We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Wines” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Laetitia Vineyard and Winery

Laetitia Vineyard and Winery
453 Laetitia Vineyard Drive, Arroyo Grande, CA 93420
805-481-1772
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Thousand Oaks, California
Top Contributor
285 reviews 285 reviews
159 attraction reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
307 helpful votes 307 helpful votes
“Fantastic Wines”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stopped in here, it was on the highway on our trip home. Many years ago I visited when it was called Maison Deutz. Still a classy place with not one bad wine. They have many varieties, whites, reds, sparkling, etc. Unlike other wineries with great wines, they don't charge as much as the others. The staff is very knowledgeable about their wines. We even got to see them crushing some grapes for the cuvee. They have a nice tasting room, many food and trinket items you can buy as gifts and of course, wine. We liked it so much, joined their wine club. Every Saturday from 1-4 they have live music and you are encouraged to come out and have a picnic. Great place.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    11
    5
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Loved the bubbles!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Enjoyed a comprehensive tour and tasting of their array of bubbles. Laetitia has been making sparkling wine for 30 years and it is outstanding! They make 7 types of sparkling wine, only 2 of which are widely distributed. It's best to stock up while at the winery. Got to tour the facility which was better preparing for harvest. The Coquard Presses aren't just decorative they are still used to press the juice from the grapes. They are the only ones still in use in North America. Pinot Noir grapes were ripening on the vine awaiting harvest - a beautiful time to visit.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
56 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Always busy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I've been stopping at Laetitia to taste for over two decades, and it's always busy. It's safer to stop there when you're driving northbound on US 101, since crossing from the southbound side can be hairy unless your car has excellent acceleration.

They serve a wide variety of wines, including several pinot noirs, my favorite varietal by far. The $10.00 tasting fee is waived with a one bottle purchase. Their Reserve and Whole Cluster bottlings were very good this visit.

Over the years I have found the service spotty; but the geezers are always the friendliest and the most efficient. At 67, I'm a geezer myself, with a thought to work part time at a winery tasting room when I retire in a year or two. Bob served me this visit. He’s a geezer, too. We had a nice chat while I tasted and he served a few other folks, and checked customers out. While I was there, I observed that Bob did more pouring and more selling than the two young kids who were working the tasting bar that day. Maybe that’s why so many tasting rooms hire geezers—we show up every time, not hung over, and work hard.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arroyo Grande, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Winery & Tasting Room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is a nice little tasting room, off the 101 freeway, in Arroyo Grande, CA. They make world class Pinot Noir here in our climate that suits it to a tee! They also make some darn great Champagne. If you can time your visit at 'crush' time, you may witness a grape crushing, that is amazing to watch. Also, if you make prior arrangements the Estate House on top of their vineyard is BEYOND ~ you can rent it out and stay the weekend! Super Cool!!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Fun wine tasting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Amazing property, great servers, excellent wine tasting menu, fun activity, not too expensive either.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Laetitia Vineyard and Winery also viewed

Arroyo Grande, San Luis Obispo County
Arroyo Grande, San Luis Obispo County
 
Arroyo Grande, San Luis Obispo County
Arroyo Grande, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Laetitia Vineyard and Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laetitia Vineyard and Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.