We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible stay at lake Lopez” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Lopez Lake Recreation Area

Lopez Lake Recreation Area
Lopez Drive, Arroyo Grande, CA 93420
805-489-1122
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Camping, Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A picturesque camping, hiking and outdoor recreation area.
Lompoc
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Terrible stay at lake Lopez”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My family and I camped at bandtail with our 5th wheel. The spot and location were perfect, the other campers not so much and made for a terrible stay. One spot played prince, the other mariachi, and the third old school music all day and night. It would not have been so bad if the bass wasn't turned up and of course these were individuals I did not want to confront. I had visions of waking up finally after falling asleep to slashed tires. Second night I had enough and had to drive down to the rangers station twice. Finally they shut up around 12. The rangers nor camp hosts have control over these types of guests whom are totally disrespectful to other campers. I endured music, loud cursing, and drunk people for 2 days. The last day we made it a point to leave super early and take a long time hooking up making as much noise as possible and we weren't the only family who did the same thing. Some people ruin it for everyone. I have a feeling that these campers will drive families and other respectful campers to look at more peaceful and serene environments.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    19
    7
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Morro Bay, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“fun”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Lopez can be a fun lake. Gotta watch out for the wind though. Nice alternative if you don't want to drive to Naciemento or San Antonio.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caruthers
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“So Relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Almost every year we stay at Lake Lopez campground. We try to arrange our visit during their off season for peace and quiet. We were not disappointed this year. There were only four other camp sites being used in our area (Quail). However, the day before we left it began filling up.
It's easy to make reservations and the staff is very friendly and helpful.
We love the camp ground for it's wild life: Turkeys, squirrell, deer, and occasionally skunk. There are also many varieties of birds. The camp sites are clean and almost all of them have fire rings. The rest rooms are also well maintained.
Across from Quail there is a nice play ground area and up the road a piece are the water slides.
The lake is a beautiful site. I've heard the fishing can be quite rewarding.
Look forward to our visit next year.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great place to hike, bike, fish and relax.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Come up here as often as possible. Easy drive from LA. Great campsites, bathrooms with showers (must have with the wife and four daughters) and well stocked general store. Great area with fun, beautiful hikes and bike rides and animals everywhere. Deer, turkeys, woodpeckers and squirrels right in the campsite. Awesome spot. Great little town 15 minutes away with everything you need at stores like Walmart and trader joes. Also a small, old town strip with antique stores, ice cream shop and a great burger joint.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnold, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fun weekend get together.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

This was the location for a group of friends from all over Ca. to meet. We stayed the weekend of 3/ 15,16,17 / 2013. Nice campgrounds, friendly Rangers. We stayed in a group area with limited amenities. We had tent campers and RVers. We stayed in Sycamore camp right next to the lake. Being off season we had the place pretty much to ourselves. There are water slides nearby so I could imagine the place filling up during the summer.
Saw deer and turkeys, lots of other birds. Rented a patio boat for a couple hours. Biked on the trails.
My only complaint is that the campground does not have a dump station. There are camp sites with full hook ups, however the group site does not. So we had to find other arrangements outside the campground to manage waste.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lopez Lake Recreation Area also viewed

Arroyo Grande, San Luis Obispo County
Arroyo Grande, San Luis Obispo County
 
Arroyo Grande, San Luis Obispo County
Avila Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Lopez Lake Recreation Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lopez Lake Recreation Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.