We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Usual: Fairly Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Arroyo Grande

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Arroyo Grande to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hampton Inn & Suites Arroyo Grande
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1400 W Branch St, Arroyo Grande, CA 93420   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%
Huntington Beach, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“The Usual: Fairly Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Hampton Inn is consistent. It is reasonable, comfortable, and has terrible bagels and good oatmeal. The staff is typically courteous and quite warm. Although it is adjacent to a major highway, noise did not seem to be a problem. Compared to some other hotels in the area, this seems quite good.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    114
    75
    24
    12
    3
See reviews for
88
63
14
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pleasanton, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

The Hampton Inn in Arroyo Grande Calif.is a great hotel and is priced very well.
It is close to Cal Poly and wineries and restaurants.
The room are well maintained and clean. The breakfast is great with many choices, including waffles, hot dish, cereal and oatmeal plus a breakfast sandwich.
The location is a little difficult to find, but did not hear freeway noise as stated by others.
The only problem was a dog barking early in the morning.
I would recommend this hotel if in the San Luis Obispo area and would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights last week. Had our dog with us - this is one of the only hotels we've seen that doesn't charge extra for pets. Very clean rooms, comfortable beds, good service and free breakfast. Great location as long as your room is not near the 101. WiFi was great. Our dog growled a bit at night hearing noises from rooms above or next door, but overall we all slept well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsburg, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here 1 night. Staff was excellent, very friendly & helpful. Pool and spa were clean and a nice perk. Hampton's breakfasts are all pretty much the same, and this hotel didn't disappoint. We had a room with 2 queens. It was pretty tight compared to other hotels that we've stayed at. The room was clean. Overall, a nice place.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for the first time during Oct'13 with my husband. The hotel was very clean and nice. It was the best hotel for the price and I was very satisfied with the complimentary breakfast.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

My husband I stayed here while on a long road trip. The outside of the hotel is a much nicer design than most Hampton's, but the rooms, eh. They have high ceilings, which I think often creates loud rooms that echo. This was apparent in that we could hear everything from the room next door. We had a nice view of the sunset from our room, minus the bird poop covered window. The location was very convenient though, and the lady who checked us in was so very nice. We really enjoyed speaking with her. If I could base the hotel on their employees alone, it would be a 5!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Since we usually really appreciate the good value and comfort Hampton Inns provides, to say the least we were VERY disappointed in this experience.
We didn't know that the Hampton Inn brand was a franchise?? Since they are under the Hilton moniker we incorrectly assumed they were all company owned.
Myriad problems here!! Given a phone quote for one price, email confirmation quoted another. Called to have this corrected, they said no problem, this would be corrected upon checkout (should have known better). Of course, higher rates upon checkout, told it was no problem and would be corrected, but needed the "manager" (who evidently works limited hours) was not there to make corrections. Got home, still a problem. Suffice it to say, took 2 weeks and several calls to get this matter resolved.....and with never an apology. Blamed the credit card company procedures (WHAT??).
The service at this location (besides the accounting problems) was average at best, and far below the standards of any other of the 15 or so Hamptons we have tried. The free breakfast was sparse, and again always have enjoyed other locations much better.
Inattention to details in cleaning the rooms. Bath mats left on the floor, towels not replenished, dust prevalent.
This is a newer location, so the bedding was excellent. One bright spot.
So many better choices in this area. This was a business trip, so will be telling the other 55,000 employees in our organization where NOT to stay.
Would certainly recommend Hamptons at other locations.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Arroyo Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Arroyo Grande

Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Arroyo Grande
Hampton Inn & Suites Arroyo Grande Hotel Arroyo Grande
Hampton Inn & Suites Arroyo Grande Hotel
Address: 1400 W Branch St, Arroyo Grande, CA 93420
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Arroyo Grande
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Arroyo Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Arroyo Grande 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Arroyo Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Arroyo Grande, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.