We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Retreat Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mountain Retreat Resort to your Saves list
Mountain Retreat Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   936 Cypress Point Dr, Arnold, CA 95223   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arnold
virginia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

Really liked this place. Staff very accommodating. The units are roomy. Activities most evenings.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    22
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
45
25
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eureka Springs
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

These buildings are not new and the furniture is dated. However, the setting is gorgeous. The units are mostly two bedroom duplexes with full kitchens. They are well cared for and comfortable. I especially liked the multi-deck outdoor spaces for each unit. You can smell the forest in all units and hear a babbling brook from some. I think the units all have two stories at least (mine had three), so beware if you hate steps. The staff really tries to please the customers. I could not wish for a better staff. There is an indoor pool, fitness center, billiards and games in the clubhouse. There is a golf course with a restaurant accross the street. I'm not a golfer, but the course looked beautiful. Be sure to visit all the state parks in the area and drive the scenic byway accross the mountains. If you like wine tasting, there are wineries everywhere.

Room Tip: 7,8,24,25 are the smallest but still 2 br, full kitchen. Go for unit 13.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Missouri
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

We stayed at this resort in unit #11 near the back of the property. The property is located about 2-3 blocks from Hwy 4 as the crow flies. It takes a bit longer to reach the resort but their are good signs to lead the way.

Check in was efficiently handled as was check out. There is a daily $5 charge for activities that included an ice cream social, wine and cheese, a movie night with popcorn and a WII evening. The staff does everything to make this a pleasant stay and that you enjoy the activities.

The unit was clean and ready shortly after 3:00 PM so we checked in a little early. Linens are of good quality, beds comfortable, flat screen televisions were recently installed with Direct TV access. While the units are somewhat dated, they are well maintained. The grounds were attractively landscaped. Late August is still warm with the temperatures during the day in the upper 80's to lower 90's. Evenings cooled into the mid to upper 50's so the cool, pine scented air was refreshing in the morning.

There were two computers for guests to use in the club house and since cell phone service is generally not available, a phone in the office is available for free long distance calling.

The relationship with the Sequoia Country Club across the street makes golfing available. On the first Thursday of the month, the club serves a prime rib dinner that this August was $12.50. It's very popular, so arriving early for a table is suggested.

There are lots of places to dine in the area and the Big Tree State Park is a must see.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, CA
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

I had not been to Mt. Retreat for 3 years. I really enjoy the place. I would like to list a few of the improvements that I noticed right away:
1. The phones now have voice mail
2. The reception area was increased from office space to a computer room with library, a foozball room and table tennis room. Every square inch is utilized for our enjoyment now.
3. There is free wifi in the units now- (wow, changes everything to take the laptop!)
4. There is a lounge chair and bench on the lower deck outside the master bedroom
5. The new manager renewed the relationship with the Country Club across the street. Sequoia Woods is a great golf course, has a restaurant and a grand swimming pool.
6. An exercise room instead of a racket ball court.
7. Flat screen TV in living room
8. Cable TV instead of a couple of channels.

Certainly if you are looking for a big party scene, this is not your place. If you want to getaway to beautiful pines in peace and quiet-this is great. Although all of the units were full, it was quiet there. There was a nice turnout for the ice cream social. We did not go to the wine and cheese social.

The DVD checkouts are free.The kitchen appliances were nice and we used the blender several times for chopping. The living room sofa beds are best for kids, not adults. We thought the beds in the bedrooms were great. Our unit is ready for new carpet, as wear and stains are there. The guest room does not have a TV or alarm clock-- very simple. The place is clean with terrific staff. I was concerned about the poor lighting for reading both in the guest bedroom and a second place in the living room. Staff went out of their way to bring me new 3 way lights, which made a huge difference in our comforts. Scott even helped us learn how to use the DVD player. Sheila, Robin, Rachel and Trina are all friendly and helpful. Michael, the new manager is a real "hands on" guy who seems to be very dedicated to making the place better and better. I'm impressed!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

Wow what a great place! The rustic mountain cabins, the great friendly staff, forest in our back yard, you cant get any better than this. We had never stayed here before so we were a little nervous, but once we arrived on the property we were welcomed by friendly faces and a fantastic clubhouse. We are planning on a trip up there during the winter to see all the snow.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitman, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

We stayed here the week of June 4-11 and had a wonderful time. There was plenty of room for myself, my husband and out two teenagers. The condo was very nice and we enjoyed the rustic feel. It is in a beautiful setting and we used it as our base for exploring Calaveras County and Yosemite. There is a nice grocery in Arnold and several nice restaurants. The resort is close to Big Trees State Park - be sure to visit and see the giant sequioas. About 2.5 hours gets you to Yosemite. If we are in the area again we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Lakes, Colorado
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Mountain Retreat Resort May 28 through June 4, 2011. This is an absolutely hidden gem nestled in the mountains. The resort is very well kept and the units are very well maintained. The kitchen was very well stocked, unit had full size washer/dryer and was very comfortable. The staff at the resort are exceptional. They were always willing to help you with directions, advice on places to eat and wineries. They just wanted to make sure you were comfortable. They have a business center with internet service, and pool and hot tub. They also had an ice cream social and a wine and cheese night which was very nice.

Yosemite National Park is a 2-1/2 hour drive but well worth it. This time of year was perfect as the snow was melting and the waterfalls at the park were awesome. Another town to visit is Murphys. One of the places to eat (Grounds) was very nice with outdoor seating. Ironstone Winery is very interesting. Their grounds are just beautiful with shrubs, flowers,etc and their museum with the famous golden nugget is well worth the trip.

The weather was a little cooler than usual; however, it did not spoil our week there. The resort was enough to make up for the weather.

We would highly recommend this resort to everyone and we definitely plan to go back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountain Retreat Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Retreat Resort

Address: 936 Cypress Point Dr, Arnold, CA 95223
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Arnold
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Arnold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mountain Retreat Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the quiet Sierra pines of Arnold, California in Calaveras County, Mountain Retreat is just three hours from Lake Tahoe, Yosemite and the San Francisco Bay Area. The suites are duplex-style, which give our guests ample space and privacy during their stay with us. A Convenience Fee will be applied to all reservations at check in. This fee will include Internet and parking along with all other resort amenities.Accessibility: Not all areas of our resort are Handicap Accessible. There are stairs leading to each suite as well as other areas on property. Mountain Retreat will be undergoing construction of a new Maintenance Building beginning August 1 2014 - December 1 2014. Noise should be expected during the hours of 8:00 a.M. - 5:00 P.M. Monday - Friday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mountain Retreat Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Retreat Hotel Arnold

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Retreat Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.