We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only Wish We Could Have Stayed Longer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Carlton Hotel to your Saves list
The Carlton Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6005 El Camino Real, Atascadero, CA 93422   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Atascadero
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
297 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Only Wish We Could Have Stayed Longer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We were only in Atascadero for one night and rather than stay in a chain hotel, this place caught my eye. Am I glad it did! What a lovely and grand hotel in a convenient location. Upon check-in a tour bus had arrived just before us (an unusual event, I am told). When I noticed that my room was next to all the tourists, the front desk staff immediately switched me to another room across the hotel where it would be quieter without me even asking her to do so! I really appreciated that and the room we were given was extremely quiet and restful. We choose to stay in the balcony king, which has a view of the interior courtyard. The courtyard view was pleasant and no noise emanated from the patio -- at least not on a Sunday evening. Our room was simple, but tastefully decorated. The two best parts were the large bathroom with sanijet bathtub and large separate shower and the exquisitely comfortable bed and linens. Honestly, we really hated to leave after only one night. Parking is either in the public lot behind the hotel or across the street. We parked behind the hotel. The only thing I didn't understand was the $15 "resort fee" charged as I did not see the value in it for the customer -- it just seemed like a way to tack on an extra charge. That being said, even with the "resort fee" the room was an excellent value. We would definitely recommend this hotel and plan to return at some time in the future.

Room Tip: Balcony king with interior view is an excellent choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    68
    10
    10
    15
See reviews for
35
117
15
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cromwell
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

Overall a exquisite hotel!! It has an old "Victorian" feel to it mixed with Hollywood at the same time! The hotel staff is super friendly and so very helpful!! Plenty of room with a view of the balcony! The beds were so comfortable and definitely high quality with pressed sheets that feel so good when you get into them! The bathroom was spotless and they even cleaned the glass shower daily! We consider it one of the best values for a hotel room from a well traveled person's POV. My brother said it was the best hotel room he ever stayed at.(:

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Staying at this hotel was quite an experience. The rooms were well appointed and very comfortable beds. The public rooms were very well decorated - full of charm and history. Unfortunately, the restaurant was closed, so we had to go out for food. Maybe next time.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

When you are up wine tasting, biking, coming back from the coast or whatever, the Carlton is a delightful taste of long-ago elegance. Service is excellent, rooms are comfortable, if a little cramped, and there is an excellent in house restaurant and bar. Not only that....it's just up the street from Sylvester's - most excellent burgers and breakfasts!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax Station, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Even in the standard room, one had the sense of "old Hollywood" with the beautiful period reproduction furniture & upscale fabrics. Well designed built-in cupboard for the coffee maker along with china cups, a very comfortable bed and a hanging tapestry added much to the ambiance. BUT, my favorite amenity was the fabulous marble tiled bathroom with jacuzzi tub and separate shower, large vanity, pocket doors to separate toilet room, more built-in shelves for towels - it was just heavenly.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mirada, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

I was fortunate to enjoy yet another stay at The Carlton for several days during mid-May, and once again was reminded why I keep coming back. The staff is always very friendly and helpful with every detail. The room is very comfortable, the bed the most comfy I've ever found while traveling. Internet access (a "must" for me) is excellent (both wireless and LAN are available). Very quiet and peaceful.

Room Tip: If possible, I recommend The Carlton Suite, even if only for a day or two of your visit. Very luxur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Bakery Review: (I haven't stay at the Hotel) “Carlton Cafe and Bakery” Very good Coffee, Fresh European baked goods & breads that are prepared and baked in the Bakery on the first floor of the Carlton Hotel to the right of the Hotel entrance. (The restaurant to the left of the entrance is not open at this time) the Bakery has breakfast and lunch (I believe Bakery is closed on Monday and Tuesday?) I’m becoming a regular, nice Art store around the block on Traffic Way called “The Artery”. The Baker also hosts Tango (Argentine) Milongas: Third Saturday of the month, 8:00-midnight 6005 El Camino Real, no cover.

Room Tip: I haven't stay at the Hotel but heard that Ringo Star-Beatles stayed there because of good secur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atascadero
7.0 mi away
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
#7 of 18 in Paso Robles
4.5 of 5 stars 456 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Atascadero
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Colony Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
The Oaks Hotel
The Oaks Hotel
#2 of 18 in Paso Robles
4.5 of 5 stars 395 reviews
10.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Black Oak
BEST WESTERN PLUS Black Oak
#6 of 18 in Paso Robles
4.5 of 5 stars 514 reviews
10.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Paso Robles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlton Hotel

Address: 6005 El Camino Real, Atascadero, CA 93422
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Atascadero
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Atascadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Carlton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TravelClick, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Atascadero

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Carlton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.