We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice mountain getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Retreat Resort

Save Saved
You added Mountain Retreat Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mountain Retreat Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   936 Cypress Point Dr, Arnold, CA 95223   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Arnold
Alamo, CA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice mountain getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I'm an owner here and we always enjoy our week. The area has much to offer. Golf, fishing, wine tasteing, hiking, winter sking, fine dining and much more. Murphy's is a can't miss, Arnold is cute and several other towns within an hour are worth exploring (especially Sonora).

The units are Mountain Retreat are set in about eight different buildings, They range from 2-4 units per building. All units are 2-3 levels. Think cabin and not condo. You really get the fell of a mountain cabin in these units. They are nice but slightly dated. Always clean and well stocked. The new clubhouse & office will open in June, 2013. The golf course next door is tight but very enjoyable. You can also use their pool and restaurant.

Room Tip: All the rooms are different but all are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTR A, General Manager at Mountain Retreat Resort, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Hi mfenley,
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Mountain Retreat Resort. It's great to hear how much fun you and your family had golfing, fishing, wine tasting, hiking, and exploring everything Arnold has to offer. We're excited about the updated clubhouse and office being completed soon. We hope to welcome you back again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    19
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
39
21
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alamo, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

My family and I have been coming to Mountain Retreat once or twice a year for nearly four years. As soon as we walk through the door, we know that we are in our "home away from home". The condos have everything we need from a fully equipped kitchen to a large flat screen TV with DVD player. Our unit has 3 stories including a loft with a queen sized sofa bed. Each of the two bedrooms downstairs has its own bathroom and an outside door opening to a private deck. The middle level is light, open, and airy. The living room with a high cathedral ceiling, wood-burning fireplace, has double doors leading to the spacious balcony. Also on this level is the half bath and the kitchen which is open to the living area.

The staff here is incredibly helpful, friendly, and welcoming. They go out of their way to assure that guests have everything they need during their stay.

The location of Mt. Retreat is ideal. Calaveras Big Trees State Park is just a few minutes up Highway 4. Arnold has good restaurants and interesting shops. The charming little town of Murphys with its many wine tasting rooms, boutiques, and excellent restaurants is only a 20 minute drive from Mt. Retreat. The Sequoia Woods Restaurant just across the street from Mt. Retreat serves excellent food in their dining room which overlooks the golf course.

The recreation center is scheduled to re-open during the first few weeks of June, 2013. At that time, guests will be able to enjoy the heated indoor pool, the workout room with the latest equipment, and the lounge.

I highly recommend Mt. Retreat for those who want to enjoy a peaceful, relaxing vacation in the midst of the natural beauty of the California gold country.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suisse
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Mt. Retreat is a very well maintained property with 30+ timeshare condos with a superb staff able and qualified to address all your needs. The units are fully equipped so bring your toothbrush and a change of clothes and start enjoying. It will have soon(a matter of a week or so) a newly refurbished club house with indoor pool, sauna, entertainment center, rec room, etc for its guests to enjoy after spending the days exploring the environs. Within an hour of the complex, you will find boating, hiking, skiing, golfing options as well as an extensive array of top notch wineries and eateries. For the historically minded, the Gold Country abounds with multiple CA landmarks. If you prefer your adventures underground, there are even caves and caverns to be explored. South Shore Lake Tahoe is within easy reach for a nice day's diversion from the peace and quiet of Arnold, CA.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTR A, General Manager at Mountain Retreat Resort, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for your review of Mountain Retreat. We are always happy to hear from a guest who really enjoys and appreciates all the great things to do in the area. We too are excited for the clubhouse and all its' amenities to open which, we expect to be very soon. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This resort is marvelous and the scenery is gorgeous. The surrounding golf course is stunningly beautiful. The often reported clubhouse fire issue is just about resolved and should be open for use by the time you read this review (June1-2013) The pool and spa are brand new and the clubhouse has been completely renovated with new furniture, floor coverings, wall coverings, etc. Our family stays here each year at Thanksgiving or New Years and two of our children have purchased additional units for their growing families. They love it and the grandchildren talk about their trip to Mountain Retreat all year long.

Room Tip: The Calistoga units have a loft where children or additional guests can sleep. This is a very popul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTR A, General Manager at Mountain Retreat Resort, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Hi glangdale,
We're so glad you had a great time visiting us recently. It's great to know you found the scenery from the resort gorgeous as well. We're thrilled your children have purchased units here as well. Plenty of future holiday and vacations with us to be experienced! As you mentioned the clubhouse is just about done and all are very excited. We are on schedule for a June 21st opening. We'll see you this Thanksgiving!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eatonville, Washington
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

A good location for hiking and relaxing. Both the local Big Trees State Park and Arnold Rim could keep you busy for 4 days. We never even made it to Yosemite, and were glad that we had the trails to ourselves (went in May). Also a nice drive up the pass by Markleville. The Arnold restuarants were mostly excellent, and the little shops were fun. Also a lot of nearby historical gold rush towns to visit: Columbia, Murphy, Sonora, Jackson, Placerville. The room was clean and the bedding nice. Plenty of room for another 2 people. Our major compaint was that the wireless/wifi was inadequate. The rec room lobby is under construction but should be nice when done this summer.

Be careful: Doorknob located too close to door jam. Not safe position as both my husband & I cut our hands closing the door. Recommend replacing with a lever style handle which would be safer and easier to open.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTR A, General Manager at Mountain Retreat Resort, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Hi Susie I,
Thank you for reviewing your stay at Mountain Retreat Resort. It sounds like you had a wonderful time visiting the state parks, Arnold's restaurants, and the little shops found in town. We're sorry to hear about the issues you were having with the doorknob jamming. We'll certainly alert our maintenance team and have them take care of it. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ceres
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We have been going to Mountain Retreat for over 25 years. My mom and dad were original owners. They have both passed away and they are my husbands and mine. The staff are beyond nice. Love them all. The only thing that was difficult was getting stuff out of the oven as there was only one mitt, no other potholders. We could have gotten more from the office but didn't bother. They are very accomodating. Toured the renovation of the club house. It is awesome. Can not wait for it to be completed. We have three different weeks this year and looking forward to each one. We own 13 and 15. They are great condos to stay in whether there is 2 or 8 of us. So much to do in the Arnold area, shopping, hiking, fishing, golfing, driving to near by lakes and streams. Not much for kids to do at the resort until the clubhouse reopens.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTR A, General Manager at Mountain Retreat Resort, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Hi Melody D,
We are so sorry to hear of your late parents, however, we're glad that we can continue the tradition in welcoming you and your husband back year after year. We're pleased to learn of all the great activities you participate in when visiting Arnold as well. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bullhead City, Arizona
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Excellent resort location if you want nice quiet mountain getaway, we're a family of 5 from Kingston, ON Canada & stayed in unit 1, very roomy, clean, bathrm wall paper have to go, its outdated, towels are nice & fluffy, staff are excellent, we have no cell phone service in Arnold, which is not good if you need to call for help, but there's internet. they're renovating the clubhouse, we have no time to use anyways. must see are yosemite 2hr drive, lake alpine 45 min, San Francisco 3 hr + traffic, Golden Gate, Lombard's crookedest st., Saints Peter & Paul church, Coit tower, Alcatraz, Pier 39, Fisherman's wharf, Franciscan restaurant have great seafoods, beautiful ambiance looking the rock (alcatraz). if you pass the 2 hr free parking stamped from the restaurant, be prepared to pay $3.00/20 min

Room Tip: excellent location if you want quiet, nice & roomy mountain getaway, resort is very nice, the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTR A, General Manager at Mountain Retreat Resort, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Hi 28eugene,
Thank you for reviewing your stay at Mountain Retreat Resort. It sounds like you and the family had a ton of fun visiting Arnold and checking out Yosemite National Park, Golden Gate Bridge, Alcatraz, and a ton of more sites. We're glad you all had a great time and hope to welcome you back again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mountain Retreat Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Retreat Resort

Address: 936 Cypress Point Dr, Arnold, CA 95223
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Arnold
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Arnold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mountain Retreat Resort 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the quiet Sierra pines of Arnold, California in Calaveras County, Mountain Retreat is just three hours from Lake Tahoe, Yosemite and the San Francisco Bay Area. The suites are duplex-style, which give our guests ample space and privacy during their stay with us. A Convenience Fee will be applied to all reservations at check in. This fee will include Internet and parking along with all other resort amenities.Accessibility: Not all areas of our resort are Handicap Accessible. There are stairs leading to each suite as well as other areas on property. Mountain Retreat will be undergoing construction of a new Maintenance Building beginning August 1 2014 - December 1 2014. Noise should be expected during the hours of 8:00 a.M. - 5:00 P.M. Monday - Friday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Mountain Retreat Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Retreat Hotel Arnold

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Retreat Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.