We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gina, our hostess, anticipated our every need” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abella Garden Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Abella Garden Inn to your Saves list
Abella Garden Inn
210 Oak St, Arroyo Grande, CA 93420   |  
Hotel amenities
Simi Valley
2 reviews
“Gina, our hostess, anticipated our every need”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

This trip was our wedding anniversary. Gina, our hostess, anticipated our every need. From romantics CD's for the in room CD player, to making sure the in-room spa was filled and heated before our late night arrival, from having a library of videos ready before we knew we wanted a cozy night in ... to letting us know about guest discounts to local restaurants. Her handmade egg torte was delicious and there were always chocolates in the kitchen. The two other couples were people of depth of character and great for conversations and one pair were all the way from England. Nothing was too much trouble for Gina. People from all around town know about her high tea from word of mouth and are regular patrons. The breakfast was self-serve from the fridge in the kitchen, which was well stocked for a filling breakfast. Our room had a cozy fireplace and the decor surrounded you with Old World charm everywhere from the guest suites to the dinning room to the living room. The garden is peaceful and tranquil, beautiful for a moment's rest. A two day weekend seemed too short. We could have spent a week there an not explored everything.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    8
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
5
65
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

The Abella Garden Inn is an absolute "Must-do"!!! We stayed at the Inn a few weeks ago and absolutely loved it. The experience first started with our interaction with Gina during the booking process. She was so warm, personable and accommodating, we were convinced that the visit would be a memorable one. I can't say enough about how lovingly decorated and maintained the Inn is. Gina's personality fills the place with sheer loveliness. The grounds are lush and the rooms are adorable. No detail was spared. We are sure to make the Inn a regular get-away. I highly recommend it to anyone looking for a classic B&B with unending charm and modern finesse. We'll certainly be back!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2011

Stayed over Valentine's Day weekend 2011. The Abella just oozes with charm, elegance, and romance. The Calalilly Suite was was simply perfect. Superb amenities: champagne, in-suite spa, couples massages! Innkeeper Gina (all 4'-9 1/4" of her) was a pure joy to meet ... so much love, life, and happiness! Couldn't have picked a better destination for our 16th Annivesary.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

What a wonderful time we had and we want to thank you from the bottom of our hearts for the personalized, charming, delightful experience we had with you and at the Abella Inn. We love it... and get this your pictures you took of of turned out better than our own photogragher from our own wedding day. We love you!!!! Your are such a fantastic person and thank you again from Steve and Suzanne on giving us the best 2nd year anniversary anyone could have. Gina, the owner, renewed our vows for us and arranged the whole day for us... she was fantastic!!!
We can say without a doubt we have been to alot of B&B's but Abella Inn is the best overall perfection we have ever experienced. We love it and will continue to be regular customers!!!! Go Gina Go!!!



Thanks,

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

Been to B&B's before and this one if very well cared for and comfortable. Feels very safe and warm, like being at grandma's house. It is very clean and the beds were comfortable. The gardens were beautiful and the hostess was super sweet , food was great, etc. Only negative I could point out is it is very close to the 101 so if you are a light sleeper, you may have a problem with this. Also,the other guests were nice but the night we were there they enjoyed the gardens and adult beverages until late into the night/morning. Doesn't mean the same type of people will be there if you visit though, so I still highly recommend the ammenities.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bethesda, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2010

Gina, the owner of Abella, is a gregarious multi-talented Italian woman who embodies the warmth and caring reminiscent of the generations of people whose heritage she shares by opening her house and arms to all who come to stay at Abella. Everything is coordinated perfectly in color, pattern, and comfort. Gina prepares the perfect breakfast for her guests and leaves the food in the kitchen ready for consumption the following morning. No detail is left unnoticed. To spend time at Abella with Gina as your hostess is like traveling in time to a land where every detail works in sync with every other detail in a composition that provides the guest with leisurely time to see the environs of Arroyo Grande and return to a home away from home at the end of the day.
Adele De Marco/ Andy Maguire

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banning, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

beautiful garden, very clean. Owner does not live on property. Breakfast in refrigerator, not served, across from freeway, noisy.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abella_Garden, Owner at Abella Garden Inn, responded to this review, August 25, 2010
My dear friend,

After 21 years of meeting thousands of wonderful people, I've learned that I simply cannot please everyone no matter how accommodating I try to be!!! It sounds as though your reservation was in the middle of the week. Mid-week reservations offer a nice rate reduction and offer my guests the opportunity to have me serve their breakfast at 9:30 or they may help themselves to breakfast that I make in advance at whatever time they wish. My guests love the fact that I allow them to "take over the Inn" and make themselves at home, but evidently you did not like that. Sounds like we must have had bad communication, and I thank you for taking time from your busy day to write a review none the less.

My love to you , Gina
Your little Italian Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arroyo Grande
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Casa Grande Inn
BEST WESTERN Casa Grande Inn
#2 of 4 in Arroyo Grande
4.0 of 5 stars 657 reviews
4.0 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#7 of 28 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 768 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Arroyo Grande
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach
Oxford Suites Pismo Beach
#12 of 28 in Pismo Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 727 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#4 of 28 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 808 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Pismo Beach
Hilton Garden Inn Pismo Beach
#10 of 28 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abella Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abella Garden Inn

Address: 210 Oak St, Arroyo Grande, CA 93420
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Arroyo Grande
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Arroyo Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic Inn only 2 miles to Pismo Beach and 15 minutes south of San Luis Obispo; luscious gardens. Select suites feature in-room spa and fireplace. Now available as Vacation Rental (sleeps up to 27), Intimate Weddings, and Tea Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Abella Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abella Garden Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.