We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Historic Building... Room was amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Carlton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Carlton Hotel to your Saves list
The Carlton Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6005 El Camino Real, Atascadero, CA 93422   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Atascadero
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Historic Building... Room was amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Staff is friendly.... hotel is a beautiful historic building! Room is gorgeous... bed was clean and comfortable! TV is older model but free WiFi!!! Shower and whirlpool bath... great for kids! Bathroom did have minor mold but it was on corners of shower doors, difficult to keep completely clean.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Nena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
78 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Beds and pillows were very comfortable. Large rooms and large & nice bathroom. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Gave good restaurant advice, and sights to see in the area.

Good location for day visits to Hearst Castle, Paso Robles, and everything in the area.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ihearttravel100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We just spent a night at The Carlton and it is an absolutely gorgeous hotel that has been remodeled but kept the original "old" feeling. Our room was huge, the bed very comfy, the hotel itself is quiet and just perfect for our weekend away. The only draw back is there is no restaurant and/or bar. Apparently there was but they have closed, which makes for a bit of an inconvenience. However, there are fabulous restaurants close by within walking distance.
We highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is traveling on the Central Coast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank jlw49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed at The Carlton Hotel in July 2013 for 2 nights. The Carlton Hotel is in a historic building that was recently renovated with tasteful upgrades. We were greeted immediately by friendly staff and check in was quick. Our room was impecably clean, tastefully decorated, and very comfortable. The room had a cozy king bed, overstuffed chair, and an armoire with an older TV. The room included a small refrig, Kurig coffee pods, wine glasses and cork screw adding to the convenience of our stay. The bathroom was gorgeous with marble floors, jacuzzi tub, separate shower with glass enclosure, and all the amenities were provided including a silky spa rob. The premesis was very quiet during our stay.
The one thing it was lacking is a restaurant. The hotel previously had a restaurant/bar on site but the business closed. The staff was helpful to suggest places to eat, but Atascadero is a very small town so the selections were minimal. A short drive to San Luis Obispo would be in order if you are seeking a variety of choices for evening food, wine and entertainment.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MumnKeiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
119 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Spacious historic hotel in Atascadero - near Outlets, Wine Country, Mid-State Fairgrounds. Went to stay with friends while visiting the local area. Very convenient. However, parking can be a challenge. Spa nearby.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by this historic hotel. It is completely remodeled and the staff and room was wonderful. They were very helpful and finding good places to eat which include Sylvester's and the Cowgirl.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
princeton, nj
Level Contributor
121 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel, huge room/ bathroom with jacuzzi, perfectly clean- 10 min to scenic paso robles and wineries. Wish it had a pool and were a bit more chic- furniture was "Marshal's style", could have better preserved original character.
outstanding value overall. Would return.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beachloverPrinceton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atascadero
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Atascadero
3.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Paso Robles Atascadero
7.0 mi away
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
#8 of 19 in Paso Robles
4.5 of 5 stars 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Colony Inn
10.8 mi away
The Oaks Hotel
The Oaks Hotel
#2 of 19 in Paso Robles
4.5 of 5 stars 460 reviews
10.9 mi away
Allegretto Vineyard Resort Paso Robles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlton Hotel

Address: 6005 El Camino Real, Atascadero, CA 93422
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Atascadero
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Atascadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Carlton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique hotel is conveniently located in the heart of San Luis Obispo county- we are 15 minutes from both the Edna Valley and the Paso Robles wine regions (which are on opposite ends of the county), and we are also just a quick, 15 minute drive to the beach. We encourage guests to go out and explore the area and then to come back and relax in luxury. Or, if you simply want to stay in, then you are in luck! Our rooms are incredibly sizable and comfortable. So whether you are wanting to relax and lounge about or go out tasting & dining or hiking & surfing, our hotel is sure to provide you with one of the nicest hotel stays you could imagine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your The Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Atascadero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing