We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Colony Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Colony Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Colony Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3600 El Camino Real, Atascadero, CA 93422   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Atascadero
North County San Diego
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

It's nice to find a hotel that is very affordable (89.00), clean and just off the highway. This place is great! Pool, Hot Tub, Fresh Cookies, great breakfast in the morning as well. Close to wineries, Morrow Bay, Cambria and Hearst Castle.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin E, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Colony Inn, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to respond about your recent stay with us. I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us. I do hope that you will return to see us again in the near future!

Warm Regards,

Robin Ewing
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    91
    68
    23
    5
    3
See reviews for
66
57
13
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gilroy, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed here for a night while attending a concert at the Paso Robles Mid-State Fair. It was less than 10 mins away and very conveniently located right by the freeway. The staff was very friendly and recommended a few wineries within driving distance that we should visit during our stay, and we were even given vouchers for free tastings at these wineries.
The room itself was pretty standard, but very clean. Both checking in and out was very quick, which is always a plus for me!
I would definitely stay here again next time we venture down for more wine tasting in the area!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin E, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Colony Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback. I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay with and will return to see us. For the future, we do have wine tasting tours that are very affordable. They drive you to four-six wineries, all tasting including and a picnic lunch. If you are interested, we will be more than happy to assist you with this for your next stay.

Thank you again, and we look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,

Robin Ewing
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Arrived on a Sunday afternoon. There was a line out the door to get checked in, and only one person at the desk to check people in. It took 20-25 minutes to finally get to the front of the line. The lone employee was friendly ad efficient, but she needs help when a rush of people arrive at the same time.

Nice room, comfortable bed. good size flat panel; too few channels, though there were 4 HBO channels. Efficient AC. Located on north end of town. Most stuff on south end of town. Priced well under Holiday Inn Express, the other modern hotel in Atascadero.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin E, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Colony Inn, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for your comments on your stay. I am very sorry we were short handed that day when you arrived. I can guarantee this is highly out of the ordinary. I am happy to hear the rest of your stay was pleasant. I do hope that you chose to stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,

Robin Ewing
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buena Park, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Carpets are very dirty, if you have small children put them in pants if they crawl around. The breakfast area is not planned out very well at all. Access to the elevator during the breakfast rush was not a fun experience. Bathrooms are outdated and need some work. The property itself was well groomed and nice and the front desk staff was pleasant and helpful. We did have a plumbing problem but the staff did take care of it while we were gone for the day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin E, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Colony Inn, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback. I am very sorry about the carpets. I know it doesn't make it any better, but it is summertime and we are running at a full capacity. Getting in to clean the carpets is difficult, we cannot have them wet for the next guest. We will take care of our carpets as soon as possible. We are aware our breakfast area location is not the best, and we are looking for an alternative solution. Always feel free to utilize our poolside dining or our spacious lobby to enjoy your breakfast.

Again, thank you for your comments. I do hope that you will give us another opportunity to provide you with superior customer service.

Warm Regards,

Robin Ewing
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
visalia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I stay at this hotel every July while the "Midstate Fair" is going on. The hotel staff really go out of there way to make all of the Fair weary vendors feel at home and comfortable. The hotel is clean and very well appointed, refrigerator & Microwave. The rooms are quiet and the housekeeping staff do a great job.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin E, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Colony Inn, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Barry,

I just wanted to thank you for your wonderful comments. We enjoy having you stay with us every year and look forward to it! You are pleasure to have, and we hope to see you again next year!

Sincerely,

Robin Ewing
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

My children and I stayed here for 3 nights and loved it. The staff were very friendly, breakfast was fine, the pool was clean and not crowded, beds and rooms were comfortable. Everything was great. We would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin E, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Colony Inn, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank your for commenting on your stay. I am so glad you and your children had such a great time at our hotel. I will share you comments with the staff, as I am sure they will bring a smile to their face. I hope you will come back to see us soon!


Sincerely,

Robin Ewing
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moose Jaw, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Very nice clean motel. Friendly staff and a very good breakfast. Room was clean, included a microwave and fridge. Internet worked great. We recommend this motel and would stay again. Price was reasonable. We were on a road trip from Yosemite to Hearst Castle and the coast drive. Excellent trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robin E, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Colony Inn, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. It sounds like you had a great California trip! I do hope that you will come back for a coastal trip, as for there is a lot to do in this area.

Kind Regards,

Robin Ewing
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Colony Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Colony Inn

Address: 3600 El Camino Real, Atascadero, CA 93422
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Atascadero
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Atascadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Colony Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN PLUS Colony Inn is the perfect place to stay on California's Central Coast. Located in Atascadero,CA and surrounded by the special charm and excitement of Paso Robles Wine Country, BEST WESTERN PLUS Colony Inn is the perfect location for wine tasting, bike riding, golf, visiting the historic missions, family outings, and hiking. Motorcycle enthuses enjoy traveling the spectacular coastline leading to the Pacific Ocean where you will enjoy Hearst Castle, Morro Bay Harbor and quaint seaside shops, all minutes from the newly refreshed BEST WESTERN PLUS Colony Inn, Atascadero California. A variety of restaurants, wine tasting and shopping is nearby. Our guests enjoy a fully appointed health club, Kennedy Club Fitness Center, which includes workout equipment, basketball courts, racquet ball courts, an Olympic size swimming pool, yoga and zumba classes and more. BEST WESTERN PLUS Colony Inn welcomes you to the Central Coast for family fun, a romantic get-away, business meetings and wine tasting! Corporate, military, AAA and senior rates are always available. Visit our calendar of events for attractions and events in San Luis Obispo County such Hot El Camino Nights & Car Show, The California Mid State Fair, Sunset's Savor the Central Coast, Paso Robles Harvest Festival and Vine Street Showcase. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Colony Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Colony Hotel Atascadero
Best Western Atascadero
Atascadero Best Western
Best Western Colony Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Colony Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.