We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feel Like a Kid Again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DOC Burnstein's Ice Cream Lab

DOC Burnstein's Ice Cream Lab
114 W Branch St, Arroyo Grande, CA 93420
805-474-4068
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $3 - $7
Cuisines: Dessert
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dessert
Central California, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Feel Like a Kid Again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

From the moment I stepped inside Doc Burnstein's I was transported back to my childhood. The excitement of picking out the most fantastic treat imaginable - fresh home made ice cream, in so many different flavors it's almost overwhelming. Not only that, but being able to peek through a window, and watch it being made makes the experience even more enjoyable. You have to put all thoughts of "dieting" aside - you go to Doc Burnsteins to eat ice cream - unbelievably delicious, full of sugar, fat and REAL cream ice cream! An absolute treat, you won't soon forget. Because it's a hand-crafted product, using high quality ingredients, in a fun-filled atmosphere, you can expect to pay a bit more, but it's worth it. I also appreciate the fact that they're a community-conscious business, and support schools, blood drives, and events that benefit kids. Yay, for Doc Burnsteins!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    21
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arroyo Grande, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best in lower 48!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We think the Doc's quality, selection and atmosphere/ambiance are truly the best ever and may surpass the styles and flavors of Hawaiian Isles, too. JJH

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to get home made Ice Cream, and Nice Little Shoppe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

If you like Ice Cream then when in town "must" go and try Doc Burnstein's, They have usually have over 25 flavors available, and change up for some of the seasons, during the holiday's they also have bottled Egg Nog which is also fantastic. The price will be a bit more then the normal Ice Cream shoppes, but well worth it, and nice large portions. We will usually go have Pizza at Klondike Pizza,. than walk across the street and get Ice Cream to top it off, perfect fit !!! Nice place to take the kids and they can watch ice cream being made, or watch the large scale train that circles the top of the shop, great place for a child's B-Day party. For adults, a great place to go to get and taste ice cream like they use to make it back in the 60's and 70's at the local Ice Cream shop, which now seems to be a lost art.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great Birthday Destination”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

What a fun place! The choices are almost overwhelming, and the ice cream comes in huge, delicious servings. The kids loved the arrival of the model train in the back room where we ate. It comes by just often enough to be fun, but not so often that it gets annoying. Great that they also serve sorbet, for those who need to be dairy-free.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arroyo Grande, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A bit of heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Even on cold days there is a line at Docs. It is hard to restrain yourself here and have yogurt or low calorie stuff. This ice cream is sooooo good with a variety of flavors, many of which are recommended by local people. Always something new to try like Motor oil and Monarch chip! The owner is a great supporter of everything in the community. Not to be missed.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DocBurnstein, Public Relations Manager at DOC Burnstein's Ice Cream Lab, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you Mariposa67! We're so glad you have a great ice cream experience at Doc's. We always strive to do our very best to add a little something special to your day.

Please stop in again soon, we are raffling off a giant teddy bear for Christmas and we have lots of holiday flavors for you to try.

Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed DOC Burnstein's Ice Cream Lab also viewed

Arroyo Grande, San Luis Obispo County
Arroyo Grande, San Luis Obispo County
 
Arroyo Grande, San Luis Obispo County
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to DOC Burnstein's Ice Cream Lab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DOC Burnstein's Ice Cream Lab, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.