We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Mexican Fare” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Josie's Mexican Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Josie's Mexican Restaurant
1301 Commerce Ave, Atwater, CA 95301
(209) 358-4254
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 38 Restaurants in Atwater
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Atwater, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican Fare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Friendly atmosphere, a good variety of traditional Mexican dishes, best Margaritas in Merced County, and salsa/chips are delish.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    8
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atwater, California, USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lets go to Josie's boy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

Great service and friendly staff. Great Mexican dinners or enjoy a drink in the lounge. Great place to watch the games.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, Utah
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“We love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

This is a great Mexican restaurant. It is a small 'mom & pop' establishment and the owners are very friendly and helpful. We eat there on a regular basis and they are always willing to customize our order to make it just the way we like it. If you are unhappy with anything they are more than willing to do whatever they can to make it better. The food is well prepared with generous portions and reasonably priced.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Valley, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not going back”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This was the second time I've taken my son with me to eat there. The first time the food was alright.
The staff is accommodating and the service is adequate but a bit slow.
Tonight the food was a different story. I ordered the cheese enchiladas with shrimp and whole beans on the side without rice.
They didn't bother to drain the beans before dumping them on the plate with the enchiladas, so the juice created a runny mess. The soggy enchiladas consisted of shrimp wrapped in two tortillas with cheese melted on top, a blob of sour cream and green sauce. They did not have any cheese inside whatsoever as the menu described. The verde sauce may have been thicker before it blended with the bean juice that filled the plate but it was hard to tell, had minimal flavor and was more brown than green in color.
I mentioned this to the waitress and she said that she would tell someone. Don't know if she bothered to or not since I was still charged almost $13.00 (full price) for my substandard meal.
My son also had whole beans with his meal. In contrast, his beans were drained and his plate and food remained dry.
I wish I'd had a camera with me to take a picture.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Banos, California
Level Contributor
185 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“What a surprise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I live some 35 miles from here, but had never heard of the restaurant. Driving by and starved, we decided to give it a try! Even though it was during the week, the place was packed during the dinner hours 5:30- 8:30PM. Service was fast and efficient. Plenty of parking. Restroom (although only one stall) was clean and it had a baby changing table if someone needed it. Didn't order any liquor, but I saw waitresses carrying beer and even maybe a Margarita or two!
Totally pleased with my meal...I ordered Chicken Mole ($11.50) and it came with flour tortillas, rice and beans. Plus 3 good sized pieces of chicken. Even brought some home. I'll be making a return trip!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Josie's Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Josie's Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Josie's Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.