We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Atascadero” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Atascadero

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
IHG Expedia.com
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Atascadero
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9010 West Front Road, Atascadero, CA 93422   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 25%
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Atascadero
1 review
“Best place to stay in Atascadero”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by this gem! This hotel is spotless with large, well decorated rooms and lobby. The linens & complimentary bath products in the rooms were high quality. They offer a huge selection of breakfast items included in your stay. The staff was friendly & informative. This is obviously a well-managed business geared toward guest satisfaction. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    136
    52
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
58
66
14
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo, ca
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

My girlfriend and I took a quick and much needed get away. Everything was wonderful. Great staff, clean room, really, really comfy beds, heated pool. Rates were reasonable, complimentary beer and wine tasting. We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Request ground floor room, they have high ceilings!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This hotel appears as though it is new. Rooms are very nice with excellent staff. Breakfast bar is a very good selection. Think it is standard for all H.I. Express. Only complaint was the sound of the doors closing can be heard in the rooms

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenmore, Washington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I was on my way from Heart Castle to Las Vegas, so I looked for a hotel to stay. Hotels by the coast were too expensive. This one is not. I like the hotel because of its value. The staff was very nice and trying to help. But I don't like the feeling of the town where the hotel located. Maybe I went to the wrong area when trying to find a gas station.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destiny J, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Atascadero, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Anne B. ,
I assure you that Atascadero is a safe city to stay and visit , in fact SLO county itself on a whole is known for being a very desirable place to raise a family or retire for that very reason.
We hope that you got some great photos of the view from Hearst Castle , and that you got lucky in Vegas !
Thank You for taking a moment to compliment our hotel staff , it's guests like yourself that help us continue to improve our customer service.
Sincerely,
Destiny Jacobs
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Booked last minute and stayed for one night. Was not disappointed - spacious room, well-decorated and friendly staff. They provide nice hot breakfast in the morning, which makes it more convenient for a family planning to leave in the morning and drive for quite some time. Overall, a very nice place to stay in a convenient location if you are on your way to the Morro Bay area. Definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lompoc, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We booked this room based on other reviews we found on Tripadvisor. And as usual it panned out! Our only reason for this little get away was to find warm temperatures and an inviting pool. We found both here. The temps were in the 80s which is actually on the cool side for Atascadero at this time of the year and the pool was lovely. There was a nice little local wine and beer tasting from 4 to 6 pm on Thursday and apparently they have that on Tuesday as well. The breakfast was a pleasant surprise because it included scrambled eggs and breakfast meat. Sausage one day and bacon the next. There was also a pancake machine! These little things to top off the usual yogurt, bagels, muffins and cereal both hot and cold. The room was on the larger side with a window that you could open for fresh air. Wifi was free which was not the case at the last few places we stayed so that was refreshing also. The staff was just terrific and extremely friendly and welcoming. Oh yes and lets not forget the warm cookies in the lobby in the afternoon and the cucumber infused water and iced tea available in the lobby though out the day. It's all the little touches that make this place special. A bit pricey but everything in the area has increased in recent years. If I were to do another escape I would make it on week days the price increased by $100 for Friday night and I'm sure that would hold true for a Saturday night stay as well. Even though the hotel was full both nights it was very quiet.

Room Tip: I always book the top floor away from stairs or elevators. That really helps with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Only here 1 night but really enjoyed it. Liked the free wine and beer tasting, and the staff was very courteous and outgoing. The room was a very good size, and the bed was very comfortable. I would definitely stay here again! Great value.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destiny J, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Atascadero, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Hi There Chuck F ~
Thank You for your compliments about our staff; I will be showing off this brand - new review to them today!
We are also happy to hear you experienced and enjoyed our reception. In case you forgot....the wine was from Ancient Peaks Winery and the beer from Firestone Walker brewery, they are both some of the area's finest purveyors ( in our humble opinion ).
Please come and visit next time you travel back to California, the entire team at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Atascadero will be here to welcome you back.
Enjoy the rest of your Summer,
Destiny Jacobs & Team HIE-Atascadero
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Atascadero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Atascadero

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Atascadero
Holiday Inn Express Atascadero
Holiday Inn Atascadero
Atascadero Holiday Inn
Address: 9010 West Front Road, Atascadero, CA 93422
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Atascadero
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Atascadero
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Atascadero 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Atascadero Enjoy a comfortable stay at the newly-built Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Atascadero. The hotel is located just 20 miles from the San Luis Obispo Airport and ten miles from the California coastal beaches. Your family is sure to enjoy lodging in Atascadero, California where our central coast hotel provides convenient access to several nearby attractions including Charles Paddock Zoo, Vineyard Drive Wineries, the Ravine Waterpark, Atascadero Lake and Pozo Saloon, known for their outdoor concerts. Other sights and activities include beautiful hiking trails at Morro Bay State Park as well as the ancient Morro Rock located along the California shoreline, which is one of the most photographed places in California. Business and leisure travelers alike enjoy all the comforts of home and office at this hotel in Atascadero, California. Relax in our heated outdoor pool and whirlpool, break a sweat in the Fitness Center or stay connected with our complimentary wired and wireless Internet access and Business Center, complete with copying and faxing services. Our Central Coast hotel also offers the delicious, complimentary Express Start hot breakfast bar every morning, which features our exclusive cinnamon rolls. Start planning your California vacation or business trip now at our Atascadero hotel with boutique flare and great value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Atascadero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Atascadero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Atascadero to your Saves list