We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Wonderful Place to Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Abella Garden Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Abella Garden Inn to your Saves list
Abella Garden Inn
210 Oak St, Arroyo Grande, CA 93420   |  
Hotel amenities
Taft, Calif
1 review
“What a Wonderful Place to Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2009

Thank you Gina for a wonderful time at your Bed & Breakfast. You were an Awsome Hostess. We had never stayed at a Bed & Breakfast before and what a GREAT Experience we had. You made our "25th Wedding Anniversay" very memorable.
Since we come to the area often we will be back to say Hi. I hope those that read this will come and stay. Thanks Again - The Laytons

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    8
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
5
65
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2009

So my husband and I went here for our 13th wedding anniversary not knowing what to expect. We've never been to a B&B before.
~ Gina is a fantastic hostess. She is warm & friendly. She even called us because she was concerned about us on the way down Friday night, thats before she had even met us.
When we arrived she greeted us with hugs and instructions on how to enter & exit. Led us to our room and then after telling us about local restaurants she promptly left so we could be alone.
We found great places within walking distance.. a fantastic ice cream pallor called Doc Burtons.
The off season specials are awesome, such a bargain. Because we paid 1/2 price for one night the spa tub in our room was filled only 1 of the 2 nights. All explained in the booking rules so nothing was lost there. We also served ourselves one morning which is fine with me... maybe others who have been to other B&B's expect to be waited on hand & foot but we were happy with breakfast being prepared for us.

We will definitely be back again! Wonderful place if you need to stay in San Luis Obispo/ Pismo Beach area. Never knew where Arroyo Grande was but now I do!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2009

The Abella Gardens Inn B&B is a unique gem, just like the proprietor, Gina. The Inn and the rooms are immaculate and very elegant yet comfortable. Each individual room has its own theme and character offering something for everyone. Since the Inn is tucked away it has a very private and serene atmosphere while being quite convenient. The dollar value is unmatchable in the geographic area.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

A truly unique experience in a beautiful and serene location.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

Abella Garden Inn B&B is all about the marvelously unique hostess, Gina. Pick up the book "Italian Without Words" from SLO's Kwirkworld before your stay and there will be no culture shock or language barrier. The place is wonderful, like being at gramma's house. The ultimate experience of hospitality and coziness. After check-out we hung around in the beautiful gardens. We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2009

My new bride and I chose to spend our wedding weekend at Abella Garden Inn. Both of us have lived a long time on the Central Coast but had never heard of the place. We gave it a shot and found it the most surprising and charming place we've ever stayed at. Our room (the Callalily Suite) was luxurious, to say the least; with a fireplace, spa and a wonderful view overlooking the garden.

Gina, the innkeeper, really goes above and beyond in her hospitality: I have met very few people who are more hardworking and genuine in their work. She welcomes you in, tells amazing stories and really treats you like more than an honored guest: she treats you like family.

The tea party we had was excellent. There were several beautiful places we could have enjoyed our tea both inside and out in the garden or on the gazebo, but since we had a guest list of 20 people, we opted to sit in the tea room. The scones were marvelous, as was the rest of the food she served. The tea selection was grand. It was a fun time, and Gina went above and beyond to turn it from just a tea party to a true experience.

I couldn't recommend Abella Garden Inn enough. The fact that it's so unknown on the Central Coast is a great disservice to the Central Coast.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2009

My wife and I happened to stumble on this place over Memorial Day weekend and were pleasantly surprised. We were treated with a beautiful room with an extremely comfortable bed, gorgeous scenic flower gardens out front, a wonderful and down-to-earth hostess, and a delicious full course breakfast, all for a very reasonable price! Unbeatable for the area. We most certainly plan on going back.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Abella Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abella Garden Inn

Address: 210 Oak St, Arroyo Grande, CA 93420
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Arroyo Grande
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Arroyo Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic Inn only 2 miles to Pismo Beach and 15 minutes south of San Luis Obispo; luscious gardens. Select suites feature in-room spa and fireplace. Now available as Vacation Rental (sleeps up to 27), Intimate Weddings, and Tea Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Abella Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abella Garden Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.