We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Atascadero

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Atascadero to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Atascadero
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9010 West Front Road, Atascadero, CA 93422   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Atascadero
Clarkston, Washington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Loved this hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

From the friendly and helpful front desk to the wine & beer tasting one evening to the great breakfast (NEVER seen a pancake machine before!) to the helpful maintenance man who carried our luggage out to our car this hotel was the best!

We stayed 4 nights and had a clean, quiet room. The front desk people always spoke to us on our way in or out and the maids were very helpful with special requests. Although we never used the pool or hot-tub both were sparkling clean and looked inviting.

Room Tip: I think any of the rooms would be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    61
    6
    0
    2
See reviews for
71
74
16
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

At the end of a long day driving down the Central California Coast/Big Sur we stayed in Atascadero and found this to be a very well maintained property with good staff. The city itself has a fascinating history going back 100 years and one of the first planned cities on the West Coast. It had the first rotogravure printing press west of Chicago!

Room Tip: We asked for a "quiet room" and got one on the back side, away from the freeway. Recommend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grove City, PA
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Still like this hotel, very clean, good staff and good complimentary breakfast each morning. It is just off the 101 and in the area there are lots of great wineries. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting this area. Very comfortable rooms, we had a larger room this trip with a little wet bar area with coffee maker and microwave + small frig.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and the breakfast was more than we expected. We asked for the name of a cab company. Price was high for a short ride. The drivers didn't know where we were going to. Atascadero is not too big of a town.

Room Tip: We had the king suite. The bed and pillows were very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solvang
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Hotel was very quiet even with two high school baseball teams staying while I was there. Breakfast is typical of hotels these days. Nice wine and beer reception in the afternoons. I think the hotel is a little pricey for the rural area; but this was true of many of the hotels in the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

When I made the reservation I was told that the only thing they had was two queens but there would probably be a king room available when I checked in. At check-in I asked and was told there were several kings but I couldn't have one. Why not? Because my room was booked as part of a wedding party room block and the front desk couldn't change rooms there were part of room blocks. Why not? "Policy". Who can make the change? "Only the sales department and they aren't here on weekends".

So here we are, in a room with two queens that would be much more likely for them to rent while kings are available and we can't have one.

The hotel is OK. Standard Holiday Inn Express level, clean but nothing special. It sure would have been better to have a king room.

Room Tip: The odd numbered rooms are on the side away from the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Atascadero, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Halems,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your review is vital for improving the service and quality we offer to our valued guest. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize for the inconvenience the bed type you received may have caused. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge or give points for improvement. We hope to get the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future. Thank you once again for your valuable comment, and if you might have any suggestions that will contribute to enhancing your stay, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We arrived quite late after a long trip down the very curvy and hilly Hwy 1 along the California coast, and found that, in error, we had reserved for the next day! That was quickly corrected, and we were given a beautiful room on the first floor, as requested. Highway noise was completely blocked out, and the furniture and fixtures are a cut above the usual HIE decor.

The next morning, we slept late to take advantage of the 9:30 closing time for breakfast. To our surprise, there was almost no food left, and certain items (milk and bananas) were completely missing. I went to the front desk and the manager was called. He explained the lack of milk and bananas and immediately got the server, who brought in cups plain yogurt, cups of beautiful fresh fruit, and hot cinnamon rolls. In the end, the breakfast was actually better than the usual selection, and my sister, who has various food allergies, was able to have a wonderful breakfast. During this trip, she has become sold on Holiday Inn Express for the comfortable beds, but now is beginning to appreciate the breakfast as well!

So, thanks to the manager and staff, who solved our little hiccups with no fuss and made us feel that this is one of the best Holiday Inn Express locations we have found. It's a bit inland, but if you are traveling either the 101 or the 1 along the California central coast, we recommend it highly.

Room Tip: We like the first floor, and being right on the freeway is absolutely no problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Atascadero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Atascadero

Address: 9010 West Front Road, Atascadero, CA 93422
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Atascadero
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Atascadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Atascadero 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Atascadero Enjoy a comfortable stay at the newly-built Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Atascadero. The hotel is located just 20 miles from the San Luis Obispo Airport and ten miles from the California coastal beaches. Your family is sure to enjoy lodging in Atascadero, California where our central coast hotel provides convenient access to several nearby attractions including Charles Paddock Zoo, Vineyard Drive Wineries, the Ravine Waterpark, Atascadero Lake and Pozo Saloon, known for their outdoor concerts. Other sights and activities include beautiful hiking trails at Morro Bay State Park as well as the ancient Morro Rock located along the California shoreline, which is one of the most photographed places in California. Business and leisure travelers alike enjoy all the comforts of home and office at this hotel in Atascadero, California. Relax in our heated outdoor pool and whirlpool, break a sweat in the Fitness Center or stay connected with our complimentary wired and wireless Internet access and Business Center, complete with copying and faxing services. Our Central Coast hotel also offers the delicious, complimentary Express Start hot breakfast bar every morning, which features our exclusive cinnamon rolls. Start planning your California vacation or business trip now at our Atascadero hotel with boutique flare and great value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Atascadero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Atascadero
Holiday Inn Express Atascadero
Holiday Inn Atascadero
Atascadero Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Atascadero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.