We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place was great but the manager was bad!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Atascadero

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Atascadero to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Atascadero
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9010 West Front Road, Atascadero, CA 93422   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Atascadero
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The place was great but the manager was bad!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

The place was great, beds comfy room decent size everything we have come to expect from a Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. Sadly we needed to leave early due to a family medical emergency and were told by the manager that we will be charged for the room unless they were able to rent it. They were not sure it could be rented because there were other people who were on the list before us! Even that wasn't so bad but it was how he handled himself in telling us. Very disappointed in that experience! If your going to stay here whatever you do DON"T have a family medical emergency!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica F, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Atascadero, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Mrs. Priore,

Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites of Atascadero. I am glad to hear that you found the property and it's amenities to be great but am sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with management and the policies for early departure. Though I know it can be difficult for management to enforce non-cancellable reservations, we prefer to do so in a manner in which does not upset our guests. We also must be fair to all our other guests who try to cancel outside the cancellation policy which is why we start a list to try and re-rent rooms as a courtesy. This is different from many other hotels who simply say it cannot be cancelled therefore your deposit will be non-refundable. At the time your request to cancel a non-cancellable reservation came in, we had two other bookings with illness related issues and one with transportation issues. It is imperative that we remain fair to those guests as well, whose requests for us to break policy came in prior to yours. I am however very happy that we were able to re-rent your room so you were not charged for the second night, and we were able to contact you several hours earlier than we said we would to give you the good news. I hope to have a chance to welcoming you back in the near future. Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    57
    6
    0
    2
See reviews for
69
70
14
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

This was a nice hotel in a small town. Location not perfect but freeway access was extremely easy. Breakfast is typical Holiday Inn but is it still breakfast. Overall, we were happy with the hotel, thought the value was there for the price we paid. If I'm in town again I would still consider this hotel one of my top choices...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prescott,arizona
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We spent 2 nights here in September and were quite impressed. Facility is attractive, rooms large and comfortably furnished, room and bathroom spotless, bed very comfortable and quiet. Staff was courteous and friendly; breakfast good. Decent location and good restaurant nearby.
Would return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This is a new, well run Holiday Inn Express in Atascadero. The landscaping is beautiful and inviting, with many beds of flowers and roses in the front.

We found an excellent staff, and received an efficient, detailed check-in from the very polite front desk staff.

Our king suite was large with upscale decor, and was clean and bright. In addition to the refrigerator and microwave, it also featured a sofa, and three soft sitting chairs as well as a desk and chair.

Free wine and beer was offered in the dining area in the evening.

We will most definitely stay again at this Holiday Inn Express, one of the finest we have visited on our trips over the years.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

The hotel is nice & clean, everyone was great. It was a fantastic place to stay & we'll definitely be back! It's a great place to stay when you're wine tasting! Very convenient location & a great breakfast.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atascadero, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Everything was very new, clean and well maintained. The rooms and lobby were pleasantly decorated and very comfortable. The TV was high-quality and had a great selection of channels to watch, including movie channels. The staff was very friendly and helpful with information on the area including restaurant recommendations. A free breakfast was a nice plus. This hotel is conveniently located near Hwy 101, yet the room was quiet. We would definitely stay here again on our way through the San Luis Obispo/Atascadero/Paso Robles area. It is located about half way between SLO and Paso... close to 100's of wineries :-)

Room Tip: A room on the back side of the hotel (away from Hwy 101) was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by this gem! This hotel is spotless with large, well decorated rooms and lobby. The linens & complimentary bath products in the rooms were high quality. They offer a huge selection of breakfast items included in your stay. The staff was friendly & informative. This is obviously a well-managed business geared toward guest satisfaction. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Atascadero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Atascadero

Address: 9010 West Front Road, Atascadero, CA 93422
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Atascadero
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Atascadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Atascadero 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Atascadero Enjoy a comfortable stay at the newly-built Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Atascadero. The hotel is located just 20 miles from the San Luis Obispo Airport and ten miles from the California coastal beaches. Your family is sure to enjoy lodging in Atascadero, California where our central coast hotel provides convenient access to several nearby attractions including Charles Paddock Zoo, Vineyard Drive Wineries, the Ravine Waterpark, Atascadero Lake and Pozo Saloon, known for their outdoor concerts. Other sights and activities include beautiful hiking trails at Morro Bay State Park as well as the ancient Morro Rock located along the California shoreline, which is one of the most photographed places in California. Business and leisure travelers alike enjoy all the comforts of home and office at this hotel in Atascadero, California. Relax in our heated outdoor pool and whirlpool, break a sweat in the Fitness Center or stay connected with our complimentary wired and wireless Internet access and Business Center, complete with copying and faxing services. Our Central Coast hotel also offers the delicious, complimentary Express Start hot breakfast bar every morning, which features our exclusive cinnamon rolls. Start planning your California vacation or business trip now at our Atascadero hotel with boutique flare and great value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Atascadero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Atascadero
Holiday Inn Express Atascadero
Holiday Inn Atascadero
Atascadero Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Atascadero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.