We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brookside Cafe

Brookside Cafe
111 Sacramento St., Auburn, CA 95603
530-885-0656
Improve this listing
Ranked #56 of 140 Restaurants in Auburn
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Auburn, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

The atmosphere and environment of the outdoor seating was beautful and very relaxing. The food was great and the service was very friendly.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    4
    4
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rocklin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“So unique!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Love the food, the service, and the ambiance. This is one of our favorite places to go on a 70-80 degree day. We get there early so we can get a table by the creek and listen to it flow by while we eat. Don't miss out on this one!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Fabulous Burgers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

Brookside Grill in Auburn Ca, midway between San Francisco and Lake Tahoe. Located at the VERY end of the Gold Rush Plaza in Historic Old Town Auburn, CA, the Brookside Grill is a local favorite, but hart to find the first time. Nice ambiance, roaring fire in the winter, great outdoor spot in the summer, with the brook actually running through it. The food is excellent, the prices reasonable, the portions are huge and changes are gladly made to any item on the menu. House specialty are burgers and if you can get your mouth around one of these delectable, 'home-ground' burgers, you may just forget your manners and any conversation that actually involves words. On the weekends they also have a buffet in addition to the regular menu items.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, California
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Great Spot in Nice Weather!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Food is o.k - but I really like sitting back by the creek on a nice day - funky location, hard to explain - check it out one visit!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“This restaurant could be so cute if fixed up”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

The first time we ate at Brookside Cafe was about three years back. We said we would never go there again as the service was poor but what was worse was the ambiance. Brookside is located at the end of a little indoor mall in old town Auburn. Most of the seating is outside on a raised deck area. They really need a good handyman to come in and fix things up. The stairs have nails that are popping up causing a tripping hazard. I doubt the deck has ever been given a coat of redwood stain. The railing was loose in one area and the plants and vines needed a good trimming, pruning and just generally cleaned up. There was a large plastic container sitting on top of a table with dirty dishes inside that had just been left there. There are approximately six tables on this landing and there was only one table with four people still eating. It wasn't like the place was full. There was a pitcher of iced tea and several large plastic glasses stacked next to the pitcher just left on a half cleared table. We noticed a large black dog laying at the entrance to the kitchen area. The dog had full access to where people were eating, both downstairs and up on the deck. We think this dog belongs to the owner. At any rate we were in old town Auburn recently and decided to check out the cafe again to see if anything had changed......it hadn't so we won't be back again. The food was just okay and we felt over priced for what was served. It's a shame as this could be such a sweet little spot for lunch if someone would just clean it up and take real interest in its appearance. My suggestion, go across the street to Awful Annies.

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brookside Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Brookside Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brookside Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.