We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Two Day Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Casitas of Arroyo Grande

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Casitas of Arroyo Grande to your Saves list
The Casitas of Arroyo Grande
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2655 Lopez Drive, Arroyo Grande, CA 93420   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Superb Two Day Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We stayed here for two nights on our way from LA to San Jose. Everything was absolutely perfect. We elected to eat some cheese and crackers in the room, and Tony brought us plates and napkins. All of the details were taken care of. We enjoyed the bocci ball court, too. Pat suggested a day hike nearby that was exactly what we were looking for. The room was very romantic and the breakfast was fantastic. We are thinking of going back next year for a longer stay so that we can do more hikes and visit the wineries.

Room Tip: The Sonrisa room has great views and is very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
110
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southern California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

A group of 7 women and myself had the pleasure of The Casitas at Arroyo Grande experience this past fall. I use the word "experience" intentionally because unlike many other inns, this place is way more than just a stay at a bed and breakfast. From the moment we arrived, actually way before that when deciding where to stay, and I spoke with Pat & Tony (our gracious) hosts, I knew I had found a gem. Well, even I was surprised just how amazing our 4-day stay would be. We were greeted with a beautiful, bountiful fondue & wine spread and the rest of our "experience", if you can imagine, just got better and better. My travel companions raved constantly over the views, the casitas, breakfast, the service, and the beautiful surroundings tastefully decorated with unique art work and antiques. (I'll share some pics.) I have stayed in some of the highest-rated inns in the country and abroad and I have to say, this was the best overall experience I have had at a "bnb". These people really know what they're doing and I would recommend everyone stay here and try very hard to make it more than one night. You'll be very happy you did. I have had experience planning and facilitating all kinds of special events including weddings and I would absolutely suggest The Casitas at AG for a small, intimate gathering or for something larger such as a wedding. Also, if you're still deciding where to go for a few days and the Arroyo Grande area is just an option at this point, stop searching and go!! There's so much to do in the area. Just ask Pat & Tony. I personally would recommend you take a day-trip to Los Olivos as well. We did, and found it to be a highlight of our trip. Worth the 40-minute drive for sure.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

Just 3 hours from LA. Pat and Tony are wonderful hosts and they have thought of everything. The breakfasts are spectacular. The restaurant suggestions were right on. Lovely veiws and quiet breakfast on the patio

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
92 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

While traveling from LA to San Francisco I was looking for something around Pismo Beach. What a great find. If I didn't live in North Carolina I would come here for a weekend getaway. We stayed in the Maniposa with its wonderful patio and spacious room. The patio was so nice we went to a local fish restaurant, the cracked crab, got some wonderful salads and ate outside watching the moon come up. We love to travel to Italy and this is so much like that. Breakfast was delivered to our room around 8:30 with coffee showing up around 8. wonderful! I can't stress enough how amazingly relaxing our stay was. We will come back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington,Massachusetts
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

This is a very special place. We decided to stay here to break up our trip from Big Sur to Santa Barbara, and we were blown away. The raving positive reviews on this site were a clue, but even so we were astonished by how wonderful the Casitas is. Tony and Pat were a wonderful host and hostess, our room (Mariposa) was wonderful, but beyond that we loved the site. We sat and relaxed for the morning at the beautiful pool with great views over vineyards. The grounds are lovingly and beautifully landscaped. The Casitas were a bit out of our way, but the detour was well worth it. And as a small bonus Arroyo Grande was a pleasant little town where we could get a good meal and have a nice walk. Make the effort to leave San Luis Obispo and the 101 corridor and stay here. It's well worth it!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

My husband and I went out to California for a long weekend get-away and we had the pleasure of staying at the Casitas for a couple nights. The hosts (Pat and Tony and their adorable, friendly dog, Kona) were extremely hospitable, gracious and warm. They were also helpful in letting us know about local sites and giving us directions. The private "little house" we stayed in was cozy and nicely decorated with a big comfortable bed. The view from The Casitas is beautiful. And if that wasn't enough, the breakfast they brought into our room both mornings was incredible! Everything about our stay was absolutely lovely.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim Hills, California
Level Contributor
126 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We ended our anniversary road trip with a revisit to The Casitas. We first discovered this bed & breakfast from an article in Sunset Magazine. Arroyo Grande is basically halfway between San Francisco and LA so it was perfect place to stop on the way home. We stayed in the Mariposa cottage. It has its own patio overlooking the valley, a wood burning fireplace, a decent sized bathroom a king bed and even a flat screen tv satellite service. The owners are a delight and the husband fixes a tasty and complete breakfast that changes each morning. At night the stars are beautiful. The property has a pool and lovely walking areas. Arroyo Grande itself did not seem like a place to visit other than as a stop up or down the coast. San Luis Obispo is close with a larger selection of restaurants. The Casitas is a serene place to unwind and relax. The only downside is the cost for a B & B. Our room that we like was $219 weekday and $249 weekend.

Room Tip: Mariposa is a great room but we have not seen the others. Weekday is cheaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arroyo Grande
4.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Casa Grande Inn
BEST WESTERN Casa Grande Inn
#2 of 4 in Arroyo Grande
4.0 of 5 stars 653 reviews
6.5 mi away
Cottage Inn by the Sea
Cottage Inn by the Sea
#7 of 28 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 765 reviews
6.1 mi away
Sandcastle Inn
Sandcastle Inn
#4 of 28 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Arroyo Grande
11.2 mi away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#1 of 31 in San Luis Obispo
4.5 of 5 stars 430 reviews
11.2 mi away
Avila La Fonda Hotel
Avila La Fonda Hotel
#1 of 5 in Avila Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Casitas of Arroyo Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Casitas of Arroyo Grande

Address: 2655 Lopez Drive, Arroyo Grande, CA 93420
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Arroyo Grande
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Arroyo Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Casitas of Arroyo Grande 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a 7 acre estate, The Casitas of Arroyo Grande B & B overlooks central coast vineyards and hillside. Located half way between Los Angeles and San Francisco, The Casitas are close to San Luis Obispo,Pismo Beach and other central coast landmarks. Guests can decide on wine tasting (over 15 wineries are within a 15 minute drive), a day at the beach or a trip to nearby Hearst Castle. Amenities The Casitas offer guests are an in room fireplace, private deck, HDTV, Bose radio with iPod connection, Ralph Lauren bedding and free WiFi just to name a few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Casitas of Arroyo Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Casitas Of Arroyo Grande Hotel Arroyo Grande

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Casitas of Arroyo Grande, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.