We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Dining Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rooster Creek Tavern

Rooster Creek Tavern
200 East Branch Street, Arroyo Grande, CA 93420
805-489-2509
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 68 Restaurants in Arroyo Grande
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Goleta
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Pleasant Dining Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We had a nice meal here last Saturday. Our first time eating there. The service was excellent. The food prompt, hot, and tasty. An odd thing is that there is no indication on the menu that they have soup, but they do. I had a Lemony spinach soup that was very good. I also like that although called a tavern and very sports bar like atmosphere they had many very healthy and upscale choices for dinner. Not just burgers and ribs and fried things. I had sea bass, he had paella. I recommend this, but it does get crowded.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    49
    19
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Missouri
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Been Twice, Would come back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I went here twice, Once in February and Once in March for St. Pattie's day.

I have to say I was a little irritated with the bartender my first visit; she was continuously serving booze to a very loud, obviously intoxicated individual.

On St. Patties day (second visit) all the other places in town were packed, so a friend and I came looking for drinks and a bite to eat. The service was friendly and the food was excellent. I was disappointed in my mixed drink. While it was quite good, the size vs. price was not appealing to me and I wouldn't order one again. This place makes a good place to go on occasion, but for the price I would have to say quality precedes quantity when you're getting anything. It's a nice hang out for ambiance next to the park and swinging bridge, definitely a classy place to go. I recommend.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Better on our 2nd visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We gave Rooster Creek a second try because we so badly wanted to like this restaurant in Old Town Arroyo Grande. We sat in the bar and enjoyed the festive atmosphere. The salmon salad was quite good and the house wine was a good price. The food was much better the second visit and so was the service.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arroyo Grande, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“good place to eat in Arroyo Grande”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I really enjoyed the atmosphere of this place. The patio outside is a treat when the weather is good. The food is very good but I felt their prices were a bit high. A better bet is to go for lunch or happy hour unless you have a special occasion to celebrate and you don't mind spending more dough than usual. It can be hard to have a intimate dinner as it can get pretty loud at times but that wouldn't stop me from returning.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Food and Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by the Rooster Creek Tavern on a recent trip to the area. Lively atmosphere, great food, and good beer on tap. I highly recommend the Gorgonzola, Pear and Arugula pizza with the Scalpin IPA. The Chicken Wrap with Red Peppers is also delicious according to my better half. Prices are very fair.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rooster Creek Tavern also viewed

Arroyo Grande, San Luis Obispo County
Arroyo Grande, San Luis Obispo County
 
Arroyo Grande, San Luis Obispo County
Arroyo Grande, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Rooster Creek Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rooster Creek Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.