We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice visit for a small town.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Charles Paddock Zoo

Charles Paddock Zoo
9305 Pismo Avenue, Atascadero, CA 93422
805.461.5080
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 14 attractions in Atascadero
Type: Zoos
Attraction Details
Santa Ana, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice visit for a small town.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Vey nice time at the little zoo. Some interesting species but a little depressing seeing them in small environments.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    19
    6
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pacific Grove, CA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A great little zoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Not the biggest zoo in the world but very enjoyable. My wife and I enjoyed it very much. If you have an hour or so I think you may enjoy this

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Animal Yoga”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I cannot wait to get back to the remodeled Zoo on October 5 (2013) and conduct a free "Animal Yoga" session. It is a wonderful opportunity to be in their habitat and breathe, take on their postures and relate to our own role in conservation. Great for kids and adults.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fun Outing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Though this zoo is small, it was a fun outing. My husband and I had spent some time vacationing in Morro Bay and were headed to Highway 101. As we drove through Atascadero we saw the Veterans War Memorial and stopped to pay our respects. Next door is a beautiful park and the Charles Paddock Zoo. We weren't in a hurry so we decided to spend the $7 each and check out the zoo. It was smaller that we expected but we had never seen, much less heard of the majority of the animals they house. It was VERY interesting and we learned a lot. It was a lot of fun and I'm glad we stopped. I would highly recommend it for families with young children.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Family Let Down”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

While on vacation in San Luis Obispo we came across brochures advertising the zoo $5.00 so while on a budget we decided it would be nice for our family of 5 with 3 teenagers...it was only about 17 miles from our hotel so upon arriving there it was $7.00 a person and once my husband let the girl know about the price difference she didn't seem to care or ask what hotel so she could pull the outdated info she kinda shrugged like whatever..we asked for a map of the zoo she said oh you don't need one its small . That was the understatement of the year they happend to be cutting trees down so part of the zoo was blocked off the only interesting animal was the tiger. and half the animals were not even the cages very disppointed.....We voiced or concern of the zoo being blocked off and the zoo director comes over and lets us know the would be moving the truck so we could finish our little exploration of the zoo we were sooo very disappointed to only see some snakes in the window..I wish I could have had a refund....I guess if you have little kids they would enjoy it ...but as for me and my family it was not a great experience ....the whole zoo experience lasted but less then 30 minutes.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charles Paddock Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Charles Paddock Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charles Paddock Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Charles Paddock Zoo to your Saves list