We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best inns ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arnold Black Bear Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arnold
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Arnold Black Bear Inn
Save
You added Arnold Black Bear Inn to your Saves list
1343 Oak Circle, PO Box 109, Arnold, CA 95223   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Arnold B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sunnyvale, Calif.
1 review
“One of the best inns ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Bruce & Wendi are the innkeepers of this splendid inn with lofty open beam ceilings, cozy rooms individually themed according to wine region, and a lovely yard perfect for weddings or vow renewals. Bruce, a certified chef, makes a killer signature nut encrusted french toast and gets his bacon at a special butcher shop that is over an hour away from town. I am thankful to be the consumer of this sweet bacon during breakfast.

I wish we had the chance to enjoy Bruce's cooking at dinnertime, but there is always next time. You will love coming here. It is a wow place with a capital W!
-Kathy L.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a whirlpool tub except for the Calaveras room, but that is the largest one with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
239
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

This is a very lovely and charming inn nestled in the woods. Owners Bruce and Wendi are so friendly and hospitable. The service is excellent and the food is superb! You will not be disappointed. This is a great place to relax and unwind. My husband and I highly recommend this inn!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

What an awesome place for some great food and relaxation. Bruce and Wendi are the most gracious hosts and the food is amazing. Wine and cheese in the early evening was wonderful. Sitting in the hot tub looking at the snow, need I say more. If you are looking for an unbelievable place to relax and have amazing food, this is the place to go. We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: All rooms are amazing,
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Wendi and Bruce are superb hosts, the place is beautiful and the breakfasts to die for. Wine and cheese in the afternoon was a wonderful touch. They spend a lot of energy on presentation and it shows. My best friend and I went for 4 days to get away from the stress of work and home and it couldn't have been better.
I highly recommend. We are hoping to get our group of 5 couples to spend a weekend in late spring.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Bruce & Wendi were spendid hosts. The accommodations were fantastic... Clean, cozy, amenities in perfect shape. Hot-tub was a plus that we took advantage of ever afternoon before evening wine & cheese :-) I mean, come one... that last sentence alone says it all, right? Breakfasts were lovely and wonderfully prepared by Chef Bruce :-)

Super quiet, wonderful, cozy rooms. Great big shower and tub in the bathrooms. The glass pitcher of cold water in the little frig was a nice touch that we were happy to have available to us.

You can tell that the Black Bear Inn is a labor of love. By far the best B&B I've ever stayed at. It's a gem in Arnold.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the front of the Inn (Okanagan?). Although it was farthest from the hottub, we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed here at the end of a road trip with another couple who highly recommended the Inn. This was their second stay. It will definitely not be our last. Bruce and Wendi greated us to the Inn as if it were their home (it is) and for the next three days it felt as if we were staying with very good friends. The location is perfect for getting away from the city, only a short drive from Sacramento. Arnold is only a few minutes away from the Calaveras Big Tree State Park. Recreational options we experienced in our three days were golf, shopping, spa and massage, hiking, and sight seeing. Our rooms were most comfortable and spacious, located only steps from the hot tub. The Jacuzzi bath and large shower were pleasant amenities. We loved the architecture of the great room and dining area which featured heavy timber post and beam construction with dowelled mortise and tenon joinery. Every evening we were served wine and cheese at a time selected by us. Bruce and Wendi prepared and personally served wonderful breakfasts each morning. Omlettes, blueberry pancakes, and Bruce's own french toast. All freshly prepared and beautifully plated. The highlight of our stay was four of us taking a cooking class from Bruce, prepping some of the ingredients for dinner and then having Bruce and Wendi prepare and serve us one of the very best 5 course meals we have had in a long time. We highly recommend this option and will, most certainly do it again. Another must is to stop in and meet Bill and Bobbette Budworth and their glass studio a few hundred feet from the Inn. The feature large and small scale stained glass art as well as small functional layered glass pieces. If you enjoy exceptional service, a delightful host and hostes, all the comforts of home in a peaceful beautiful setting, this is the place. We do not have a single suggestion for improvement.
We loved our stay in every way and highly recommend the Arnold Black Bear Inn.
Mike and Carolyn

Room Tip: Because of the possibility of a Bear visit, we had to decide whether we would follow Bruce's adv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I have lived in Arnold for 7 years and just found the most wonderful hidden treasure. I was looking for something special for my husband's birthday. I found out about Bruce and Wendi and my dreams came true. I worked with them to come up with a special menu of my husband's favorite dishes. They prepared a personalized menu, printed with the evening's gourmet dishes, a customized playlist of my husband's favorite music to dance to under the romantic, lovely, intimate candle lit patio. It was a fantastic meal, with an attentive attention to detail by Bruce and Wendi and an evening we will remember forever. We will be back to spend the night and enjoy a special hidden treasure in our own backyard.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arnold
1.7 mi away
Mountain Retreat Resort
9.9 mi away
Murphys Suites
Murphys Suites
#2 of 4 in Murphys
4.0 of 5 stars 138 reviews
16.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Cedar Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
The Robin's Nest
The Robin's Nest
#1 of 3 in San Andreas
5.0 of 5 stars 34 reviews
0.5 mi away
Timberline Lodge
Timberline Lodge
#2 of 2 in Arnold
4.0 of 5 stars 40 reviews
9.8 mi away
Murphys Inn Motel
Murphys Inn Motel
#1 of 4 in Murphys
4.5 of 5 stars 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arnold Black Bear Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arnold Black Bear Inn

Address: 1343 Oak Circle, PO Box 109, Arnold, CA 95223
Location: United States > California > Arnold
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Arnold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Sequoias, amazing scenery and quiet surroundings. You can experience all this and more year round at the only Bed & Breakfast in Arnold, California. The Black Bear Inn is a 5,200 square foot timber frame constructed inn on 1.3 acres in a park-like setting. Our five guest rooms have private baths, king beds, fireplaces, radiant heating and cooling, satellite television. Included in the room rate is a full, gourmet breakfast in the morning, and custom cheese trays & local wines each evening. Custom dinners also available upon request - call for menu options and pricing. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Arnold Black Bear Hotel Arnold

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arnold Black Bear Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.