We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for relaxation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Casitas of Arroyo Grande

Save Saved
You added The Casitas of Arroyo Grande to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Casitas of Arroyo Grande
2655 Lopez Drive, Arroyo Grande, CA 93420   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great place for relaxation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We have stayed twice at the Casitas, once when the current owners had just opened it and again last fall. All of the rooms are spacious, extraordinarily comfortable, with private patios and views. The breakfasts are so large that they should serve you well through lunch, the food is well prepared, with a different hot selection every morning. Best of all, they are delivered to your room, with a large pot of coffee, so you can do breakfast at your pace. Unlike some rooms where the idea of breakfast in the room is better than the actual, here the rooms' size and appointments (a large table) makes for as leisurely start to the day as you want. While the casitas are not centrally located within a prominent wine area, we used it as a home base to explore a different wine area on each of 3 days. The town of Arroyo Grande is very small with minimal dining but the owners are full of ideas for different restaurants that are really a short drive away and also many right along the coast. We would arrive back at the casitas after a day of wine tasting, to rest and shower, and the drives to dinner were no problem at all. And saw some great sunsets, too, from the various dining places along the coast. This was our last stay in a two-week trip to CA wine country and after 2 weeks of rooms with various sizes......was wonderful to actually have a room in which we could spread out. The patio and valley view add to the feeling of spaciousness. The kiva fireplace is wonderful and because it seems to get pretty cool at night we even used it on days when we thought it would be too warm.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    113
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
91
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

The Casitas is not your average B & B, in fact it's more of a resort experience with room service gourmet breakfast included!

The view from each casita is beautiful and peaceful. The private patio is a wonderful place to start your day off with a cup of tasty coffee and end your day with a glass of wine.

The casita is spacious, well-appointed, and comfortable. The fireplace is set for you each evening which is just one example of the innkeepers' many personal touches to ensure their guests' comfort.

The breakfast: outstanding. From egg soufflé to challah french toast, it's just delicious! All dietary needs are easily accommodated.

This is such a great getaway and we found that two nights just aren't enough! Now when we return, it's always for a 3 night minimum. You won't be disappointed!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

This was a wonderful place to stay. Each unit is separate organized around a wonderful courtyard. Breakfast. Is brought to you in the unit or on you private patio. Too cool to use the pool but it was also in a great setting. I would stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

I recently spent three very restful days in the Cielo Casita while recovering from surgery. Words can't express the enchantment of this lovely captivating Inn. If you are looking for serenity, treat yourself to a stay in the Cielo Casita (bungalow.) The view is fabulous. Cielo provides uttermost in privacy with all the comforts of home. There is a gas fireplace in the living room as well as a sofa, refrigerator and large screen TV. Not to mention the most comfortable bed you will ever sleep in.

Outside there is a large furnished patio for relaxing, dining or just enjoying the view. Breakfast is provided each morning and if weather permits, I recommend dining on the patio. What more can you ask for?

You may be lucky enough to see the little rabbit and resident cat exploring the gardens and you will be tempted to steal their adorable little dog Kona.

The Innkeepers are welcoming and both of them go out of their way to be helpful. The only thing that could have perhaps made my stay more pleasant is George Clooney.

I can't wait to return to this charming Inn for another sojourn. If you want to escape the stress of your job THIS IS THE PLACE.

Room Tip: Cielo Casita is the largest, most secluded and provides the best view. Pay a little extra for the so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

A fabulous, upscale B & B. We were looking for a place to celebrate our wedding anniversary and had heard great things about the Casitas from friends. It exceeded our high expectations in every way. The room was spacious but felt surprisingly cozy, with its fireplace and lovely furnishings. A great bed, with sheets that were so soft that we immediately ordered some from Pat and Tony. We were enveloped by the serenity. A breakfast was brought to our room, made with special care by Tony. Pat and Tony are charming hosts who will give you as much space as you need and as much help as you want. They have the most irresistible dog, Kona, who makes it even harder to leave. It was a truly memorable anniversary and we look forward to returning.

Room Tip: We recommend Mariposa, a large room with a gorgeous view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach Californina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

We are reluctant to submit this since everyone will want to stay here but we must share how terrific The Casitas are. Tony and Pat are gracious and incredibly hardworking hosts. The service and food are fantastic. The location is also very scenic and convenient to SLO and Arroyo Grande. We will be returning! (If we can get a reservation!)

Room Tip: I refuse to say since everyone will then book our favorite Casita! All the Casitas are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

I cannot give enough praise to Pat & Tony for what they've done with this B&B. From the moment my girlfriend and I walked in the door, we felt warm and welcome. After an exhausting day of wine-tasting and feasting (ha!), it was icing on the cake to be able to settle into such an amazing room. We stayed in the Sarchi room, which I believe is at the bottom of the price scale, so I can't even imagine what the other rooms are like. The wood-burning fireplace, bed that envelopes you in a warm embrace and beautiful Spanish-tiled bathroom were just a few things that tickled our fancy. Oh, and did I mention the coffee and delicious french toast awaiting us on our porch with a beautiful view when we woke? Also, the BACON. Oh, the bacon. I'm gushing now, but one last thing... Their adorable dog, Kona, just sealed the deal for me. What a sweetheart!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Casitas of Arroyo Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Casitas of Arroyo Grande

Address: 2655 Lopez Drive, Arroyo Grande, CA 93420
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Arroyo Grande
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Arroyo Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a 7 acre estate, The Casitas of Arroyo Grande B & B overlooks central coast vineyards and hillside. Located half way between Los Angeles and San Francisco, The Casitas are close to San Luis Obispo,Pismo Beach and other central coast landmarks. Guests can decide on wine tasting (over 15 wineries are within a 15 minute drive), a day at the beach or a trip to nearby Hearst Castle. Amenities The Casitas offer guests are an in room fireplace, private deck, HDTV, Bose radio with iPod connection, Ralph Lauren bedding and free WiFi just to name a few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your The Casitas of Arroyo Grande reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Casitas Of Arroyo Grande Hotel Arroyo Grande

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Casitas of Arroyo Grande, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.