We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best kept timeshare secret in California - Mtn. Retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Retreat Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mountain Retreat Resort to your Saves list
Mountain Retreat Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   936 Cypress Point Dr, Arnold, CA 95223   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arnold
San Clemente, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best kept timeshare secret in California - Mtn. Retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This resort is marvelous and the scenery is gorgeous. The surrounding golf course is stunningly beautiful. The often reported clubhouse fire issue is just about resolved and should be open for use by the time you read this review (June1-2013) The pool and spa are brand new and the clubhouse has been completely renovated with new furniture, floor coverings, wall coverings, etc. Our family stays here each year at Thanksgiving or New Years and two of our children have purchased additional units for their growing families. They love it and the grandchildren talk about their trip to Mountain Retreat all year long.

Room Tip: The Calistoga units have a loft where children or additional guests can sleep. This is a very popul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTR A, General Manager at Mountain Retreat Resort, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Hi glangdale,
We're so glad you had a great time visiting us recently. It's great to know you found the scenery from the resort gorgeous as well. We're thrilled your children have purchased units here as well. Plenty of future holiday and vacations with us to be experienced! As you mentioned the clubhouse is just about done and all are very excited. We are on schedule for a June 21st opening. We'll see you this Thanksgiving!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    23
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
45
26
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eatonville, Washington
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

A good location for hiking and relaxing. Both the local Big Trees State Park and Arnold Rim could keep you busy for 4 days. We never even made it to Yosemite, and were glad that we had the trails to ourselves (went in May). Also a nice drive up the pass by Markleville. The Arnold restuarants were mostly excellent, and the little shops were fun. Also a lot of nearby historical gold rush towns to visit: Columbia, Murphy, Sonora, Jackson, Placerville. The room was clean and the bedding nice. Plenty of room for another 2 people. Our major compaint was that the wireless/wifi was inadequate. The rec room lobby is under construction but should be nice when done this summer.

Be careful: Doorknob located too close to door jam. Not safe position as both my husband & I cut our hands closing the door. Recommend replacing with a lever style handle which would be safer and easier to open.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTR A, General Manager at Mountain Retreat Resort, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Hi Susie I,
Thank you for reviewing your stay at Mountain Retreat Resort. It sounds like you had a wonderful time visiting the state parks, Arnold's restaurants, and the little shops found in town. We're sorry to hear about the issues you were having with the doorknob jamming. We'll certainly alert our maintenance team and have them take care of it. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ceres
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We have been going to Mountain Retreat for over 25 years. My mom and dad were original owners. They have both passed away and they are my husbands and mine. The staff are beyond nice. Love them all. The only thing that was difficult was getting stuff out of the oven as there was only one mitt, no other potholders. We could have gotten more from the office but didn't bother. They are very accomodating. Toured the renovation of the club house. It is awesome. Can not wait for it to be completed. We have three different weeks this year and looking forward to each one. We own 13 and 15. They are great condos to stay in whether there is 2 or 8 of us. So much to do in the Arnold area, shopping, hiking, fishing, golfing, driving to near by lakes and streams. Not much for kids to do at the resort until the clubhouse reopens.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTR A, General Manager at Mountain Retreat Resort, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Hi Melody D,
We are so sorry to hear of your late parents, however, we're glad that we can continue the tradition in welcoming you and your husband back year after year. We're pleased to learn of all the great activities you participate in when visiting Arnold as well. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bullhead City, Arizona
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Excellent resort location if you want nice quiet mountain getaway, we're a family of 5 from Kingston, ON Canada & stayed in unit 1, very roomy, clean, bathrm wall paper have to go, its outdated, towels are nice & fluffy, staff are excellent, we have no cell phone service in Arnold, which is not good if you need to call for help, but there's internet. they're renovating the clubhouse, we have no time to use anyways. must see are yosemite 2hr drive, lake alpine 45 min, San Francisco 3 hr + traffic, Golden Gate, Lombard's crookedest st., Saints Peter & Paul church, Coit tower, Alcatraz, Pier 39, Fisherman's wharf, Franciscan restaurant have great seafoods, beautiful ambiance looking the rock (alcatraz). if you pass the 2 hr free parking stamped from the restaurant, be prepared to pay $3.00/20 min

Room Tip: excellent location if you want quiet, nice & roomy mountain getaway, resort is very nice, the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTR A, General Manager at Mountain Retreat Resort, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Hi 28eugene,
Thank you for reviewing your stay at Mountain Retreat Resort. It sounds like you and the family had a ton of fun visiting Arnold and checking out Yosemite National Park, Golden Gate Bridge, Alcatraz, and a ton of more sites. We're glad you all had a great time and hope to welcome you back again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helendale, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed at here after having visited Yosemite National Park. We were a family of three adults and two small children, and we slept comfortable in our cabin. The kitchen was well stocked and bathrooms had lots of towels. In addition, the staff were very helpful. Unfortunately the new recreation center (with the pool) was still under construction when we were there. This left very few activities for our little kids. There are also not a lot of activities in the area in general (other then golfing and tennis). So if you're looking for a quiet getaway to relax and read a book, this is the place for you. However, if you have children and you're hoping for a pool, playground, etc then this is not the place for you. Your kids will be bored.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTR A, General Manager at Mountain Retreat Resort, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Hi Jamie C,
We hope you had a great time at Yosemite National Park and are so glad you chose Mountain Retreat Resort for your stay. We hope the renovation of our recreation center did not cause much of an inconvenience during your stay and we appreciate your feedback regarding our activities. We will certainly share this with our entertainment team. We hope to welcome you back for a better stay in the future as our clubhouse will be open the first of June.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, California, Usa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

we found this resort just perfect! We stayed in calistoga unit 10 which slept 8. It was very clean and didn't find it dated. Very comfortable, cozy and rustic feel which made it perfect for the mountains. The staff was very kind and helpful. The kitchen was fully stocked and plenty of towels with a towel exchange mid week. Washer/dryer was helpful too. Reserved parking spot for each unit. We took day trips to San Francisco (3 hrs away) and Sacramento ( 2 hrs). Clubhouse was closed but not a problem for our 4 kids since they had electronics, movies, books and day trips. Big Trees Market was big and well priced. Eating tips: Bristols for breakfast, sequoia woods country club on Thursday nights for dinner. In murphys, pizza plus had great pizza. Ironstone winery is beautiful and has the largest gold nugget and the mercer caverns were amazing. We loved this trip and area!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTR A, General Manager at Mountain Retreat Resort, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Hi 530LauraS530,
Thank you for reviewing your stay at Mountain Retreat Resort. We're glad you enjoyed the units, accommodations, and ability to visit San Francisco. There's plenty to do in the area and we hope you had a great time dining at some great restaurants. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

The cabin was really not too bad for the price. Granted it was a bit dated but fairly well maintained. It is also roomier than other newer ones I have stayed in. Kitchen have most of the equipment you would need to prepare a nice home cooked meal. Plenty of towels in the bathroom but some of the toiletries are missing (no shampoo or conditioner?) Linens are clean and the sofa sleeper was reasonably comfy despite being a little springy.

No issues with check-in or check out. Wouldn't mind staying again in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTR A, General Manager at Mountain Retreat Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for your review of Mountain Retreat. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and greatly appreciate your shared feedback. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountain Retreat Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Retreat Resort

Address: 936 Cypress Point Dr, Arnold, CA 95223
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Arnold
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arnold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mountain Retreat Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the quiet Sierra pines of Arnold, California in Calaveras County, Mountain Retreat is just three hours from Lake Tahoe, Yosemite and the San Francisco Bay Area. The suites are duplex-style, which give our guests ample space and privacy during their stay with us. A Convenience Fee will be applied to all reservations at check in. This fee will include Internet and parking along with all other resort amenities.Accessibility: Not all areas of our resort are Handicap Accessible. There are stairs leading to each suite as well as other areas on property. Mountain Retreat will be undergoing construction of a new Maintenance Building beginning August 1 2014 - December 1 2014. Noise should be expected during the hours of 8:00 a.M. - 5:00 P.M. Monday - Friday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mountain Retreat Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Retreat Hotel Arnold

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Retreat Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.