We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A week of peace, quiet and most comfortable.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Retreat Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Mountain Retreat Resort to your Saves list
Mountain Retreat Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   936 Cypress Point Dr, Arnold, CA 95223   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 2 Save 25%
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arnold
San Jose, California
1 review
“A week of peace, quiet and most comfortable.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We wanted a week of peace and quiet before the Caledonian Club of San Francisco Scottish Gathering and Games in Pleasanton. Labor Day Week end. I'm the Chief and Games manager and have been inundated with calls and emails for the past month. Having most of the problems resolved I thought my wife and I need a weeks rest. I hadn't booked my week at the mountain Retreat Time share so I gave Kelly a call to see if anything was available. She accommodated us right away even at such short notice. So far the week has been fantastic. The staff couldn't be nicer especially the reception clerk Sheila. The condo is fantastic.clean.beautiful, well stocked with all the amenities. The upgrades to the pool and recreation area upstairs is gorgeous I just cannot say enough good things about everything. I just want say Thank you so much to everyone involved. George McCombe. San Jose. Ca.

Room Tip: Call Mountain Retreat in Arnold California first & foremost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTR A, General Manager at Mountain Retreat Resort, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Hi George M,
Thank you for reviewing your stay and experience with us at Mountain Retreat Resort. We're thrilled you had such a wonderful experience and we're so glad that we could accommodate you and your guests on such short notice. We appreciate your kind words regarding Kelly and Sheila and we'll be sure to share with them. We hope to welcome you back again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    20
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
42
24
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Our family of four stayed here from July 20-27th. Had a very spacious 2 bedroom 2 1/2 bath condo. In a great location across from the Sequoia Woods Country Club with many areas nearby for walking. The brand new clubhouse was very nice, but we ended up swimming in the pool across at the Country Club during the day a couple of times as it was a nice big outdoor pool. Had a well stocked kitchen with plenty of dishes, utensils and stainless steel cookware, too. One of the best stocked condo kitchens I have seen! Staff was very courteous and professional. Location was great to the nearby caves and Calavaras Big Trees State park. One note...for AT&T cell users, there is absolutely NO coverage in Arnold! Nearest signal would be in the town of Murphys about 14 miles away. However, Wi Fi was pretty good at the resort, so we managed for the week! Had a great stay and if the opportunity ever comes up in the future, we would stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTR A, General Manager at Mountain Retreat Resort, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Hi GHTfromHB,
Thank you for reviewing your stay at Mountain Retreat Resort. We're thrilled you and your family had a wonderful stay with us. We provide many accommodations to our guests that we feel will assist in making their trips enjoyable. It sounds like your family had a great time visiting some offsite locations during your visit. We hope the opportunity rises and that we will be inviting you and your family back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

So we stayed at this hotel about 3 1/2 years ago finding it out of no where and we absolutely fell in love with it. It was this little place with such a mountain cabin charm with a warm and inviting feel. It had little knick-knacks and fish on the walls and other really cool things you would only see in the mountains. We just visited it again and WHAT DID YOU DO??? I had heard that the main lobby area had a fire and they rebuilt but they most defiantly went in a different direction. The lobby now looks like a Courtyard Marriot and the furniture just does not belong in this setting. The staff is still fantastic and we had a great time but our little mountain getaway now just seems...corporate...The golf course at Sequoia Woods is still a wonderful place to play.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTR A, General Manager at Mountain Retreat Resort, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Hi BigWhiskeyWyoming,
Thank you for reviewing your stay at Mountain Retreat Resort. We're happy to hear you had a great stay, but understand you are not happy with our renovations. The room renovations were predicated on safety needs and the problems that come with 15 year old funiture. The current funiture is not permanent and we will be looking to replace it with a more rustic look in the coming years. We know our resort still has the same charm, it just looks a tad more modern. We hope this won't keep you from staying with us in the future. We'd love to have you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Mountain Resort is a beautiful resort which by it's location gives you access to both Lake Tahoe and Yosemite national park. After a day of nature hunting it was a pleasure spending time at the resort.The staff are all professional and that go out of their way to make you comfortable.They are proud to work for their facility and it shows. Staying at this resort is worth your time and attention.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTR A, General Manager at Mountain Retreat Resort, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Hi Firstcallrs,
We're thrilled to learn of your recent vacation with us at Mountain Retreat Resort. We're so glad you had such a wonderful time hunting and hanging out on the property. We hope you had a chance to check out Lake Tahoe and Yosemite National Park as well. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you and your guests back for another great stay in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamo, CA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I'm an owner here and we always enjoy our week. The area has much to offer. Golf, fishing, wine tasteing, hiking, winter sking, fine dining and much more. Murphy's is a can't miss, Arnold is cute and several other towns within an hour are worth exploring (especially Sonora).

The units are Mountain Retreat are set in about eight different buildings, They range from 2-4 units per building. All units are 2-3 levels. Think cabin and not condo. You really get the fell of a mountain cabin in these units. They are nice but slightly dated. Always clean and well stocked. The new clubhouse & office will open in June, 2013. The golf course next door is tight but very enjoyable. You can also use their pool and restaurant.

Room Tip: All the rooms are different but all are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTR A, General Manager at Mountain Retreat Resort, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Hi mfenley,
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Mountain Retreat Resort. It's great to hear how much fun you and your family had golfing, fishing, wine tasting, hiking, and exploring everything Arnold has to offer. We're excited about the updated clubhouse and office being completed soon. We hope to welcome you back again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamo, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

My family and I have been coming to Mountain Retreat once or twice a year for nearly four years. As soon as we walk through the door, we know that we are in our "home away from home". The condos have everything we need from a fully equipped kitchen to a large flat screen TV with DVD player. Our unit has 3 stories including a loft with a queen sized sofa bed. Each of the two bedrooms downstairs has its own bathroom and an outside door opening to a private deck. The middle level is light, open, and airy. The living room with a high cathedral ceiling, wood-burning fireplace, has double doors leading to the spacious balcony. Also on this level is the half bath and the kitchen which is open to the living area.

The staff here is incredibly helpful, friendly, and welcoming. They go out of their way to assure that guests have everything they need during their stay.

The location of Mt. Retreat is ideal. Calaveras Big Trees State Park is just a few minutes up Highway 4. Arnold has good restaurants and interesting shops. The charming little town of Murphys with its many wine tasting rooms, boutiques, and excellent restaurants is only a 20 minute drive from Mt. Retreat. The Sequoia Woods Restaurant just across the street from Mt. Retreat serves excellent food in their dining room which overlooks the golf course.

The recreation center is scheduled to re-open during the first few weeks of June, 2013. At that time, guests will be able to enjoy the heated indoor pool, the workout room with the latest equipment, and the lounge.

I highly recommend Mt. Retreat for those who want to enjoy a peaceful, relaxing vacation in the midst of the natural beauty of the California gold country.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suisse
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Mt. Retreat is a very well maintained property with 30+ timeshare condos with a superb staff able and qualified to address all your needs. The units are fully equipped so bring your toothbrush and a change of clothes and start enjoying. It will have soon(a matter of a week or so) a newly refurbished club house with indoor pool, sauna, entertainment center, rec room, etc for its guests to enjoy after spending the days exploring the environs. Within an hour of the complex, you will find boating, hiking, skiing, golfing options as well as an extensive array of top notch wineries and eateries. For the historically minded, the Gold Country abounds with multiple CA landmarks. If you prefer your adventures underground, there are even caves and caverns to be explored. South Shore Lake Tahoe is within easy reach for a nice day's diversion from the peace and quiet of Arnold, CA.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTR A, General Manager at Mountain Retreat Resort, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for your review of Mountain Retreat. We are always happy to hear from a guest who really enjoys and appreciates all the great things to do in the area. We too are excited for the clubhouse and all its' amenities to open which, we expect to be very soon. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountain Retreat Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Retreat Resort

Address: 936 Cypress Point Dr, Arnold, CA 95223
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Arnold
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arnold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mountain Retreat Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the quiet Sierra pines of Arnold, California in Calaveras County, Mountain Retreat is just three hours from Lake Tahoe, Yosemite and the San Francisco Bay Area. The suites are duplex-style, which give our guests ample space and privacy during their stay with us. A Convenience Fee will be applied to all reservations at check in. This fee will include Internet and parking along with all other resort amenities.Accessibility: Not all areas of our resort are Handicap Accessible. There are stairs leading to each suite as well as other areas on property. Mountain Retreat will be undergoing construction of a new Maintenance Building beginning August 1 2014 - December 1 2014. Noise should be expected during the hours of 8:00 a.M. - 5:00 P.M. Monday - Friday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Venere, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mountain Retreat Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Retreat Hotel Arnold

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Retreat Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.