We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STAY HERE!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Carlton Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Carlton Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Carlton Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6005 El Camino Real, Atascadero, CA 93422   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Atascadero
ENCINITAS
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“STAY HERE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

What a treat to come to the Carlton Hotel for the second time. I LOVE THIS HOTEL! It is so charming with its beautifully designed, quiet, and well-equipped modern rooms, and the staff is extremely friendly and helpful. It is an historic old hotel that has been perfectly renovated. I especially love the beautiful, big bathrooms. The adjacent restaurant and the bakery are both outstanding as well. The Carlton is a wonderful bargain as you get a first-rate, 4 star hotel for the same price as a basic, bring-your-dog hotel chain. Check out their weekday prices that include a nice breakfast. You are minutes from all the wonderful wineries as well as Morro Bay and other cities on the Central Coast. Stay here!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back side or one of the bigger corner rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    114
    50
    7
    9
    13
See reviews for
25
92
11
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This review should have gotten 5 stars but I was disappointed with the non-complimentary Fiji water in the coffee service nook. The hotel sits on the main drag and is easy to get to off the 101. Abundant, free parking mostly in a lot across the street, but some behind the hotel itself. Several local eateries within walking distance. Nothing fancy really but good. Drive a couple of miles and very convenient, familiar stores like Vons and Walgreens within easy reach.

Nice lobby and staircase leading to the rooms. Very nice 2nd floor courtyard. Great place to eat takeout, but I saw an ashtray on one of the tables, so smoking might be permitted. Great service and well-appointed comfortable rooms. The bathrooms are luxurious with jet tub and separate showers. They have complimentary breakfast at the restaurant, which is closed on Mondays. ‘Complimentary’ means 1 free entrée. Any extra item, for instance the wicked good granola, will cost. I got a free $7 Belgium waffle, so I’m not complaining.

Speaking of ‘complimentary’, the two Fiji water bottles looked really good after a hard day driving around in a golf cart and hitting a shot or 95 in picture-perfect 70+ degree weather. The coffee service nook was dark and I didn’t notice the sign written in a stylish, cursive font stuck to the bottles warning that these puppies weren’t free. Not their words, but you get the gist. See attached photo. The almost translucent nature of the sign, the style of writing and the way the warning is attached right above the flower that is part of the Fiji logo makes it, in my opinion, rather unobvious. Is that on purpose? I don’t know, but I would hate to think so because it would be a cheap shot for an otherwise classy, upstanding, great-value-for-the-money establishment such as this. 2 nights at $285 total including taxes and fees. Would without hesitation absolutely come back—just would bring my own water!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This hotel has been refurbished with nothing but the best! The linens and fixtures, as well as the furnishings are top notch. The restaurant and bar are excellent as well. We had a room that opened on the patio, a European flavor. There are a spa and a wine bar next door. Big city amenities in a small town.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PBG, FL
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Hotel is very well redone from the expansive lobby; to the showpiece staircase; to the comfortable guest rooms. Staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful. All the second floor rooms open onto a huge patio area where we and some friends enjoyed a very good dinner meal served from their Colby Jack restaurant. Free Breakfast was excellent in selections, quality and service.
Considering their rates, we and our friends can't imagine staying anywhere else in this area.

Room Tip: There are some pet friendly rooms adjoining the patio and some grass behind the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Beautiful hotel with most of the luxury hotel perks. Room with king size bed was comfortable. An added bonus would be the down comforters and Egyptian cotton sheets. The rooms have plenty of space which accomodates 2 people more than perfectly. The jacuzzi tub is fantastic and separate showers with large shower heads...even better. The staff is friendly and attended to our needs. I will absolutely book here again. We were on a 2 night stay and loved the town and the hotel so much that we inquired for a 3rd night. Sadly, no one cancelled.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This was our second stay at this incredible hotel. Our first time was 2006, and the restaurant and food is the best change. GREAT breakfast, excellent quality and value. I would have rated it a 3 star in 2006. New restaurant owners have definitely brought food and bar service up to Carlton standards now. The bartender was a wealth of knowledge about the hotels history, and that was nice.

The Carlton has Great, soft, plush king size beds, soft pillows, and darkening shades that really make your room pitch dark!
The bathroom was like something you would expect at the Ritz! Jacuzzi tub, beautiful huge shower, marble floor and just an unbelievable surprise if you haven't been there before.

You are ten minutes from Paso Robles, and this is a quaint, fun town you should visit. The Carlton is a 1926 era Hotel, completely refurbished in 2005, and they did this place with quality in mind at every turn. Rich, dark wood, and elegant furnishings. You have a Keurig coffee maker, and a small refrigerator within a cabinet....very nice for multi-night visits. Wine taste in Paso Robles, stay in this great place!

Their customer service is second to none, from the ease of making a reservation, to impressive manners when you are greeted at the front desk.

I highly recommend the Carlton to anyone who wants to experience top of the line amenities and do so affordably. Seriously....the beds are like clouds....at least that's what it seems like a cloud would be like to sleep in....

Room Tip: I was on the third floor, northwest corner, and it was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel is a hidden gem on the south end of California's Central Coast. It is beautiful and luxurious inside. Great beds and amazing white marble lined bathrooms that are huge. People are friendly and helpful. Great little bakery next door for morning coffee and restaurant on the other side for a nice dinner. Close to Paso Robles and San Luis Obispo (Cal Poly).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deanajalex, General Manager at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thanks for staying with us!! We hope to have another opportunity to see you again in the future!!

Deana Alexander
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlton Hotel

Address: 6005 El Camino Real, Atascadero, CA 93422
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Atascadero
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Atascadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Carlton Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, TravelClick, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Atascadero

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Carlton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.