We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“From London to Old English” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Carlton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Carlton Hotel to your Saves list
The Carlton Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6005 El Camino Real, Atascadero, CA 93422   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Atascadero
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“From London to Old English”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

From London, we really enjoyed the boutique hotel vibe, nice and quite. Great staff and this is slap bang in the middle of everything you need in Atascadero .....just around the corner there is a great wine tasting place called the barrel (I think) and next to that a delicious little bistro type place ...also forgotten the name ...fig and olive?

Room Tip: Upstairs near patio!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    59
    10
    10
    13
See reviews for
28
108
13
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Visalia, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We had tried to book a room for 3 nights and 3 people over on the coast but nothing was available so we looked inland and found the Carlton. A very pleasant surprise, the rates were much better, the room was about twice normal size, very comfortable beds and service. Highly recommended, would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We were looking for a place to stay for a night after a visit to Hearst Castle. After checking out hotels in Paso Robles, I read reviews of the Carlton on Trip Advisor and decided to give it a shot. The hotel was about 45 minutes from Hearst Castle, but an easy drive with no traffic. The price for a nice room was much less than the cost for the better hotels in Paso Robles. The hotel is really more of an Inn than a hotel. There is no bellman or anyone to help with your bags or your car. You are greeted by a lone person at the front desk and the hotel doesn't have a restaurant or typical amenities that you would associate with most large hotels. However, the room was very spacious, updated and clean. The bathroom was large, modern with granite and had a nice shower and tub. The beds were very comfortable with good linens and there was plenty of room for all 4 of us for a night. The hotel has free parking in a lot across the street and we were only about 12 minutes from Paso Robles, where we had a lovely dinner at Thomas Hill Organics, and a great breakfast the next day. We didn't understand the resort fee, as there didn't seem to be any resort amenities on the premises. However, if you are looking for a nice, quant, reasonably priced, modern hotel for a night, close to Paso Robles and not far from Hearst Castle and Cambria, this is a good alternative. . .

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

I stayed at this hotel during a side road trip up the coast. The hotel has a great classic feeling to it and were prompt to give us our room. There is parking across the street and free wifi. Our room was very cozy and had a nice bed. My favorite part was the jacuzzi tub in the bathroom and you better believe I took a bath that night! Although it says this hotel is in Atascadero, it is an extremely close ride to a ton of wineries and Firestone Walker. We only stayed one night but would love to spend more time in this region and will definitely stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
284 reviews 284 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We were only in Atascadero for one night and rather than stay in a chain hotel, this place caught my eye. Am I glad it did! What a lovely and grand hotel in a convenient location. Upon check-in a tour bus had arrived just before us (an unusual event, I am told). When I noticed that my room was next to all the tourists, the front desk staff immediately switched me to another room across the hotel where it would be quieter without me even asking her to do so! I really appreciated that and the room we were given was extremely quiet and restful. We choose to stay in the balcony king, which has a view of the interior courtyard. The courtyard view was pleasant and no noise emanated from the patio -- at least not on a Sunday evening. Our room was simple, but tastefully decorated. The two best parts were the large bathroom with sanijet bathtub and large separate shower and the exquisitely comfortable bed and linens. Honestly, we really hated to leave after only one night. Parking is either in the public lot behind the hotel or across the street. We parked behind the hotel. The only thing I didn't understand was the $15 "resort fee" charged as I did not see the value in it for the customer -- it just seemed like a way to tack on an extra charge. That being said, even with the "resort fee" the room was an excellent value. We would definitely recommend this hotel and plan to return at some time in the future.

Room Tip: Balcony king with interior view is an excellent choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cromwell
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

Overall a exquisite hotel!! It has an old "Victorian" feel to it mixed with Hollywood at the same time! The hotel staff is super friendly and so very helpful!! Plenty of room with a view of the balcony! The beds were so comfortable and definitely high quality with pressed sheets that feel so good when you get into them! The bathroom was spotless and they even cleaned the glass shower daily! We consider it one of the best values for a hotel room from a well traveled person's POV. My brother said it was the best hotel room he ever stayed at.(:

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Staying at this hotel was quite an experience. The rooms were well appointed and very comfortable beds. The public rooms were very well decorated - full of charm and history. Unfortunately, the restaurant was closed, so we had to go out for food. Maybe next time.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlton Hotel

Address: 6005 El Camino Real, Atascadero, CA 93422
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Atascadero
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Atascadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Carlton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick and Priceline so you can book your The Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Atascadero

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Carlton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.