We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must stay here if you are in the area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Carlton Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Carlton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Carlton Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6005 El Camino Real, Atascadero, CA 93422   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Atascadero
hayward
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Must stay here if you are in the area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I stay in quite a few hotels for my work (high end as well as your run of the mill Holiday Inn etc.) this is by far one of the best I have stayed at across the state, the word that describes it best is "plush", beds very comfortable, you sink in, jacuzzi tub, a robe, very very nicely done. I have stayed in places 3 times as expensive and they have not equaled the Carlton. If you are in the area don't stay anywhere else, treat yourself, oh and it includes a breakfast voucher at the restaurant or cafe, and it's your choice of what you eat. Looking forward to coming back next time I am down here for work!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    114
    50
    7
    9
    13
See reviews for
25
92
11
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My daughters and I stayed at the Carlton on our way down to Southern California. We were all thoroughly impressed by this lovely hotel - the beautiful spacious room, the bed, and particularly the large well appointed bathroom. The staff went our of their way to make us feel comfortable. The manager mentioned that we should stop on Highway 1 to see the seals at Piedras Blancas, an excellent suggestion that turned out to be a highlight of our trip. The price of our room was so reasonable and breakfast was even included. We will definitely be back.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, CA
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

We've stayed at the Carlton before...and returned. Been a few yers but it is still a perfect choice - actually even better than we recalled. Great rooms - well appointed and quite large for what feels more like a boutique hotel.

While you'll probably spend more time in Paso, the wineries or even the coast, the Carlton is well located and a great choice.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

If you're looking for a great place to stay while touring the wineries of Paso Robles, this is a fabulous hotel. It's ten miles from Paso, but it's so reasonable and the accomodations are fantastic. Big, well appointed room, with luxury bedding, and very quiet. I couldn't say more great things about it. For the price, it's well worth the 10 miles to drive. The staff are very accommodating and the atmosphere is so quaint and well kept. A definite must for a quick get-away from Los Angeles or surrounding areas without breaking the budget.

Room Tip: Love this hotel. Didn't get the 2nd bathrobe we requested, but it wasn't that important. E...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Having been to Paso Robles 4 times in the last 3 months, we have had the opportunity to sample a few hotels, and the Carlton is the winner in our price range (the ~$200 per night set). It is an historic hotel that has been redone to a very modern high standard. The beds and linens are absolutely amazing (4 seasons level in my book). The staff is very helpful, and the restaurant is quite good. Downtown Paso Robles is about 15 minutes away by car, but you dont have to drive because the hotel is located in the historic Colony district of Atascadero, which has walkable restaurants and shops. What many first time visitors to Paso Robles don't realize is that most Paso Robles hotels are acutally along the 101 freeway with nothing to walk to. Granted, Downtown Paso Robles is only 5-10 minutes, but you always have to drive.

Room Tip: I recommend the courtyard King...zero street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We recently stayed at the Carlton Hotel while visiting the wineries in Paso Robles (less than 10 minutes away). The price caught our eye but the bed was the real treasure. I don't think I have ever had a night's sleep like that, it was a slice of heaven! The hotel also provides a complimentary breakfast -- anything off the menu in the restaurant downstairs which was delicious and plentiful. The hotel has been recently remodeled and the rooms are spacious and modern with nice touches. The staff was really helpful too, with suggestions for wine tours and then shippers to help with our winery purchases. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura County
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed 3 nights at The Carlton. We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Our room was large, nicely decorated and comfortable . The staff was professional and friendly. We enjoyed our breakfasts in Colby Jacks restaurant . The hotel is easily accessed from the freeway and is convenient to the many wineries in Paso Robles. Overall a pleasant experience.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlton Hotel

Address: 6005 El Camino Real, Atascadero, CA 93422
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Atascadero
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Atascadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Carlton Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, TravelClick, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your The Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Atascadero

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Carlton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.