We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great outdoor patio and draft beer selection” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rooster Creek Tavern

Rooster Creek Tavern
200 East Branch Street, Arroyo Grande, CA 93420
805-489-2509
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 68 Restaurants in Arroyo Grande
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
San Luis Obispo, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great outdoor patio and draft beer selection”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The bacon sandwich is always good, but many other items have been inconsistent or poor. We needed a place like this in the Village, but we have been disappointed many times. We've eaten there at least 15 times and sometimes an entree is good and next time not so good. I'm overall disappointed in it and seldom choose it now.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    49
    19
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Rooster Creek lays a egg”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

A second - and last - visit to what should be a great addition to downtown AG. Both times, the young people staffing the reception desk were attractive but clueless about how to manage a dining room. Although we made a reservation, we were told we'd have to wait 15-20 min - looking at empty tables. Food was slow to arrive. Appetizer of korean short ribs were way more bone than meat; fries were warm and soggy. Oh well.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder City, Nevada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Patio Dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

What a wonderful place to spend the evening! The patio is charming and welcomed our 90 lb wolf-hybrid who behaved like a lady. The snapper chowder was delicious, we could have made an entire meal of that but opted for the steak with tasty mashed potatoes and fresh broccoli. I could not finish mine and brought enough home for lunch for us (plus the dog) the next day. Love this little town and the delightful eateries. Rooster Creek is at the top of my list.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grover Beach, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Place to Preen Your Feathers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Located at the east end of Arroyo Grande Village, Rooster Creek Tavern is the newest and best restaurant to hit this area. Very clean facility that has a very good selection of wines and beers. On tap and in bottles. Seasonal menu changes which offers a variety of different seafood, chicken, rib, ad steak choices. If one of those dishes does not grab you, there is always the pizzas with several different toppings that are not available at your local pizza joint. My favorite is the Ahi Sandwich with a great Wasabi dressing. Have not had a bad meal or service in the times I have visited. Also has multiple HD tvs for watching your favorite sports teams with MLB,NBA, and NFL packages for viewing, along with Happy Hour discounts on food and drink along with a patio area to relax and enjoy the day.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arroyo Grande, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Packed house...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

But great, attentive service. These guys know how to do restaurant. It's a welcome business in the Arroyo Grande Village. Definitely worth the visit.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rooster Creek Tavern also viewed

Arroyo Grande, San Luis Obispo County
Arroyo Grande, San Luis Obispo County
 
Arroyo Grande, San Luis Obispo County
Arroyo Grande, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Rooster Creek Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rooster Creek Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.