We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“super 8 review” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Arcata

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Arcata to your Saves list
Super 8 Arcata
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   4887 Valley West Blvd., Arcata, CA 95521   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Arcata
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    33
    41
    33
    33
See reviews for
47
37
28
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

This is a pretty old property that the owners are still in the process of fixing up. The staff were friendly and helpful, the room was clean, quiet (with the exception of some Harley guys leaving at 6am) and comfortable.The breakfast was simple but acceptable, and there is a killer taqueria a short walk up the road.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArcataS8, General Manager at Super 8 Arcata, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
thank you for your review, we look forward to see you and serve you better, as you notice we are working on up grading the whole building.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Arriving very late without a reservation anywhere, I decided to try out an Super 8 motel, not only did the room seemed frozen in the 90`s (mattress included), I heard people ordering McDonald's take out all night since my window was 3 feet away from the drive-thru! It was 420 so the smell in the hotel was very Bob Marleyish mixed with air freshener. My first and only time in a Super 8. Cleaning lady was very nice!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, California
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for one night recently during our family weekend trip to the Redwood NP and l liked it very much. The hotel and the room I stayed was nice and clean. The location is also good, just off Hwy 101, and close to many restaurants / fast food places. Their staff were very friendly and helpful. The morning breakfast was also okay. They charged me 65$ for one night (tax inclusive), which was les than the other nearby motels. If you are planning to spend a night or two while you are visiting Redwoods or other nearby attractions then I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArcataS8, General Manager at Super 8 Arcata, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
thanks You for the review
we are tring hard to make our customers happy and we are doing lot of up grade, from bedding to breakfast, we are happy to see again.
thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We were in town for our daughters graduation from HSU. Made reservations on line so thought we were paying $120/night. When we arrived at the hotel I signed the reservation before reading it because we were so tired from our travels from Ohio. Didn't realize they were charging us $220/night because of HSU graduation. What a joke!!!!! The place smelled bad, there were transients hanging around everywhere, back parking lot was in bad shape, heater/air didn't work. Continental breakfast was decent. Thank God for the front desk staff. We managed to get out of paying the $220/ night & ended up getting the room for $112/night which was still outrageous for the area & condition of the hotel. Ended up going next door to the red roof inn for $49.99/night (a special because it was the grand opening & still under reconstruction.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Arcata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Arcata

Address: 4887 Valley West Blvd., Arcata, CA 95521
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Arcata
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Arcata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Arcata 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Super 8 Arcata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Hotel Arcata
Super 8 Motel Arcata
Super Eight Arcata
Arcata Super Eight
Arcata Super 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Arcata, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.