We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful spot in historic building” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Carlton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Carlton Hotel to your Saves list
The Carlton Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6005 El Camino Real, Atascadero, CA 93422   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Atascadero
California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot in historic building”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed at The Carlton Hotel in July 2013 for 2 nights. The Carlton Hotel is in a historic building that was recently renovated with tasteful upgrades. We were greeted immediately by friendly staff and check in was quick. Our room was impecably clean, tastefully decorated, and very comfortable. The room had a cozy king bed, overstuffed chair, and an armoire with an older TV. The room included a small refrig, Kurig coffee pods, wine glasses and cork screw adding to the convenience of our stay. The bathroom was gorgeous with marble floors, jacuzzi tub, separate shower with glass enclosure, and all the amenities were provided including a silky spa rob. The premesis was very quiet during our stay.
The one thing it was lacking is a restaurant. The hotel previously had a restaurant/bar on site but the business closed. The staff was helpful to suggest places to eat, but Atascadero is a very small town so the selections were minimal. A short drive to San Luis Obispo would be in order if you are seeking a variety of choices for evening food, wine and entertainment.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    54
    9
    10
    13
See reviews for
28
103
12
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Thousand Oaks, California
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Spacious historic hotel in Atascadero - near Outlets, Wine Country, Mid-State Fairgrounds. Went to stay with friends while visiting the local area. Very convenient. However, parking can be a challenge. Spa nearby.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by this historic hotel. It is completely remodeled and the staff and room was wonderful. They were very helpful and finding good places to eat which include Sylvester's and the Cowgirl.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
princeton, nj
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel, huge room/ bathroom with jacuzzi, perfectly clean- 10 min to scenic paso robles and wineries. Wish it had a pool and were a bit more chic- furniture was "Marshal's style", could have better preserved original character.
outstanding value overall. Would return.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We checked in after dinner. It was a hot day--almost 100 degrees as the sun was setting. We turned the air conditioner up as high as it would go and waited. By the time we got into bed, we were still sweating. We tried to tough it out but between 12 and 1, we called the front desk to tell them about the problem. You immediately got the sense that they heard this complaint a lot. The woman said they would normally switch us to another room but they were full tonight so they couldn't switch us. We asked if they maybe had a fan we could use. No. Well maybe somebody from maintenance could come look at the air conditioner. She said they had no maintenance employees at night. We asked her what she thought we should do. She said, "There's nothing else to really do. I wouldn't even open your windows--it's even hotter out there." So that was very helpful.

A few minutes later we called and said we would just check out and go somewhere else. But the woman working the front desk wouldn't agree to refund our money. She said she had no authority to do that because she was not a manager. We suggested that she call the manager and she said she "refused" to do that because it was so late. This is a hotel. They have customers 24 hours a day. There should be a manager or someone with a manager's authority available at all times. Also perhaps a maintenance man. The response should not be, "We're sorry your $200 room is so uncomfortable. There's nothing we can do."

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel in the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deanajalex, General Manager at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Unfortunately, we had record breaking heat this weekend and with a full house our chillers could not handle the capacity. I do apologize that you had an unpleasant stay. It is mine and my staff's goal to make sure everyone has a pleasant stay. I hope that we have an opportunity to meet your expectations in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solana Beach, California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Was in Atascadero for three days work and stayed at the Carlton. Fantastic atmosphere in old school Hollywood decor.
Has the feel of an old classic hotel and the elegance of a castle. This is the place to stay in this town! Great craft beer brewery Molly Pitcher within walking distance

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemoore, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

DId not get to stay her but the manager let me walk the halls and check out the space. As a freak about historic hotels, this one is not a disappointment. The attached rest. was fantastic with a cute quaint bakery next door. Service was fantastic and the staff was more than welcoming. The view of the rooms from just walking in and looking around was very appeasing and pleasurable.

Room Tip: Inside rooms give a pleasant view of the roof top garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlton Hotel

Address: 6005 El Camino Real, Atascadero, CA 93422
Location: United States > California > Atascadero
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Atascadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Carlton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Atascadero

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Carlton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.