We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home & Heart for our Family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abella Garden Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Abella Garden Inn to your Saves list
Abella Garden Inn
210 Oak St, Arroyo Grande, CA 93420   |  
Hotel amenities
Inglewood, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Home & Heart for our Family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Gratzi Gina!

Thank you for opening up your home for our family the weekend of our Wedding.

We wanted to fill your walls with the love of our family for this special occasion and that is exactly what we accomplished.

Thank you also for busting a move with my father in law at our wedding on the dance floor. That was HI-larious to see him cut loose like that, it was a first.

Our family truly loved you.

Thank you again.

Love always,
Tiffani & Stan

Room Tip: The Calla Lily Suite was my favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    8
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
5
65
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

We rented the Abella Garden Inn for the long Memorial weekend. Our suite was elegant, spacious, and immaculate. The bed was extremely comfortable and the down blanket kept us warm and sleepy all night. The bathroom was spotless and the kitchen was stocked with snacks and teas. Gina made us feel right at home the moment we arrived, made sure we got everything we needed, and then completely left us alone for the entire weekend. Needless to say, we had a very relaxing, peaceful, and intimate experience. What made our stay truly unforgettable was meeting Gina, if only briefly, and being blessed with her sparkling sense of humor, fearless energy, and loving spirit. Thank you Gina for your gift. Hope to see you again soon!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oaks Watsonville
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

We enjoyed the area surrounding the Inn with wine tasting, beaches, and scenic drives, all nearby. The garden is lovely and the 2-story home is pleasant. Gina, the Innkeeper, is a feisty little Italian lady who makes you feel like visiting family!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abella_Garden, Owner at Abella Garden Inn, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
I don't know what to say anymore to customers such as this one who reserved a $249 room at $149 per night under my Vacation Rental category which included a self-serve continental breakfast, one set of towels, and no daily room service. If you folks want "full service" then don't reserve a package that saves you $200!!!!! It's not possible to have it all!!! So how can you grade me low on service and value when you chose to get little service for such an unheard of savings/value???!!!! I've tried to figure you folks out for over 23 years and my conclusion after all that time is to STOP TRYING TO FIGURE YOU OUT, ha, ha, ha!!! I enjoy my customers and I have had many appreciative and thankful guests in my presence; guests who demand very little and appreciate every little thing they see I go out of my way to provide and do for them!! As for the rest, we live in an imperfect world with imperfect people and that is simply a reality of life. I am blessed to have love in my heart for all human beings and nothing can take that away from me, not even a review that is not honest.

My love to all, Gina
Your little Italian Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here in early October, 2011. We stayed in the "Apricot Blossom" room and it was nice. A spacious, clean room.
We stayed under a special offer of 2 nights, with no room cleaning, or towel service. No traditional "B&B type breakfast either, but the kitchen filled with all kinds of goodies for us to eat at OUR leisure. What a deal! Just remember to bring cash for this deal.
To be honest, the inn is next to the highway, and we thought we chose a bad place to stay as we pulled into the driveway. But when we were shown our room, a retaining wall just outside our window blocked out 90% of the traffic noise. We were really surprised at how quiet it was. For you sensitive sleepers, you might bring some earplugs. But really, noise was not an issue. (I am a flight attendant, so I think I'm a pretty good judge at noise levels in hotel rooms).
You can pay a little extra for have the in-room hot tub filled, but we did not. There is just too much to see and do around the Arroyo Grande-Pismo Beach area, to spend time in the bathtub.
The best part of our stay was meeting the remarkable innkeeper, "Gina". What a doll!
If you want to remain anonymous, then go stay at a Hilton. If you don't care to actually meet people on your journey, then don't come here. If "things" like a view, or designer shampoo are more important to you than the "experience", this place isn't for you.
But if you want to have a memorable, genuine, heart-to-heart experience, and aren't afraid to actually interact with "strangers" and become friends, then go see Gina and her guests at Abella Garden Inn. She will make you feel like part of her family.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

The accommodations were outstanding, the hospitality great and Gina kept us laughing and made us feel right at home. We hope to go back many times and would like to spend some time in their beautiful garden.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

While the room was quite nice and perfectly comfortable, the "breakfast" part of Bed and Breakfast was very disappointing! Leftovers, help yourself, outdated yogurt and had to call Innkeeper to set up coffee which she had neglected to do. Dirty dishes left in the sink and on the counter for a couple of days.

Room Tip: Rooms at front of house would be very noisy. It is right on a major road which has lots of traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abella_Garden, Owner at Abella Garden Inn, responded to this review, October 5, 2011
I ran into an Italian man not long ago and I spent several hours talking to him. I have never forgotten what he told me: "get rid of everything in your life that upsets you"! I used to have a package that offered 2 nights at regular price and 3rd night free. That package SPECIFICALLY SPELLED OUT what was and was not included. The person who wrote this review reserved that package. It included a self-serve continental breakfast. I left them a main dish that was not supposed to be included, a gift of love from me, and you notice that it got thrown in my face and labeled "leftovers"! In the 23 years I've owned this Inn, I have seen over and over that the more I give, the more people EXPECT and almost DEMAND!!!! It is because of customers such as this one that I took the Italian man's advice to get rid of things that upset me and deleted that package!!!

I'm a passionate Italian; a "real" person who loves my guests as if they were my own family!!! I have always given way too much of myself, food, room upgrades, decorations to honor marriages and birthdays (all at no extra charge) and it's sad to see how many people are oblivious not only to all the "extras" I give but also to the genuine human love and bond I extend to them!!

I offered a warm breakfast for about 20 years. It really was more like a brunch with 3 or 4 main dishes, coffee cakes, nut breads, etc. and all homemade by me! I remember watching people go back two or three times to fill their dishes. I remember that many times they would help themselves to the food in the fridge and have their lunch and dinner on me as well; oh the stories I could tell you....

Today, this is the statement that appears on my website and that I send to every customer who makes a reservation.

STOP: The owner of this beautiful Inn does not live onsite. She will not be there in the morning to serve you and you may not see her again once she has checked you in and hugged you, squeezed you, goofed around with you, helped you with dinner and any other questions you may have; she will simply disappear!! In other words, you will have the entire property to yourself with no other staff around! If this is not what you are looking for, please go elsewhere with my love!!! Ciao, Gina

I have had to drop the Bed and Breakfast from my name and am now Abella Garden Inn. NOTHING has changed at the Inn except dropping those words. I still provide a self-serve continental breakfast and many times I still make the main dishes and coffee cakes but I don't advertise it with "bed and breakfast."

TO THE THOUSANDS OF GUESTS WHO HAVE BEEN LOVING AND LOYAL TO ME FOR SO MANY YEARS I SIMPLY SAY THANK YOU AND I LOVE YOU!!! TO CUSTOMERS SUCH AS THIS ONE I SAY I LOVE YOU TOO AND PLEASE GO ELSEWHERE NEXT TIME!

GINA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We have stayed at the Abella Gardens a couple of times now and it has been great both times. The owner/manager, Gina, is a giant ball of energy wrapped in a tiny little package. She is hilarious and super outgoing. You are made to feel like long lost family upon the first meeting with Gina.

The rooms are super clean and comfortable as is the rest of the inn. I noticed a few reviews mentioning the proximity of the freeway but we haven't really had any issue with that. I sleep really well while there.

The inn itself is worth returning for but we return to visit Gina!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abella Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abella Garden Inn

Address: 210 Oak St, Arroyo Grande, CA 93420
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Arroyo Grande
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Arroyo Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic Inn only 2 miles to Pismo Beach and 15 minutes south of San Luis Obispo; luscious gardens. Select suites feature in-room spa and fireplace. Now available as Vacation Rental (sleeps up to 27), Intimate Weddings, and Tea Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Abella Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abella Garden Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.