We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arnold Black Bear Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arnold
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Arnold Black Bear Inn
Save
You added Arnold Black Bear Inn to your Saves list
1343 Oak Circle, PO Box 109, Arnold, CA 95223   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Arnold B&B and Inns
Los Altos
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Outstanding again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We celebrated a birthday at the Inn with 5 couples. Wendi and Bruce went way beyond in making sure our time was special. The Inn is impeccably kept, the grounds beautiful and the warmth of our hosts a true treasure. Besides the most wonderful breakfasts, and lovely wine/cheese on the patio, Bruce made us a birthday dinner on Sat. night that rivaled any 5 star restaurant. It was so good, we 5 couples have booked for this time next year. I can't say enough good about it.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely, each with a door to the outside common areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
225
8
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Davis, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

WE live in a wonderful retirement community, but once a month, we like to escape to B & B within 2 to 3 hours drive from Davis, CA. As we love to explore different locals, it is rare for us to stay at a B & B where we have stayed before. This place is well worth a second visit. The rooms and common areas are excellent and the breakfast are amazingly tasty and artfully presented. Of the 40 B & Bs we have stayed, this in the top 3.

Room Tip: WE stayed in the Calaveras room which is ADA equipped and ideal for Seniors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

With B & B experiences there's great and then there's extraordinarily incredible. Irrefutably, the latter is what you have at the Arnold Black Bear Inn.

To use a fitting, but yet simple metaphor, “You never get a second chance to make a first impression.” With that said, the moment we arrived at the exquisite grounds – the stunning, rustic structure nestled neatly within perfectly manicured lawns and tall evergreens – the first thought that ran through my head was, “she is really going to love this place.”

This was my second stay at Bruce and Wendi’s little paradise in the mountains; the first, a special weekend with our daughter, and this trip, a planned indulgence with my beautiful wife of 20 years, who, in some respects, was anxious to see for herself what dad and little missy had been bragging about for months.

Well, she was in awe alright. During our entire stay all I heard was, “this place is absolutely incredible.” As usual, the masters of innkeeping (as I like to call them), Bruce and Wendi Davison, attended to each infinitesimal detail and catered to our every need. From gourmet breakfasts each morning, to the spectacular wine and cheese tastings each afternoon, the couple, with perceptible pride and endless enthusiasm, treated us like royalty and made us feel incredibly special.

The bed, as anticipated, was extremely comfortable, and the soft pillow top for added luxury was like sleeping on a cloud. The room was charming with its wonderful decorations, and, needless to say, spotless throughout. With direct access from the French doors in our room leading to the patio, which also overlooks the beautiful grounds, I was able to sit outside and take care of a few business transactions on my laptop whilst simultaneously enjoying the gorgeous views.

All told, The Black Bear Inn is a magical little secret in Arnold, CA. We wholeheartedly appreciated the tranquility, culinary excellence, and overall exceptionality that were offered to us by Bruce and Wendi, and it goes without say that we highly recommend their inn to anyone seeking the same.

Spoil yourself, and take a trip to Arnold!

Room Tip: All rooms are unique and decorated beautifully. They can be viewed on the company website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Wendi and Bruce truly made me feel as if I were a guest in their home. They were warm, friendly, accommodating, and lovely to get to know.
The rooms were so comfortable, and super clean (a must for me when I travel). The grounds were serene, well kept, and beautiful.
I had never even heard of Arnold before my trip there, but now I can recommend it highly to others, with the caveat that they stay at the Arnold Black Bear Inn.
Just a few miles away is a super cute town called Murphys, which is a great way to spend the afternoon while you are in the area. (must eat at Mineral!! so amazing)
The other direction is Big Tree State Park, which has amazing redwoods to explore.
I wanted for nothing the weekend I stayed there, and that kind of care is what brings people back here again and again.
p.s. make sure you haul yourself out of your cozy bed in time for breakfast...yummers!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

A group of us rented out the inn for a weekend and it couldn't have been more perfect. Wendi and Bruce were gracious and their true care for their guests was palpable. They served us the most amazing breakfast - nut-encrusted french toast - keeping in mind some of our party were gluten-free [and made it all vegan most graciously]. They are truly kind, authentic people that want you to feel at ease and have a great time.

The beds were so comfortable and I woke up early to enjoy the crisp air and the walkway from the front sign to the inn door is perfect for walking (and cart-wheeling). There are small touches, like the little rock duck wading in the grass by the walkway and the black bear figurine holding a welcome sign, that delight and create a sense of warmth.

The great locale only adds to how awesome Black Bear Inn is - less than 10 minutes away from the Sequoias in Big Tree State Park and 10-15 minutes from the quaint town of Murphy (host of the amazing Mineral restaurant - try their juicy and crisp Mineral Burger! - and some great small shops).

I am definitely going back - 120%!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This was a wonderful weekend trip! My husband and I had the chance to relax in a beautiful location. There is hiking close by (something we love). Amazing wineries are not a far drive (Wendi and Bruce are a great resource for this!). And the food... wow, the food! Our breakfasts were not only amazing, but also beautiful. Easter dinner was made for us by Bruce- wow! The hot tub was also a delight! You will not regret staying here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

In anticipation of getting married at Black Bear Inn, my fiancee and I stayed overnight on Saturday March 30th. Having visited the property a couple of times previously, we knew we were in for a treat. We arrived Saturday afternoon and were warmly welcomed by Wendi and Bruce and shown to our beautiful room which just happens to be mere steps from the outdoor hot tub. The weather report indicated rain but it was a gorgeous sunny day so we took in some local sights. We returned to the Inn that afternoon to a delicious wine and cheese reception and chatted with some of the other guests. One couple were returning guests and make Black Bear Inn their relaxation destination about 3 times a year (this is now our plan too!!) After a fantastic night's sleep, we awoke to an Easter basket outside our door! It was a sweet, playful gesture that made us feel like kids again. We then sat down to an amazing breakfast...nut crusted French toast accompanied by thick, maple bacon and fresh fruit, coffee and juice...mmmmm. Everything at Black Bear Inn is done with love, care and attention to detail. You will feel refreshed, revitalized and ready to plan your next visit. The setting is breathtakingly beautiful and the atmosphere quiet and serene. We are so thankful for this romantic getaway, a chance to spend time together and finalize the details of our special day. I can't think of a better place to have chosen.

Room Tip: Decide if you'd rather be close to the hot tub or have a sweeping view of the meadows in front o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arnold Black Bear Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arnold Black Bear Inn

Address: 1343 Oak Circle, PO Box 109, Arnold, CA 95223
Location: United States > California > Arnold
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Arnold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Sequoias, amazing scenery and quiet surroundings. You can experience all this and more year round at the only Bed & Breakfast in Arnold, California. The Black Bear Inn is a 5,200 square foot timber frame constructed inn on 1.3 acres in a park-like setting. Our five guest rooms have private baths, king beds, fireplaces, radiant heating and cooling, satellite television. Included in the room rate is a full, gourmet breakfast in the morning, and custom cheese trays & local wines each evening. Custom dinners also available upon request - call for menu options and pricing. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Arnold Black Bear Hotel Arnold

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arnold Black Bear Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.