We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to hang out and unwind” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rooster Creek Tavern

Rooster Creek Tavern
200 East Branch Street, Arroyo Grande, CA 93420
805-489-2509
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 68 Restaurants in Arroyo Grande
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Arroyo Grande, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great place to hang out and unwind”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This very new restaurant in the Village of Arroyo Grande has had great success. They serve up some great food with some new twists on the ordinary. Patio seating is wonderful for people watching and our local Rooster watching. Stop in for a bite to eat or cocktails later in the evening. Casual & laid back.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    55
    21
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Great food and service, nice selection of beer and wine, but wine was too pricey at 10 bucks a glass.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
Top Contributor
267 reviews 267 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Great Lunch while in Wine Country”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We had lunch at the Rooster creek Tavern while on a wine tasting trip in San Louis Obispo. The setting is great right on the main street with lot's of local flavor and action. The menu is attractive and the food is quite good. The service was great with everyone being very friendly. We sat outside where they do have adjustable awnings for sun control which we very much appreciated.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arroyo grande, ca
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Predictable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Outdoor patio dining with a window on the passings of the traffic in the AG Village. Stone pizza oven produces good pizza. The rest of the dining is good, but not spectacular. Sports bar inside is a good place to sit and have an adult beverage with friends. Overall it is a good place to go and have a casual meal at reasonable prices

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Looks better than it tastes”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We were in town for the strawberry festival and decided to try out this place out because it looked very inviting from the outside. We sat down and the waiter asked for our drink orders. We ordered 2 beers which were very expensive. I got a hanger 24 summer ale which was $6.50 and I thought that was a lot to charge for a pint of beer. When we were ready to order we had to flag down the waitress because she was too busy socializing with employees than checking up on her customers. We looked at the menu and decided to order the nachos for an appetizer because it looked good. When we got it I have to admit that the portion was HUGE but it didn't taste nowhere as good as it looked. Also the nachos were kind of dry so we asked for salsa which came in a tiny cup and they charged us .50 for and it. For dinner we ordered a pizza and an oak grilled chicken breast and both were pretty bland. All in all I just had higher expectations for this restaurant and it wasn't very good. Based on other reviews it seems like it's a hit or miss and I definitely missed on this trip.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rooster Creek Tavern also viewed

Arroyo Grande, San Luis Obispo County
Arroyo Grande, San Luis Obispo County
 
Arroyo Grande, San Luis Obispo County
Arroyo Grande, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Rooster Creek Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rooster Creek Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.