We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location but lacking amenities” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Retreat Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mountain Retreat Resort to your Saves list
Mountain Retreat Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   936 Cypress Point Dr, Arnold, CA 95223   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% Off Entire Stay!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arnold
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Oceanside, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful location but lacking amenities”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012 via mobile

The Mountain Retreat is in a magnificent, heavily-wooded area of CA. Our unit was nice, most of the incidentals were included. After reading the other reviews, we realized all the activities we would miss. The clubhouse which housed the nightly offerings burned down last December, and they've done nothing to rebuild. There was no pool, no place for cookies, or wine and cheese or any activities. Thank heavens this was an internal Grand Pacific Exchange so it cost us nothing. Also we would suggest putting bedroom ceiling fans it. The best part of our vacation was the spectacular scenery and all the lovely places nearby.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTR A, Manager at Mountain Retreat Resort, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Mountain Retreat and management appreciate your feedback. As a brief update, we are in the middle of renovating the clubhouse. The clean up portion has been completed and we are looking forward to an open date towards the end of summer. We are all very excited to bring back all the great amenities the clubhouse has to offer. We hope you utilize Grand Pacific Exchange again and come back to see us as we are sure you will be pleased with all the improvements and upgrades.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    27
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
56
29
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

My wife, my four children and I stayed at mountain retreat resort for a week april 8th through the 14th. Prior to our arrival we called to let the resort know we were going to check in a day late. Our week had been booked through RCI and we had received confirmation. The person from the resort originally told me they couldn't find my reservation and would call me back in five minutes. Two hours later they called back and told me RCI never notified them and they thought they were overbooked but they worked it all out.

When we arrived we found out that the resort had a fire in the recreation building which houses all the games, indoor pool, and spa. The fire was in December and we made our reservations in January. Not only was nothing said to us at anytime nothing was posted on the resorts website at all. To make matters even worse we convinced friends to come to the resort as well based on the close snow and the ability to use the indoor pool and spa. After our arrival we talked to the resort management and they blamed RCI telling us RCI was supposed to notify all incoming guests of the fire and that we needed to contact RCI.

We contacted RCI and were told by RCI there was nothing in the file for the resort that said anything about the fire. RCI However provided us with a solution on their behalf for the inconvenience. Our friends also contacted the resort and they were told by the resort that since they booked through Travelocity, that Travelocity had not provided the resort with our friends phone number so they could contact them to tell them about the pool and spa closure. This fire and closure also meant no fitness center. Considering my wife and I exercise a couple times a week this was definitely a damper as well.

Seems that it is everyone else's fault but the resort for their false advertisement about the amenities currently being offered.

The other negative is the carpet in the room is filthy. My family always believes in no shoes in the house. Unfortunately our white socks were black in a very short amount of time walking on the floor. Our 3 year old was running around barefoot and her feet were black from the carpet.

Now on the positive sides, the rooms were dated but nice. Plenty of room for our family of six. The beds were very comfortable and my wife and I are both very particular about our bed. Plenty of utensils and kitchen items which was a plus since we cooked in every meal. It was only about a 20 minute drive to bear valley ski resort where they had nice snow areas for the kids to play. It was nice having a real wood burning fireplace in the living room, we used it our entire stay. The resort overall was nice just very disappointed with the lack of communication about the pool and other amenities. We had been getting our kids excited about swimming in the pool and the spa for two months to ultimately disappoint them and us.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTR A, Manager at Mountain Retreat Resort, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
As a follow up to our email communication, managment is pleased to hear that you enjoyed your overall experience at Mountain Retreat. Again, we apologize for the non-communication regarding the lack of amenties. It is the job of both RCI and the resort staff to ensure all guests are notified. We are happy to hear that you will be coming back to visit us once the clubhouse construction and renovation has been completed. We look forward to your visit in the fall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Great place to stay in the mountains. Very comfortable rooms and they have added wireless. Great kitchen's and comfortable beds. Close to the Redwoods and Skiing when they get some snow. Can sleep 8 comfortably. You can walk to the golf course. Lot's of wineries, caves and a bit of shopping in Murphy's. Nice relaxing decks in the woods. Not to many restaurants in the area but great store with wonderful meat counter and you can BBQ. At night little visitor's come by on the back deck

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

Our week at Mt. Retreat could not have better. The staff was the best we have ever had...we were greeted with cookies and made to feel very welcome. The ammenities were fantastic, banana split night, wine and cheese party, wifi in every room, free long distance, printers available, and the list goes on. The views are amazing, we even had a stream that was behind our three balconies. It was VERY quiet and we never heard any sounds other than nature. I had a problem with my computer and within minutes, Chrissie, from housekeeping came to us and fixed the problem. What a treasure this place is. I l enjoy to cooking and the kitchen was a dream. Loved the fireplace. This retreat is older but much loved!!! Wonderful
market nearby...the area is surrounded with historical small towns. Looking forward to a return trip.

Room Tip: We were assigned #9, one of the largest units. It was very spacious, sleeping 8, with two and one h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

Really liked this place. Staff very accommodating. The units are roomy. Activities most evenings.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka Springs
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

These buildings are not new and the furniture is dated. However, the setting is gorgeous. The units are mostly two bedroom duplexes with full kitchens. They are well cared for and comfortable. I especially liked the multi-deck outdoor spaces for each unit. You can smell the forest in all units and hear a babbling brook from some. I think the units all have two stories at least (mine had three), so beware if you hate steps. The staff really tries to please the customers. I could not wish for a better staff. There is an indoor pool, fitness center, billiards and games in the clubhouse. There is a golf course with a restaurant accross the street. I'm not a golfer, but the course looked beautiful. Be sure to visit all the state parks in the area and drive the scenic byway accross the mountains. If you like wine tasting, there are wineries everywhere.

Room Tip: 7,8,24,25 are the smallest but still 2 br, full kitchen. Go for unit 13.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Missouri
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

We stayed at this resort in unit #11 near the back of the property. The property is located about 2-3 blocks from Hwy 4 as the crow flies. It takes a bit longer to reach the resort but their are good signs to lead the way.

Check in was efficiently handled as was check out. There is a daily $5 charge for activities that included an ice cream social, wine and cheese, a movie night with popcorn and a WII evening. The staff does everything to make this a pleasant stay and that you enjoy the activities.

The unit was clean and ready shortly after 3:00 PM so we checked in a little early. Linens are of good quality, beds comfortable, flat screen televisions were recently installed with Direct TV access. While the units are somewhat dated, they are well maintained. The grounds were attractively landscaped. Late August is still warm with the temperatures during the day in the upper 80's to lower 90's. Evenings cooled into the mid to upper 50's so the cool, pine scented air was refreshing in the morning.

There were two computers for guests to use in the club house and since cell phone service is generally not available, a phone in the office is available for free long distance calling.

The relationship with the Sequoia Country Club across the street makes golfing available. On the first Thursday of the month, the club serves a prime rib dinner that this August was $12.50. It's very popular, so arriving early for a table is suggested.

There are lots of places to dine in the area and the Big Tree State Park is a must see.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountain Retreat Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Retreat Resort

Address: 936 Cypress Point Dr, Arnold, CA 95223
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Arnold
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arnold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mountain Retreat Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the quiet Sierra pines of Arnold, California in Calaveras County, Mountain Retreat is just three hours from Lake Tahoe, Yosemite and the San Francisco Bay Area. The suites are duplex-style, which give our guests ample space and privacy during their stay with us. A Convenience Fee will be applied to all reservations at check in. This fee will include Internet and parking along with all other resort amenities.Accessibility: Not all areas of our resort are Handicap Accessible. There are stairs leading to each suite as well as other areas on property. Mountain Retreat will be undergoing construction of a new Maintenance Building beginning August 1 2014 - December 1 2014. Noise should be expected during the hours of 8:00 a.M. - 5:00 P.M. Monday - Friday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Mountain Retreat Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Retreat Hotel Arnold

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Retreat Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.