We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Frosty Mug” 4 of 5 stars
Review of A&W Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
A&W Restaurant
6435 Morro Rd, Atascadero, CA 93422
(805) 466-6472
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 78 Restaurants in Atascadero
Cuisines: American, Fast Food
Restaurant details
Atascadero
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Frosty Mug”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

A definite piece of Americana. A&W root beer is an icon. I come here for the Orange freeze it taste like a 50 50 bar. So if you're in the area and have a hankering for a little something sweet treat your self. Still a mom and pops owned business.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    3
    0
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Horrible customer service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

The food was ok, but nothing special. Employees were extremely rude. Nasty bathrooms, tables were dirty, and flies everywhere.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“OMG! Don't eat here.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

My wife and I stopped by for some lunch. We needed to wash up before eating. Never in my life have I seen such NASTY restrooms. Needless to say if the restrooms are that gross you know what the cooking station must look like. We did not nor ever will we eat here! Stay away, save your life.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atascadero, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“All hail the Papa Burger and Root Beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Yes, the burgers are greasy, but if you like that sort of thing they're sort of wonderful. And my girlfriend is addicted to A & W root beer, so I always pick up half a gallon when I'm here.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, CA
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Food Is Mediocre”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Their Root Beer Freeze and Float are wonderful. Other food is too greasy and fatty. No good options for lighter meals. Their salad are all iceberg lettuce and have a weird celery-like taste. Thought it might be a one time thing, but have tasted like that multiple times. Their fried food almost inevitably is over done. Their work dress code appears to be sweats which is rather off-putting, even for a fast food location. Their staff is overall unfriendly and tend to act like they're doing you a favor by taking your order and giving you your food.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A&W Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to A&W Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A&W Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.