IN THE ROUGH

The Powers Mansion in Auburn is an historic treasure. A few year ago Alfred Lee bought the property and most of the block it sits on. Alfred is one of the most interesting people we have ever met, he is warm and personable and very talented.
The 1884 Mansion houses a collection of many antiques from the late Gold Rush Era.
(Alfred is gradually upgrading the property, but it is a treasured place for the travel historians who want to spend a night or 2 in a unique establishment.)
Alfred, a man of many talents, provides a big nutritious breakfast made from scratch. He ia also a brewmaster and is starting his own brewery, if you like beer.
Toward the end of the week, his ‘Powers Club’ restaurant is open. We missed that, having stayed Mon & Tue night. But the breakfast was outstanding and kept us comfortable most of the day.
The Mansion has about a dozen rooms, each with different decor. My wife loves lighthouses, so we stayed in the Lighthouse room.
There are opportunities to use the kitchen for you to make your own meals, or microwave for a quick warm up. He wants you to feel ‘at home’ in the rest of the Mansion.
This is a different and great stopover for the adventurous.

Room Tip: Look online for the various room choices and follow your interests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

If your looking for beautiful accomodations and friendly, helpful staff, along with a centrally located establishment, this is the place! The owner Alfred, is the perfect host with his historic B&B he makes you feel his home is yours.
This would be my first choice when staying in the Auburn area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Our non-profit held an event at the Powers Mansion Inn Event Center. It is a wonderful facility and so perfect for our needs. The room was warm and nicely appointed we needed minimal decorations and the room looked elegant. The staff is easy to work with and we are grateful for this lovely space.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colfax, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The Caring Hearts Society of Auburn (a nonprofit origination) hosted a holiday shopping extravaganza fundraiser at this event center. Alfred and his staff were very helpful from start to finish of our event. We are planning on returning to the Power's Mansion Event Center for this years fundraiser. I would highly recommend the event center for any event you may have coming up. The room is nice size, with great ambiance.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We spent my birthday weekend at this Mansion and it was amazing. The mansion is gorgeous and the dinner we had at Power Club within walking distance was the best ever. Alfred was a wonderful cook. The next morning we had breakfast ( a hearty one at that) at Power Club again and Alfred's cooking was amazing. i would recommend this place to all my friends that want a little getaway. We may even just get married here!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Pink" room but next time we will pick the "Gold" room, just be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Power's Mansion Inn for one night on our way to the Gold Country. Albert, the owner, was welcoming, warm, funny, and obviously loves what he does. After a wonderful history lesson of the house and area, he generously upgraded us to two special rooms so we could have space and privacy.
What a wonderful surprise! Breakfast in Alfred's Pub the next morning was incredibly delicious, made by Alfred himself. The Tea Room on the first floor of the Inn looked inviting and our conversation with the experienced owner/chef made us want to go back for High Tea and another stay. Being surrounded by authentic antiques was delightful.

Room Tip: The Honeymoon and Wedding suites on the second floor are very large and are adjoining, which makes i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auburn
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Auburn
Holiday Inn Auburn
#2 of 7 in Auburn
4.5 of 5 stars 126 reviews
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Golden Key
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Central
Comfort Inn Central
#6 of 7 in Auburn
3.0 of 5 stars 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn Auburn
Quality Inn Auburn
#3 of 7 in Auburn
3.5 of 5 stars 72 reviews
1.5 mi away
Motel 6 Auburn
Motel 6 Auburn
#4 of 7 in Auburn
3.0 of 5 stars 39 reviews
1.7 mi away
Super 8 Auburn
Super 8 Auburn
#5 of 7 in Auburn
3.0 of 5 stars 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Power's Mansion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Power's Mansion Inn

Address: 195 Harrison Ave, Auburn, CA 95603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Auburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Auburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Power's Mansion Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Power's Mansion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Power`s Mansion Hotel Auburn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Power's Mansion Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.