We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food at reasonable prices” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arnold Chinese Restaurant

Arnold Chinese Restaurant
2182 Highway 4, Arnold, CA 95223
(209) 795-6368
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 17 Restaurants in Arnold
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Camp Connell, CA
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great food at reasonable prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We eat here regularly because the food is consistently good, the service quick and friendly, and the small town atmosphere.
I love the pot stickers, the cashew chicken and the shrimp dishes. The rise is always hot and we always have leftovers to take home.
The interior is pure "California Chinese," but it is clean and they will turn down the TV volume if you ask.
The War Won Tan soup is excellent.
Nothing fancy, but consistently good food at a reasonable price..

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    8
    2
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arnold, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Side of gross Knee surgery customer conversation”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We had just moved to Arnold area,we were tired and hungry and desided that the whole family would take a break and get a good sit down meal. When we first entered the building there where children seating people,and it was a little busy. After ordering from the menu which was either ala cart or a set plate,the soda was from a can which I found a little odd being the tables already had plates on them and the pricing was upper end,a man who was leaving started to converse about knee surgery he had done. Now it wasnt the fact that he was talking about his surgery it was the fact that our meal had come and we were trying to eat when he started to graphicly discribe his surgery and the process of draining puss off his knee. At first we thought he was leaving and we could handle it,but he kept going on and on until finally we asked the waitress and the owner to say something,the man just keep going on and on louder and louder,untill finally we said something to the man. He looked at us like we were outta order for saying something,and the waitress was like well he is a regular..Regular or not,other customers DO NOT WANT TO HEAR ABOUT PUSS COMING OUT OF YOUR KNEE while eating! One customer doesnt pay your bills,it is all customers..after saying something to the man in a full front on approach he got indignate and started to leave.We did try to finish our meal only because for 4 people it cost me 55.00! Really? I found it over priced,the owner did nothing to help the problem and the only one that apologized was the 6 year old kid who rung us up and took the money. There is a chinese restraunt in Angels Camp go there if your looking for chinese it is on the way up the hill. Bad service,high priced,and honestly I have had better tasting food.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, California
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
220 helpful votes 220 helpful votes
“Great food - Great prices!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We discovered the restaurant from a friend's recommendation a little over a year ago (although it has been in business for much longer). After our first experience with a take out meal, we have been back a number of times. The egg roll is exceptional and each of the regular dinner selections we tried have also been very good. We have always done take away, but there are always a number of customers dining in. A meal selection if not shared with others will easily provide a lunch the following day. In addition to the fine food, the meal selections are very inexpensive.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Vista, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Very good food in a very small town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Chinese food is easy to prepare and quick to serve, but it often comes out bland and uninteresting. The food here is quite better than average and they show that they care about making a good meal for their customers. We dine there often.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arnold Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Arnold Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arnold Chinese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.