We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some of the bad reviews sound bogus” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Arroyo Village Inn

Arroyo Village Inn
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Arroyo Village Inn to your Saves list
Arroyo Village Inn
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   500 Traffic Way, Arroyo Grande, CA 93420-3357   |  
Hotel amenities
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Some of the bad reviews sound bogus”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

After staying here with my family on Dec. 31, I think some of the scathing reviews may have been written by competitors. For example, the review claiming the motel is a haven for "men with prostitutes" sounds especially bogus. Granted, this is a budget motel and not fancy by any stretch, but our two rooms were clean and relatively quiet and spacious. The outside of the hotel looked to be newly painted, the parking lot was recently repaved and the manager was nice and helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms farthest from the freeway were relatively quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    3
    4
    1
    7
See reviews for
5
4
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I wonder why is this a 2 star? It should have a 0.5 star or zero star, Horrible experience, you don't want to go there with your family, didn't feel safe. Anyways, we checked in and we found the room was very small with one small double bed (we requested queen). The bathroom was very small. The lighting is dim in the room. The chairs were so dirty and dusty that I felt like keeping them outside atleast for the night to help us breathe better. The furniture looked very old and worn, as if picked from nearest garage sale for 5$ each. Overall, I would not stay there again, even for free. Beware online buyers, you pay more than their listed price if you buy through expedia or priceline. Don't ruin your vacation, its a $30 room but they rip you off for nothing. Not worth it....don't ruin your family vacation, I terribly regret it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Really don't understand all the bad reviews about this place - our stay was very nice, room was of a good size, location is just off the freeway. There is nothing so special about the place, but good for 1 night stay. There are couple of good restaurants nearby as well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arroyo Grande, California, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

most horrible place i have ever stayed. i had my 2 year old son with me and the manager complained that he was too loud and i needed to keep him under control when he wasnt making any noise. The manager also was going in my room more than 3x per day when i would leave and come back. He also walked in my room and bathroom while i was in the shower i had to yell at him to get out he really freaked me out! especially as a woman staying there! and the day i was checkin out he banged on the two doors next to me and my door and yelled through the window to get out. Very uncomfortable living situation. It smelled horrible and there was one portable fan and one portable heater. the fridge worked the microwave was gross and the wall in the closet was rotting and was cracking and falling apart where the floor was supposed to meet with the wall. the dresser drawer had a lot of graffiti and profanity and the lights had no coverings just bulbs. There is a dead bolt lock that doesnt even work and you can only lock the door from the inside. I could hear the people in the rooms next to me and when they were in the bathrooms. There was no phone, no clock, the carpets were disgusting. The sheets were not changed one time while i was there, no house keeping. dirty, gross, i would have rather slept in my car!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012 via mobile

If your after a cheap place to stay then this is one place to try, otherwise drive on by.
It's right on a junction so you will need a set of ear plugs if your a light sleeper.
The owner is quite helpful.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

Place was clean Price was good and staff were friendly and helpful

Room Tip: Rooms on the eastside are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011 via mobile

We usually go there every time we want to go to the lake but this time it's was horrible! When we got there men were entering rooms with prostitutes. All the rooms were filled with men and prostitutes. The rooms were dirty and gross! The service is horrible and the people who run the from desk are never even there so u can't get help. I wouldn't recommend anyone to go there!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Arroyo Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arroyo Village Inn

Address: 500 Traffic Way, Arroyo Grande, CA 93420-3357
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Arroyo Grande
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Arroyo Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Arroyo Village Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Arroyo Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arroyo Village Hotel Arroyo Grande

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arroyo Village Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.