We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Gem - with Gluten Free Menu” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Joe Caribe Bistro and Cafe

Joe Caribe Bistro and Cafe
13470 Lincon Way, Auburn, CA 95603
530-823-5333
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 127 Restaurants in Auburn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Joe Caribe serves light ethnic food at reasonable prices. Chicken Curry Burritos, Fish Tacos and Pork Mojo Sandwiches are some of the offerings. A nice short beer list includes Chimay on tap.
Granite Bay, CA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“What a Gem - with Gluten Free Menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Went here for my son's 8th grade graduation dinner. The service was friendly and impecable. The staff opened up a closed area of the restaurant for us (large group) so we wouldn't have to wait to be seated. The waiter was good natured and went out of his way to acknowledge it was my son's special day. Drinks were refilled promptly and to-go boxes were brought without hesitation at the end of the meal.

Ordered at our table: Chicken nachos, catfish, salmon with mango salsa, Mojo Pork tacos, skirt steak, chicken quesadilla, jumabalaya.

Every single dish was spectacular. Absolutely mouth watering delicious. Carribean in nature there is a lot of citrus zing added to the flavors.

My kids were asking me when we could come back.

They have a HUGE gluten free menu, including gluten free beer. There were also plenty of choices for the vegetarians in the group.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    39
    6
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Weimar, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

My favorite time to go is during their happy hour. They have deals on the pulled pork taco's, and they are good. You've got to try those.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“If you love fish or shrimp tacos you have to try this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We were up in Auburn one day about lunchtime when a young man at California Hardwoods suggested we try Joe's for their fish tacos. Now we drive to Auburn every so often just to get our "fix". One day a waitress suggested we try the shrimp taco, one of each in our order and now that is our go to order. I just love their Caribbean slaw, it's the bomb!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“a great spot to stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

really love joe's!
we've been several times, each time the food has been excellent. The decor is eclectic: there are 4 small rooms, each a bit different. You can sit in the bar near the TVs or chose another spot so the noise doesn't bother you. This place is great for the whole family - burritos, sandwiches, and dinners, all with a caribbean twist. And a great small selection of beers (and wine). The flavors are eclectic and refreshing - lots of citrus sparkle and caribbean heat. Don't bother dressing up, just go and enjoy!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Oaks, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Happy Hour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

This place was recommended to me by a friend. 10 of us stopped here for dinner after a long day kayaking on lake Clementine. Wow, the food and service were great. Everyone loved what they ordered. And, they have happy hour every day from 3pm to 6pm. Will go back here for sure.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe Caribe Bistro and Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Joe Caribe Bistro and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joe Caribe Bistro and Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.